PDA

View Full Version : TomTom 1.3 Appears in App Store




MacRumors
Mar 15, 2010, 12:43 PM
http://www.macrumors.com/images/macrumorsthreadlogo.gif (http://www.macrumors.com/iphone/2010/03/15/tomtom-1-3-appears-in-app-store/)


http://images.macrumors.com/article/2010/03/15/134252-tomtom_street_signs.png

Over the weekend, updated versions of TomTom's turn-by-turn GPS iPhone application (http://appshopper.com/navigation/tomtom-us-canada) appeared in the App Store. As previously announced (http://www.macrumors.com/iphone/2010/03/02/tomtom-for-iphone-set-to-gain-real-time-traffic-updates-local-search/) the update brings several new features, including real-time traffic information (requires separate in-app purchase) and Google local search.- REAL TIME TRAFFIC: The best traffic information available today - for the fastest route every time and the most accurate arrival time estimate. Available via in app purchase.

- GOOGLE LOCAL SEARCH: Find countless shops and businesses wherever you are, and navigate directly there. Access the latest Google listings from within the TomTom app.

- NEW MAP: Drive with the latest, most accurate map

- MUSIC FADING: Music fading will gently reduce volume while TomTom gives you driving instructions, and will return to normal volume between prompts.

- AUTOMATIC DAY & NIGHT MODE: Your app calculates local sunrise and sunset times to automatically adjust the screen brightness while driving, for a safer drive.

- ADD LOCATIONS from other applications and websites on your iPhone to your TomTom app and instantly navigate to them or store them as favorites for future use.Real-time traffic subscriptions are available for $19.99 per year, although shorter daily, monthly, and quarterly terms are also available.

Article Link: TomTom 1.3 Appears in App Store (http://www.macrumors.com/iphone/2010/03/15/tomtom-1-3-appears-in-app-store/)



kas23
Mar 15, 2010, 12:51 PM
OK guys, what's the best GPS for the iPhone nowadays?

Mad Mac Maniac
Mar 15, 2010, 01:04 PM
OK guys, what's the best GPS for the iPhone nowadays?

From what I read I would imagine TomTom and Navigon are neck and neck for tops. But I've only used TomTom.

Honestly TomTom has been giving me a lot of GPS reception issues lately... jumping all around to random places and not locking on correctly... I didn't have any issues at all when I first downloaded it. This is mostly inside my car and not up on the dashboard for the "direct line of sight with the sky" that is supposedly needed... but again it worked flawlessly when I first got it.

The update seems nice so far, but it may or may not have corrupted my iPod app... I'm not sure I understand how that would be possible if TomTom followed the SDK. But I was unable to start music directly out of the TomTom app (after upgrading). To try to solve this I figured I would go directly to the iPod app and start from there... but it won't open. It tries to open, pauses, then quits to the homescreen. This has been happening since yesterday afternoon and I have tried a couple of hard restarts.... I will try a restore if it keeps up.

The ADD LOCATIONS is what interests me... but I would like more information on how this is implemented... I assume the 3rd party apps will have to update and add a direct link to tomtom?

lfhdez
Mar 15, 2010, 01:04 PM
man.... 19.99 a year?

Navigon's real time traffic is a one-time thing, not a yearly thing.

LastLine
Mar 15, 2010, 01:12 PM
man.... 19.99 a year?

Navigon's real time traffic is a one-time thing, not a yearly thing.

38 in the UK, consider yourselves lucky.

RobNYC
Mar 15, 2010, 01:12 PM
I had some problems with it keeping a GPS signal on the road yesterday and it was up on the dash. I haven't had it long but in the week or so before the update when I got it I didn't really seem to have any trouble.

kevingaffney
Mar 15, 2010, 01:36 PM
I've been using copilot uk since it's launch. It's great value and works flawlessly

wwchris
Mar 15, 2010, 01:42 PM
I own all of them and with this new upgrade, the TomTom is hands down the best. A few notes on some of the other stuff here:

On the Audio volume level adjusting, you can set it to fade down or (for pocast listeners) set it to stop and then resume.

