PDA

View Full Version : Share Airport connection to Router via Ethernet




wizwaz3
Mar 15, 2010, 09:05 PM
I have enabled Internet Sharing to "Share your connection from: Airport" and share "To computers using: Built-in Ethernet". I currently receive my wireless signal from another part of the house and need to share my connection to my XBox 360 as well as my Blu-Ray player and DVR. When I connect my router to my iMac via Ethernet, it does not connect to the Internet. Does anybody know what might be wrong and how I can fix this? All help is appreciated!



belvdr
Mar 16, 2010, 12:07 PM
If you're sharing from Airport to Ethernet, then plugging in that particular system to the router via Ethernet won't work. Are you wanting to plug your Mac into the router via Ethernet and share to the Xbox and BR player via WiFi? If so, you need to share from Ethernet to Airport.

jw2002
Mar 17, 2010, 08:38 PM
What your are trying to do is easy under OS X and not so easy under OS X Server. Did you plug your ethernet to the WAN port (not a LAN port) of the router? That way, the router should obtain its WAN address via DHCP from your mac and then serve out addresses to whatever is plugged into it. Or if your router allows it, have it operate in bridge mode. Anyways, you are definitely on the right track because I share from Airport to Ethernet, no problem.

wizwaz3
Mar 21, 2010, 12:50 AM
jw2002 understands what I'm trying to do. I still don't seem to be having success.

I have a Belkin G Wireless Router Model Number: F5D7234-4 V5

I am running an ethernet cable from the iMac to the routers "Modem" port which is it's line in. The router keeps flashing it's "Modem" light indicating no connection and, obviously, the Internet light is not on at all.

Any other ideas, anybody?

Judah87
May 9, 2011, 11:53 AM
Did this ever get resolved? I am trying to do the exact same thing from my MacPro and have had no success. Have we finally found something that is more streamlined in Windows than it is in OSX??!?!

cwaddell2002
May 9, 2011, 01:22 PM
Did this ever get resolved? I am trying to do the exact same thing from my MacPro and have had no success. Have we finally found something that is more streamlined in Windows than it is in OSX??!?!

Unless I am mistaken, your mac can act as the DHCP Server, etc when sharing an ethernet connection, so try using your router in bridge mode, or if it doesn't support that, turn the dhcp server off in the router and connect everything to the LAN ports. On most routers this allows it to act as a switch, making your mac pro the router...