PDA

View Full Version : Will Mac OS 8.6 work on iMac G3!!!!!!!!!?????




MacintoshMaster
Feb 24, 2010, 05:24 AM
Hi there,
I want Mac os 8.6 to work on my iMac G3. It's a slot loading not a tray loading.
Here are the specs:-

Hardware Overview:

Machine Name: iMac
Machine Model: PowerMac2,2
CPU Type: PowerPC 750 (32.1)
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 350 MHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
Memory: 512 MB
Bus Speed: 100 MHz
Boot ROM Version: 4.1.9f1
Serial Number: YM042170K2P

Thanks!
John.



Bennieboyİ
Feb 24, 2010, 05:33 AM
yes, it will run without any problems i would imagine ;)

jackerin
Feb 24, 2010, 06:14 AM
Maybe. According to Apple-History (http://apple-history.com/) (a site I recommend you check out) there two different 350Mhz G3 iMacs, one requiring at least 8.5.1, the other 9.0.4. I suggest you compare your specs to those on the site to make sure which one it is.

Paradigm
Feb 24, 2010, 06:31 AM
I think not, only because the installed OS on a 350Mhz G3 iMac was either OS 9.0.4 or OS. 9.1? Though if you have the installation disc, you would have to do a clean install to get it to OS 8.x

I have a Grape iMac DV 400Mhz G3 still in use. I bought it March of 1999. It was installed with 9.0.4 and is currently running OS X 10.4.11. 1Gb PC-133 ram, 10Gb HD.

MacHamster68
Feb 24, 2010, 10:00 AM
according every mac .com the 350mhz imac slot loader came with 8.6 preinstalled and supports max 10.3.9 because this model has no firewire
so it will definitely work with os8.6
http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/imac/stats/imac_350.html

jackerin
Feb 24, 2010, 10:12 AM
according every mac .com the 350mhz imac slot loader came with 8.6 preinstalled and supports max 10.3.9 because this model has no firewire
http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/imac/stats/imac_350_indigo.html
This one on the other hand has minimum of 9.0.4. Incidentally, this is also reported as "PowerMac2,2" in the article, same as OP reported his was...

Again, maybe, depending on which model OP has.

MacHamster68
Feb 24, 2010, 11:54 AM
http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/imac/stats/imac_350_indigo.html
This one on the other hand has minimum of 9.0.4. Incidentally, this is also reported as "PowerMac2,2" in the article, same as OP reported his was...

Again, maybe, depending on which model OP has.



yes you are right didnt see the 2.2 , but his open firmware version could be a problem and i dont know how to downgrade that one , as his is upgraded to run osx