I love the traffic interface and it shows you traffic along your entire route and tells you your estimated time delay based on traffic. As far as I understand it, it only mentions traffic that is out of the ordinary time estimation for that road. So if I-85 is always at a standstill at 8AM then you won't get a notice as that is expected. If there is a 4 lane blockage making it take 15 minutes more than normal, you will be alerted to that.

The new google stuff is great too - it shows you that location on a map and lets you call it right out of TomTom.

As for GPS reception, there are so many factors it can be based on, doesn't make sense to think it is the new app. Weather, tall buildings trees, cloud cover are all factors.

All in all, many of the other GPS's have these features, but the difference is TomTom does the best job at routing me to my destination based on drive times and that is the most important feature of my GPS. I know this can vary from location to location, but I have yet to find a place that was not in the TomTom database which happened on all the other apps I used.

room237
Mar 15, 2010, 01:44 PM
Well, I'm glad to hear that they have daily and monthly options for live traffic. That's actually very convenient for me. Does anyone know how much they cost?

Scooterman1
Mar 15, 2010, 01:49 PM
Wow, Tom Tom is coming out with these updates almost as fast as CoPilot did.

iSimx
Mar 15, 2010, 02:18 PM
It's an excellent update. Although would like the traffic info free as Google does (up to a point), 59p per day is not bad. Especially when I won't require it daily

Nuvi
Mar 15, 2010, 02:34 PM
There seems to be some problems with traffic delay re-routing. I'm not sure if its only the European HD Traffic or if it applies to US traffic also. I've seen this myself which wasn't a pleasant experience. Only after manually choosing minimize delays I was re-routed.

Regarding the pricing, its expensive if you're comparing it with other iPhone solutions. iPhone has changed the PND pricing game but unfortunately TT is still trying to get premium prices on highly competitive market. I'm sure TT will be lowering the subscription prices or will be introducing a fixed one time price at some point.

tap1083
Mar 15, 2010, 03:14 PM
Does anyone know how do you add locations from other apps outside of TomTom?

justinfreid
Mar 15, 2010, 03:22 PM
Does anyone know how do you add locations from other apps outside of TomTom?

TomTom claims other developers are adding the functionality into their apps. As a clunky work around, I created a GPS contact and add addresses as needed to it, then access them through GPS apps as needed.

justinfreid
Mar 15, 2010, 03:24 PM
OK guys, what's the best GPS for the iPhone nowadays?

Motion-X GPS Drive is the only GPS app that I've used which feels like it was built from the ground up for the iPhone. It trades onboard maps for live-downloads from Bing (which is a double-edged sword) and doesn't speak street names, but for $1 vs. upwards of $50 for its competitors, you have to try it before buying the others.

room237
Mar 15, 2010, 05:32 PM
Every time they update this application I end up having to restore my iPhone because of BS "not enough free space" issues. :mad:

NiceTry
Mar 15, 2010, 07:46 PM
Every time they update this application I end up having to restore my iPhone because of BS "not enough free space" issues. :mad:

I'm running TT on an original iPhone. If I just try updating, it complains about not enough free space. Instead of restoring, I remove TT from the sync list on my iPhone and re-sync. That removes TT from the iPhone but leaves it in the Applications.

Then I switch on TT again and re-sync. Takes about 5 or so minutes to remove TT on the re-sync. My only loss is the favorites and past destination history. When I get the next gen phone, I hope this problem goes away.

kiljoy616
Mar 15, 2010, 08:22 PM
38 in the UK, consider yourselves lucky.

Haven't you herd Americans are poor over here, can even afford clothes not made in China, let have Tom Tom make the software in China that way we can afford it here. :rolleyes:

Spanky Deluxe
Mar 15, 2010, 10:01 PM
I'm quite tempted to buy this and also get shafted for the car mount because we just had our TomTom stolen a few days ago. $20 isn't too bad per year for traffic services compared to the 80 per year they charge for a normal TomTom device. If only you could still get directions if you get a phone call - because of that I can't really justify spending any money on a sat nav iPhone app.

