PDA

View Full Version : DNS Issue or ISP Issue or Godaddy Setting?




shadyMedia
Mar 6, 2010, 07:34 PM
so we run a Mac Mini server running 10.6.2

and we have pretty much everything up but we see one issue

Take a Look

Running nslookup pcvsnetworks.com we get this

nslookup pcvsnetworks.com

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: pcvsnetworks.com
Address: 72.38.124.210

which is the right IP

But if we do

nslookup 72.38.124.210

Non-authoritative answer:
210.124.38.72.in-addr.arpa name = s72-38-124-210.static.comm.cgocable.net.

Authoritative answers can be found from:
124.38.72.in-addr.arpa nameserver = maul.cogeco.net.
124.38.72.in-addr.arpa nameserver = vader.cogeco.net.


Cogeco is our ISP so that doesn't really make any sense to me if anyone could spread some light on this that would be great thanks!



Peace
Mar 6, 2010, 07:37 PM
That's the IP address of your modem.

I just did a port scan did you see it?

Here's what I got :

Port Scan has started…

Port Scanning host: 72.38.124.210

Open TCP Port: 21 ftp
Open TCP Port: 22 ssh
Open TCP Port: 25 smtp
Open TCP Port: 53 domain
Open TCP Port: 80 http
Open TCP Port: 88 kerberos
Open TCP Port: 106 3com-tsmux
Open TCP Port: 110 pop3
Port Scan has completed…

shadyMedia
Mar 6, 2010, 07:57 PM
I know that we have a manual or rather Static IP from our ISP So thats normal it's the s72-38-124-210.static.comm.cgocable.net. that should be showing our server name

belvdr
Mar 6, 2010, 08:12 PM
You need to contact your ISP and have them update the PTR record for your IP.

pitt1717
Mar 6, 2010, 08:16 PM
I know that we have a manual or rather Static IP from our ISP So thats normal it's the s72-38-124-210.static.comm.cgocable.net. that should be showing our server name

not really, remember, you may have a static ip. but you do not "own" the ip address. they actually own the 72.38 range most likely. and there for probably have it entered somehow in their own dns servers, which later get forwarded to the root internet servers.

by registering a dns name your doing just that. buying a name. not a name and ip address. so what needs to be done is have go daddy use your isp's dns server. should probably be somewhere in the setup. i used 1and1 and actually pointed to my dyndns.org account as i did not have a static ip.


anyway a whois shows that the isp owns the class
Cogeco Cable Inc. CGOC-7BLK (NET-72-38-0-0-1)
72.38.0.0 - 72.39.255.255
Cogeco Cable Inc. CGOC-COMM6 (NET-72-38-112-0-1)
72.38.112.0 - 72.38.127.255


hope it helps or points you in the right direction. im not a dns guru by any means but i believe that is what is going on

belvdr
Mar 6, 2010, 08:25 PM
so what needs to be done is have go daddy use your isp's dns server.

There's no way to do that for reverse DNS.

For reverse DNS, all DNS servers look to the owner of the IP block to determine who is authoritative for the in.addr-arpa domain of that IP. For example, once our business bought our subnets from our ISP, they handed off forward and reverse DNS to us for our block.

In this case, it appears the OP just has a static IP and did not request a block of IPs, so reverse DNS usually stays with the ISP. Once cogeco.net updates maul and vader, it will work within 24 hours.