PDA

View Full Version : POWERBOOK g4 1.67 RAM HELP




nclowram00
Mar 7, 2010, 10:39 PM
OK I GOT A POWERBOOK g4 1.67 AND ONLY THE UPPER MEMORY SLOT WORKS WHAT WOULD I HAVE TO GET TO REPLACE IT WHERE BOTH WILL WORK AND HOW MUCH SOMETHING LIKE THAT WILL RUN ON GETTING FIX? THANK FOR ANY HELP



primalman
Mar 7, 2010, 10:42 PM
New logic board, have no idea cost, ask a repair shop that is an authorized repair center or take to an Apple store.

r.j.s
Mar 7, 2010, 10:42 PM
It would probably be too expensive to fix ... I think you have to replace the entire logic board.

You can check iFixit.com for prices.

iThinkergoiMac
Mar 8, 2010, 12:32 AM
I've actually done this. This is a common problem for PBG4s. The fix is to replace the whole logic board. I got one for about $175 off of eBay. I found the fix to be relatively easy, though I'm pretty good with these things.

Oddly enough, I've actually got a 1.67 GHz board for a 15" PBG4 that I've been meaning to put up on eBay but haven't gotten around to doing it yet... I'd be willing to sell it to you, PM me if you're interested.

nclowram00
Mar 10, 2010, 11:08 PM
hey can you e mail me at deargod1983@gmail.com we can try make a deal

puckhead193
Mar 10, 2010, 11:11 PM
the whole logic board needs to be replaced. Happened on my pb; not fun

capacity
Mar 11, 2010, 12:10 AM
I have nothing to add other than:

1) Replacing the logic board is not that hard. There are step-by-step manuals out there, but I can't remember which one I used.

2) Don't forget to fix the caps lock key, too. :P