RussOniPhone
Mar 15, 2010, 10:01 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

OK guys, what's the best GPS for the iPhone nowadays?

From what I read I would imagine TomTom and Navigon are neck and neck for tops. But I've only used TomTom.

Honestly TomTom has been giving me a lot of GPS reception issues lately... jumping all around to random places and not locking on correctly... I didn't have any issues at all when I first downloaded it. This is mostly inside my car and not up on the dashboard for the "direct line of sight with the sky" that is supposedly needed... but again it worked flawlessly when I first got it.

The update seems nice so far, but it may or may not have corrupted my iPod app... I'm not sure I understand how that would be possible if TomTom followed the SDK. But I was unable to start music directly out of the TomTom app (after upgrading). To try to solve this I figured I would go directly to the iPod app and start from there... but it won't open. It tries to open, pauses, then quits to the homescreen. This has been happening since yesterday afternoon and I have tried a couple of hard restarts.... I will try a restore if it keeps up.

The ADD LOCATIONS is what interests me... but I would like more information on how this is implemented... I assume the 3rd party apps will have to update and add a direct link to tomtom?

Me too, and I have the TomTom car kit. It has these hissy fits, the screen goes crazy on the expressway telling me to make a sharp left. I ignore it and it goes away. TomTom has a good potential to be a good GPS, but I think they need to fire their QC department. MotionX GPS for 2.99 is so good if I could just rely on one GPS that would be the one, but they all have their problems. The Google Search is so cool, but TomTom doesn't give you the address of the location you just found, it drives me crazy.

HoldFastHope
Mar 15, 2010, 10:02 PM
Anyone heard anything about when live traffic is coming to other regions? As far as I can tell the TomTom Australia app didn't get live traffic OR a map update, so it's basically a UI update.

wwchris
Mar 15, 2010, 11:55 PM
FYI, if you get a phone call, you can answer it, then just reopen the TomTom app while you are still in the call and it will resume navigating and you can still talk on the phone.

room237
Mar 15, 2010, 11:58 PM
I'm running TT on an original iPhone. If I just try updating, it complains about not enough free space. Instead of restoring, I remove TT from the sync list on my iPhone and re-sync. That removes TT from the iPhone but leaves it in the Applications.

Then I switch on TT again and re-sync. Takes about 5 or so minutes to remove TT on the re-sync. My only loss is the favorites and past destination history. When I get the next gen phone, I hope this problem goes away.

I've tried this several times without success. Normally instead of replacing the app, there needs to be enough room for a 2nd app to install before replacing the old version. Even with removing it from the iPhone and with over 2.5GB of space left, it claims there is not enough free space. This is an iPhone issue for sure, for some reason mine is having trouble making memory available once data is deleted. And every time I restore it's a crap shoot as to which of my settings are kept and which I have to tweak to the way I had it before.

Yeah, I know this isn't a support forum, I'm just venting.

:apple: !!!

justinfreid
Mar 16, 2010, 12:54 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)



Me too, and I have the TomTom car kit. It has these hissy fits, the screen goes crazy on the expressway telling me to make a sharp left. I ignore it and it goes away. TomTom has a good potential to be a good GPS, but I think they need to fire their QC department. MotionX GPS for 2.99 is so good if I could just rely on one GPS that would be the one, but they all have their problems. The Google Search is so cool, but TomTom doesn't give you the address of the location you just found, it drives me crazy.

Motion-X is now $.99 for 30 days of live voice guidance, then $2.99 every 30 days thereafter.

Vinny1967
Mar 16, 2010, 02:49 AM
There seems to be some problems with traffic delay re-routing. I'm not sure if its only the European HD Traffic or if it applies to US traffic also. I've seen this myself which wasn't a pleasant experience. Only after manually choosing minimize delays I was re-routed.

Regarding the pricing, its expensive if you're comparing it with other iPhone solutions. iPhone has changed the PND pricing game but unfortunately TT is still trying to get premium prices on highly competitive market. I'm sure TT will be lowering the subscription prices or will be introducing a fixed one time price at some point.

