PDA

View Full Version : EyeTV and Set top DVR




rdsii64
Mar 26, 2010, 12:01 AM
I know this sounds counter intuitive, but what I am trying to do is use an Elgato tv tuner to hook my imac to my Fios set top dvr.I know the Elgato tv tuner will work with over the air digital signals. What I don't know is will it work with a regular cable box. I have lots of stuff that I have recored on various discovery channels, the smithsonian channel and so on. If I can get them on my imac I can burn them so I can make more room on my dvr.



ehurdler
Mar 26, 2010, 12:05 PM
I know this sounds counter intuitive, but what I am trying to do is use an Elgato tv tuner to hook my imac to my Fios set top dvr.I know the Elgato tv tuner will work with over the air digital signals. What I don't know is will it work with a regular cable box. I have lots of stuff that I have recored on various discovery channels, the smithsonian channel and so on. If I can get them on my imac I can burn them so I can make more room on my dvr.

Stream record the programs from the DVR to your iMac with a firewire cable and the Apple Firewire Dev kit or whatever it is called. But it works, I do this daily!! Good luck!

rdsii64
Sep 30, 2010, 09:50 PM
Stream record the programs from the DVR to your iMac with a firewire cable and the Apple Firewire Dev kit or whatever it is called. But it works, I do this daily!! Good luck!
I tried the firewire SDK. In theory it not ony works but it works quite well. The one issue I ran into was broadcast flags. What did work for me was the Happaug HiDef PVR. I used EyeTv software to control the box and I don't have to worry about broadcast flags.

musicpenguy
Sep 30, 2010, 10:31 PM
For cable boxes you need the Elgato EyeTV HD - it works great - I've got one and it turns the iPad/iPhone into a TV you have access to EVERYTHING you have on your cable box - it records in dual formats - a wonderful setup.