PDA

View Full Version : Regarding Aperture and Depth of Field




vrams
Mar 14, 2010, 08:11 AM
Can any one explain how to use the Aperture and Depth of field in Canon Power Shot Sx20 IS



emorydunn
Mar 14, 2010, 10:45 AM
I've never used the camera but it looks like there is a mode dial on top. You will need to set that to Av which will let you set the aperture and the camera will choose a shutter speed accordingly. It looks like you'll be using the main dial to change the aperture.

Westside guy
Mar 14, 2010, 12:38 PM
If the problem is you're not seeing much difference when you try varying the aperture, that's more a function of the tiny sensor size. A point and shoot is not going to offer the control over subject isolation that one can get with a larger sensor camera.

If your question was simply technical - literally "how do I do it?" - then feel free to ignore this post. :D