Had this myself late last night. Motorway I would normally take on the way home was blocked due to roadworks, and I had to manuallly choose 'minimise delays'.

Not impressed.


Edit: Just downloaded the user guide for the 1.3 update and found these statements:

1. 'For any incident, you can tap Minimise Delays to check whether further time can be saved by using an alternative route.'
2. 'As the traffic situation changes, your TomTom app constantly looks for a faster route to your destination. If it finds one, it asks you if you want to change to that route.'

These two statements seem to contradict each other. If TomTom gives you the option to change to a new route automatically (2) why would you need the option to manually select minimise delays (1).

Also from personal experience I can say that statement 2 is NOT true.

Although Navigon traffic is nowhere near as comprehensive, at least the re-routing is done automatically (and it works).

mattyboy7110
Mar 16, 2010, 06:46 AM
I use the Trafficmaster Companion app based on smartnav. The routes it gives are second to none, the maps are always current, the updates weigh in at under 10MB and when lazy, use the call centre to locate where you're going.

It's not perfect yet, but I've used smartnav ever since it came out as an in-vehicle option and the routes are fantastic. It knows the quickest route based on the time of day and it will check the traffic all through your route.

The best bit is that if your original route clears, it puts you back on it. I don't think other satnavs do that?

Mad Mac Maniac
Mar 16, 2010, 11:03 PM
YES!!!!! I love the new tomtom feature!! Where To just added the feature where you can add locations from 3rd party apps and I tried it! I have been WAITING to be able to do this!

Now I just wish that this could be done directly from the google maps app. Oh what a perfect world that would be :)

wwchris
Mar 17, 2010, 08:57 PM
For those with the installation problems, you actually need over 3 gigs free to install. Frankly I hate that part since I always have to delete a bunch of songs, update then restore them. Has nothing to do with TomTom though, same for all the GPS apps.

mvl
Mar 20, 2010, 08:54 AM
Edit: Just downloaded the user guide for the 1.3 update and found these statements:

1. 'For any incident, you can tap Minimise Delays to check whether further time can be saved by using an alternative route.'
2. 'As the traffic situation changes, your TomTom app constantly looks for a faster route to your destination. If it finds one, it asks you if you want to change to that route.'

These two statements seem to contradict each other. If TomTom gives you the option to change to a new route automatically (2) why would you need the option to manually select minimise delays (1).

Also from personal experience I can say that statement 2 is NOT true.

On all the Tomtom PNDs, you tap the traffic vertical bar on the right, and then choose "traffic preferences".

It then gives you an auto-reroute option with:
- always reroute
- never reroute
- prompt me to reroute

I've never used the iPhone app, but you can check if the same options are available there.

cavemonkey50
Mar 20, 2010, 01:03 PM
On all the Tomtom PNDs, you tap the traffic vertical bar on the right, and then choose "traffic preferences".

It then gives you an auto-reroute option with:
- always reroute
- never reroute
- prompt me to reroute

I've never used the iPhone app, but you can check if the same options are available there.

I haven't seen any of those traffic preference options in the iPhone app, but I can confirm prompt to reroute does exist.

This past week I drove into New York City (lots of traffic) and TomTom was constantly checking for better routes. I would hear prompts like:

"The traffic situation on your route has changed. Current delay due to traffic is 12 minutes. You are still on the fastest route."

Eventually I heard this prompt:

"Current delay due to traffic is 12 minutes. A faster route has been determined. Would you like to switch to the faster route and save 11 minutes?"

At that time, on the top of my screen, a bar about three times the height of the normal bar appeared displaying something like "Faster Route: 11 minutes". Under the text was a red stay on route button and a green change route button. I clicked the green button and was immediately directed off the highway and on to a much, much better route.

So, the app is checking for better routes, but most likely there is a threshold to offering a reroute. It's probably not going to offer an a reroute unless more than 5 minutes can be saved by altering direction.

mvl
Mar 21, 2010, 09:27 PM
I haven't seen any of those traffic preference options in the iPhone app, but I can confirm prompt to reroute does exist.

