PDA

View Full Version : Duplicating a hard drive?


BrutusZ28
Aug 27, 2004, 05:06 PM
I had a drive die on me and took it to a lab that recovered the data for me and put it onto a 120 Gig hard drive, this hard drive is bootable and is only using 20 Gigs.

The Mac that crashed has a new 40 Gig hard drive and so far only has OS 10.3 on it.

Is there anyway to just transfer all of the information from the 120 Gig to the 40 Gig drive including the permissions and passwords, I have an accounting file that won't work if I just transfer the file and application unless I boot up from the 120 Gig drive.

The only reason I want to transfer the information is that the computer it's going into will never need more than a few Gigs of drive space and I was planning to get a case for the 120 Gig drive and use it as my backup disc for all the important files on all our computers.

BrutusZ28
Aug 27, 2004, 05:09 PM
Oh Duh!

G4 2002 model

shecky
Aug 27, 2004, 05:16 PM
carbon copy cloner (http://www.bombich.com/software/ccc.html)

BrutusZ28
Aug 27, 2004, 06:07 PM
Oooooh!

Thanks