PDA

View Full Version : Power Mac G5 RAM in iMac G5




Bryy
Mar 1, 2010, 07:31 AM
I was wondering if it was possible for a stick of DDR-333 (PC2700) from a Power Mac G5 to work in an iMac G5 (PC-3200 compliant as DDR-400)?



Hellhammer
Mar 1, 2010, 07:34 AM
iMac uses SO-DIMMS (= laptop RAM) so it's not possible

OrangeSVTguy
Mar 1, 2010, 10:40 AM
iMac uses SO-DIMMS (= laptop RAM) so it's not possible

The G5 iMacs used desktop ram so it will physically fit.

But installing the slower memory into the iMac which requires the 400mhz won't work. Unless you worded that wrong, PC3200 400mhz will work in a PC2700 333mhz machine as the memory will automatically downclock itself to the slower speeds.

Hellhammer
Mar 1, 2010, 12:26 PM
The G5 iMacs used desktop ram so it will physically fit.

But installing the slower memory into the iMac which requires the 400mhz won't work. Unless you worded that wrong, PC3200 400mhz will work in a PC2700 333mhz machine as the memory will automatically downclock itself to the slower speeds.

Oh didn't know :o

Actually slower RAM will work AFAIK if other specs are same because it's the maximum speed that the RAM controller can handle, but it'll of course be slower. Also, all RAM chips will run at the same speed so if you have one which run @ 333MHz and 3 which run at 400MHz, they'll all run at 333MHz

Try it and see if it works, it won't break anything

Bryy
Apr 10, 2010, 06:08 PM
What about the PC2700 in a 2.0 or 2.5GHZ Power Mac G5? I've been looking it up, and it seems really weird that RAM from a 1.6GHz wouldn't work in a 2.0GHz.

OrangeSVTguy
Apr 10, 2010, 11:51 PM
What about the PC2700 in a 2.0 or 2.5GHZ Power Mac G5? I've been looking it up, and it seems really weird that RAM from a 1.6GHz wouldn't work in a 2.0GHz.

I've tried PC2700 in my G5(PC3200 machine) before and it wouldn't work. It would either beep at me or just ignore it and use the other proper memory that's installed.