PDA

View Full Version : Quake 3 and Doom 3 OS X


arn
Aug 1, 2002, 03:59 PM
Graeme Devine (http://www.webdog.org/plans/279/) of idsoftware.com (http://www.idsoftware.com) updated his plan yesterday with reports of Doom (presumably 3):

Hey.

We will be releasing the Macintosh Quake 3 client hand in hand with the Win32 / Linux clients. We'll also require Mac OS X 10.1 or later for this release.

DOOM is up and running under 10.2, which as an OS is really quite cool (speed is much better than 10.1, although resizing a browser window is still painful).

EddieB
Aug 1, 2002, 04:14 PM
Quake 3 arena is already out isn't it?
Is Quake 3 different then arena?
Or do they mean Quake 4?

arn
Aug 1, 2002, 04:24 PM
Originally posted by EddieB
Quake 3 arena is already out isn't it?
Is Quake 3 different then arena?
Or do they mean Quake 4?

newest version of 3, I think.

arn

Geert
Aug 1, 2002, 04:25 PM
It's great to see a couple of good wintel games been ported to x, good for the switch ain't it :D

job
Aug 1, 2002, 04:54 PM
Originally posted by arn
DOOM is up and running under 10.2
[/i]

Well that's good news.

I wonder what the min. system specs will be. Probably through the roof. :)

ShaolinMiddleFinger
Aug 1, 2002, 05:31 PM
I wonder if my iBook's gonna be good enough for it....if it is...I'm so there! Anyone know how much Quake will be?

mymemory
Aug 1, 2002, 05:57 PM
Drop by drop the OSX softwares are comming out. Not fast enought yet. 80% of my software still OS 9 only.

gregorypierce
Aug 1, 2002, 06:42 PM
Well considering that the GPU is doing most of the work in most modern pixel/vertex shaded games, most of the current PowerMacs should do just fine if they have a competent graphics card. Will be interesting to see the benchmarks across both systems though.

Bradcoe
Aug 1, 2002, 08:39 PM
Quake 3 Arena runs pretty damn well on my iBook 500Mhz for such a new game. Thats all thanks to id's awesome code writing master John Carmack. However, Doom 3 will not run on anything less than a GeForce 3 or equal. This may seem high, but take one look at some recent screen shots and you'll think you were watching a Pixar movie. It's like nothing we've seen before. The leap DOOM 3 will make in video game visual realism is going to be a jump from todays games like OS X was from 9.
I heard somewhere that todays games (quake 3) use in the 10's of thousands of polygons per character or something like that. The movie Shrek used about 3 million polygons per character. DOOM 3 will use about 1 million polygons per character. That puts it in perspective, even if the numbers are a few thousand off.

cooter
Aug 1, 2002, 08:45 PM
i read somewhere where Carmack said PC version of Doom 3 would need a Geforce 3 and a 2ghz pentium to run. i dont know if that was he recommended specs or minimum.

also of note, the custom apps they used to make the game were created on OS X.

zephc
Aug 1, 2002, 08:46 PM
actually, Doom 3 uses far less polys that it appears to, thanks to top-notch real-time bump-mapping

you can read about bump mapping here: http://vcg.iei.pi.cnr.it/bumpmapping.html

topicolo
Aug 2, 2002, 08:32 AM
Nevertheless, it's going to eat up GPU cycles like Oprah Winfrey on a beef binge. I heard that it'll use up to 80megs worth of textures too, so that 64meg video card just won't cut it (u need a geforce 4)

GPTurismo
Aug 4, 2002, 02:20 PM
Geforce 3 (NV20) really is the minimum it will run on. Sadly I don't know how the Geforce 4 MX's (NV19) will fair.