Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

xSavant

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 22, 2010
alright, i'm a complete photography/DSLR noob and would like some opinions on what my first camera should be. i'm looking at the Nikon D3000 since it's in my price range (around $500-$600) and also looks like a good beginner camera. i'd like to know which DSLR/lenses i should consider for taking shots such as these since this is what it'd mostly be used for:

just every-day normal life

nature macros

tilt shift lens technique

i appreciate it, thanks!

El Cabong

macrumors 6502a
Dec 1, 2008
Lenses are the key to taking macro and tilt-shift shots. Unfortunately, macro lenses are around $500+, and tilt-shift lenses are $1500-2000+ (although apparently the same effect can be achieved with Photoshop, as per your link).

"Everyday" shots can be taken just fine with the kit lens.

The camera doesn't matter.

Patriks7

macrumors 65816
Oct 26, 2008
Vienna
Lenses are the key to taking macro and tilt-shift shots. Unfortunately, macro lenses are around $500+, and tilt-shift lenses are $1500-2000+ (although apparently the same effect can be achieved with Photoshop, as per your link).

This is very true. I tried the tilt-shift effect in Photoshop once, but failed epically :rolleyes:. Will give it another try though once I get time again to take pictures (school...).
As for the macro, dedicated lenses are quite expensive, but you can also look into extension tubes which are around $100 and can be used on any lens.

xSavant

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 22, 2010
thanks guys. i also forgot to add that my favorite type of shots are shallow depth of field so it will mostly be used for that.

jampat

macrumors 6502a
Mar 17, 2008