PDA

View Full Version : Lowering Volume on certain parts of an audio clip, Logic 9.0




jessesmith
Mar 14, 2010, 08:26 PM
Hi there,

I was just wondering if anyone had a solution to my problem.

I've recently switched to mac from windows and to Logic 9.0 from adobe audition.

I'm working with a vocal track and I want to turn down one word that was sung slightly too loud. In audition, you could double click on any audio files you were working with and bring it into an audio editor, which Logic does have. But in audition, you could very easily select the portion that was too loud, and turn it down. Literally making the audio wave smaller, reducing it's gain and whatnot to make it equally loud as the rest of the take. In logic however there doesn't seem to be any indication that this is possible.

I really don't want to have to use a volume automation because I need to turn down portions of takes on multiple tracks. And when I'm doing different mixes this becomes a real pain in the butt.

Thanks for your help beforehand,

-Jesse



Comma
Mar 14, 2010, 09:05 PM
Hi there,

I was just wondering if anyone had a solution to my problem.

I've recently switched to mac from windows and to Logic 9.0 from adobe audition.

I'm working with a vocal track and I want to turn down one word that was sung slightly too loud. In audition, you could double click on any audio files you were working with and bring it into an audio editor, which Logic does have. But in audition, you could very easily select the portion that was too loud, and turn it down. Literally making the audio wave smaller, reducing it's gain and whatnot to make it equally loud as the rest of the take. In logic however there doesn't seem to be any indication that this is possible.

I really don't want to have to use a volume automation because I need to turn down portions of takes on multiple tracks. And when I'm doing different mixes this becomes a real pain in the butt.

Thanks for your help beforehand,

-Jesse

Use groups, sends or busses and then automation.

ChrisA
Mar 15, 2010, 01:30 PM
Hi there,


I really don't want to have to use a volume automation because I need to turn down portions of takes on multiple tracks. And when I'm doing different mixes this becomes a real pain in the butt.

Yes, volume automation is non-destructive so if the wav file is used in many places you'd have to adjust the volume in every place.

So go the sample editor and edit the .wav file then it will be reduced every place it is used. The sample editor does have a few un-do levels so can always get back to the unedited file it you need to.

Logic gives you the choice to do destructive edits or not. In this case it sounds like you want the destructive edit, find it inside sample editor

deej999
Mar 17, 2010, 10:12 AM
Hi there,

I really don't want to have to use a volume automation because I need to turn down portions of takes on multiple tracks. And when I'm doing different mixes this becomes a real pain in the butt.

Thanks for your help beforehand,

-Jesse

For audio editing check out Soundtrack Pro (comes with Logic studio). Really easy to select portions of an audio file and use the adjust amplitude command.

One tip: In Logic, try turning automation view on. Now use the marquee tool to select the area you want to raise or lower volume level. Drag the automation line inside the marquee selection. Only that portion is changed.

If the Sample editor is more like what you need you can save a backup copy of the file first. The bip (bounce in place) feature for regions and track makes this really easy process.

deej