PDA

View Full Version : Dual 500 G4 > Dual 1.8 G5...

TENBLUE7
Sep 2, 2004, 06:15 AM
...after years of saving and waiting I've finally made the decision to buy a Dual 1.8 G5 and sell my old Dual 500 G4 to help pay for it.

Was just wondering what kind of difference I can expect once I get the G5 up and running, my current mac has a gigs worth of RAM in it and is more than capable with most day to day things but really suffers with Cinema 4D and Photoshop when under pressure.

The G5 I've got on order will have 2 gigs worth of RAM to start and I plan to max it to 4 before Christmas.

Was just wondering if anyone had made a similar change? I've been using this G4 for the last three years and had a few weeks on a Dual 1.25 G4 with 2 gigs of RAM and that felt really quick.

Thanks Christian

TENBLUE7
Sep 2, 2004, 06:16 AM
...just to add I'm well aware of the bus speeds and processor speeds on both machines and on paper the G5 is far far far quicker.

I just want to get an idea of it in real terms - so to speak.

Thanks

boxerchip
Sep 2, 2004, 06:52 AM
Why would you title the thread too mhz is greater than 1.8 ghz?

but it seems to me like the jump from a 500 mhz to a 1.8 should be about a 5x performance jump, factoring in bus speeds CPU speeds RAM speeds and the fact you will have a new AGP video card.... thats my estimate but again im a n00b... anyone else wana take a stab?

Squire
Sep 2, 2004, 07:11 AM
Why would you title the thread too mhz is greater than 1.8 ghz?

but it seems to me like the jump from a 500 mhz to a 1.8 should be about a 5x performance jump, factoring in bus speeds CPU speeds RAM speeds and the fact you will have a new AGP video card.... thats my estimate but again im a n00b... anyone else wana take a stab?

I think the original poster was using the > sign not as a 'greater than' but rather like an arrow. As if to say, "I'm going from a dual 500 MHz to a dual 1.8 GHz."