This past week I drove into New York City (lots of traffic) and TomTom was constantly checking for better routes. I would hear prompts like:

"The traffic situation on your route has changed. Current delay due to traffic is 12 minutes. You are still on the fastest route."

Eventually I heard this prompt:

"Current delay due to traffic is 12 minutes. A faster route has been determined. Would you like to switch to the faster route and save 11 minutes?"

At that time, on the top of my screen, a bar about three times the height of the normal bar appeared displaying something like "Faster Route: 11 minutes". Under the text was a red stay on route button and a green change route button. I clicked the green button and was immediately directed off the highway and on to a much, much better route.

So, the app is checking for better routes, but most likely there is a threshold to offering a reroute. It's probably not going to offer an a reroute unless more than 5 minutes can be saved by altering direction.

If it finds a delay, Tomtom will see if driving through the traffic is faster than driving around it. My guess, in your example above, is that it needed a 12 minute delay on the original road to make an alternate route faster.

On a PND, the screens you describe match what happens when you choose "prompt". I personally run my Tomtoms with the "auto" option, as I'd always want to say "yes" to that prompt.

There are a few iPhone owners who have extensively used the iPhone app at tomtomforums.com. You could ask there if anyone has found the traffic preferences screen.

sboyack
Mar 22, 2010, 03:29 PM
So far, I have REALLY liked my TomTom on my iPhone. The car kit is awesome. I take it on all my trips when I am driving in unfamiliar cities. The GPS works great! The speaker volume works great and I love how easy and well it mounts in any car...

But the thing I have MOST wanted (and emailed Tom Tom about) was to add Spoken Street Names. Often, the app says, "Turn right in 400 yards" when there is a complicated interesection with more than one obvious choice. I often take the wrong turn. So, I REALLY wanted them to add Spoken Street Names.

I even emailed their support to ask them WHEN they would add it. I found this document that hinted it would be coming soon. I was very disappointed it was not in the 1.3 release I just downloaded. They emailed me back and said they would forward my request to development... Sheesh.
http://www.tomtom.com/news/category.php?ID=4&NID=877&Lid=29

I asked them about if you can install and use the celebrity voices like they sell and I got no answer...
http://www.tomtom.com/page/simpsons&Lid=4

On a whim I was trying out some other voices and discovered an AMAZING THING!!!
If you select either Samantha (computer) or Tom (computer), Tom Tom WILL SPEAK STREET NAMES!!! Like, "In 400 yards turn left on Main Street." HOLY CRAP! I couldn't believe it.

Why couldn't Tom Tom a) tell me these voices would speak street names and b) document it better and advertise it?!? It was like they had NO idea that it would do it.

The only knock is where I live there are a lot of Spanish names and the voices don't do such a good job of pronunciating them. Still THIS IS AN AMAZING THING that I have not seen documented or discussed anywhere.

I think Tom Tom users should all PayPal me $1 to thank me!
sboyack@mac.com

hawkeye23
Mar 22, 2010, 03:53 PM
So far, I have REALLY liked my TomTom on my iPhone. The car kit is awesome. I take it on all my trips when I am driving in unfamiliar cities. The GPS works great! The speaker volume works great and I love how easy and well it mounts in any car...

But the thing I have MOST wanted (and emailed Tom Tom about) was to add Spoken Street Names. Often, the app says, "Turn right in 400 yards" when there is a complicated interesection with more than one obvious choice. I often take the wrong turn. So, I REALLY wanted them to add Spoken Street Names.

I even emailed their support to ask them WHEN they would add it. I found this document that hinted it would be coming soon. I was very disappointed it was not in the 1.3 release I just downloaded. They emailed me back and said they would forward my request to development... Sheesh.
http://www.tomtom.com/news/category.php?ID=4&NID=877&Lid=29

I asked them about if you can install and use the celebrity voices like they sell and I got no answer...
http://www.tomtom.com/page/simpsons&Lid=4

On a whim I was trying out some other voices and discovered an AMAZING THING!!!
If you select either Samantha (computer) or Tom (computer), Tom Tom WILL SPEAK STREET NAMES!!! Like, "In 400 yards turn left on Main Street." HOLY CRAP! I couldn't believe it.

