PDA

View Full Version : Time capsule and Windows Home Server




ethan028
Mar 25, 2010, 07:36 PM
Is there anyway i can format my TimeCapsule to NTFS so i can use it as a networked drive to backup my dad with my home server i want to add more space onto it since it has alot more than my timecapsule.



Arie
Mar 26, 2010, 04:53 PM
Is there anyway i can format my TimeCapsule to NTFS so i can use it as a networked drive to backup my dad with my home server i want to add more space onto it since it has alot more than my timecapsule.

Mac OS X cannot handle NTFS. You would have to format the hard drive of your Time Capsule to FAT32 for it to be compatible with both Mac OS X as well as Microsoft Windows. I do not know however if this is possible, as I do not own a Time Capsule (yet).

Supa_Fly
Mar 27, 2010, 10:21 PM
Consider using Parellels with the import option from the existing windows drive into your Mac OS. This way the Windows "partition" or VM if you will exists inside the Mac. Turn off sleep on the desktop - since the Windows will need to be a server (and maybe set the Parellels to boot up and logon the server admin when you restart the Mac). Then Time Machine on TC will do the full backup?

I have NO idea if this'll work but just a random thought.
I'm still new to Mac OS X - so take this with a jar of salt.