PDA

View Full Version : eMac: 2 gig memory?


believo
Sep 6, 2004, 10:54 PM
The eMac is suppost to only support 1 gig of memory, according to apple, but I've heard some say that the eMac can support 2 gig of memory. Did Apple list 1 gig as the max because thats all their built to order options will allow or will installing 2 gigs mess up your system in some way?
thanks.

Sun Baked
Sep 6, 2004, 11:00 PM
The DDR version is the same chipset as the DDR iMac/iBook/PowerBook.

The SDR version is the same chipset as the SDR PowerMac (and SDR PowerBook)

If the chipset supports it in one incarnation, it should work in the other.

vga4life
Sep 7, 2004, 07:30 AM
The eMac is suppost to only support 1 gig of memory, according to apple, but I've heard some say that the eMac can support 2 gig of memory. Did Apple list 1 gig as the max because thats all their built to order options will allow or will installing 2 gigs mess up your system in some way?
thanks.

Apple probably listed 1 gig as the max to encourage people to buy more expensive macs if they need more memory.

The current (1.25 GHz, USB2.0) emacs do support some 1 gig DDR333 dimms but not all. I bought one for mine from transintl.com, boosting my emac to 1.5 GB (keeping the old 512MB dimm).

-vga4life