Why couldn't Tom Tom a) tell me these voices would speak street names and b) document it better and advertise it?!? It was like they had NO idea that it would do it.

The only knock is where I live there are a lot of Spanish names and the voices don't do such a good job of pronunciating them. Still THIS IS AN AMAZING THING that I have not seen documented or discussed anywhere.

I think Tom Tom users should all PayPal me $1 to thank me!
sboyack@mac.com

Are you serious?

Mad Mac Maniac
Mar 22, 2010, 05:33 PM
snip common sense

Yes. We know. I'm sorry TomTom didn't tell you that when you emailed them. Bad on them. I have noticed that TomTom does a piss horrible job with customer service and relating information about what they are doing (at least in regards to the iphone). But yes they have had samantha since 1.1 and tom was just added in 1.3. Now I use Tom on my TomTom, oh and did I mention that my name was Tom?? haha

PS I just bought the car kit and took it on a 10 hour trip. I had it on for I'd say at least 5 hours of it, if not more. The battery didn't drain at all. Although the gps did flip out on me a couple times. Once it couldn't even lock on at all until I quit and reopened the app. Also the bluetooth is worth crap in my loud car driving 80mph down the freeway. (using built in speaker. no aux in) Both the mic and speaker are unbearable at such speed in my car. I've tried minimally at 20-30 mph which so far has yielded much better success. Volume for music works well though for me throughout.

cavemonkey50
Mar 25, 2010, 02:52 PM
so is there anything like a tom tom that is cheaper but not crap?

Have you seen the Navigon MyRegion? Full version of Navigon (just a smaller part of the US) for $19.99.

LincolnsiPod
Mar 26, 2010, 04:35 PM
Can anyone confirm whether the real traffic feature is still available for the iPod Touch? I have a mifi card so that shouldn't be a problem.

ipedro
Mar 26, 2010, 06:42 PM
I've been looking everywhere for this. Is it possible to buy the US/Canada app and then add maps of Europe via an in-app purchase?

cavemonkey50
Mar 26, 2010, 09:14 PM
Can anyone confirm whether the real traffic feature is still available for the iPod Touch? I have a mifi card so that shouldn't be a problem.

I don't have an iPod touch to test, but from what's I've seen on forums, traffic is completely disabled for the iPod touch.

I've been looking everywhere for this. Is it possible to buy the US/Canada app and then add maps of Europe via an in-app purchase?

Nope. If you want Europe or other maps, you have to purchase another version.

globalist
Mar 31, 2010, 02:28 PM
2 questions:

1) is it possible to add multiple waypoints in TomTom?

2) do the ipod controls offer more than just pause, forward and back? i.e. like in Navigon you can actually choose songs, albums, playlists, etc...

cavemonkey50
Mar 31, 2010, 02:49 PM
2 questions:

1) is it possible to add multiple waypoints in TomTom?

2) do the ipod controls offer more than just pause, forward and back? i.e. like in Navigon you can actually choose songs, albums, playlists, etc...

No to both questions.

BrownStarfish
Apr 1, 2010, 08:47 AM
No to both questions.

Actually, the answer is yes to the first question.

Route Options>Find Alternative>Travel Via will let you add a waypoint.

globalist
Apr 1, 2010, 09:26 AM
Actually, the answer is yes to the first question.

Route Options>Find Alternative>Travel Via will let you add a waypoint.

I know that but I said multiple waypoints, not just one. :)

lfhdez
Apr 15, 2010, 05:28 AM
I know that but I said multiple waypoints, not just one. :)

navigon ftw

cuddykid
Apr 15, 2010, 11:04 AM
the tomtom app deffo looks very good! But I think i'll stick with co-pilot for the mo though!