PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs help designing multimedia/wifi setup

tikidoc
Mar 27, 2010, 06:59 PM
I am somewhat new to Apple, so please be patient with me! I am planning to buy a MBP after the refresh, with the next back to school promotion. I currently own two ipods, a classic and a touch. We will be running both Apple and Windows machines in our home. We have a fairly large home that currently has a pretty spotty wifi setup using an older router that I want to replace. The wifi connection comes in through the basement, and our router and my husband's Windows computer is in his basement office. Our home has a basement, a main floor, and a loft area that is open to the first floor. Most laptop usage takes place on the main floor, as well as the stereo system (we primarily use our Bose iPod speaker system). We get decent wifi on about half the main floor but there are large dead spots. The main TV (widescreen HDTV) is in the loft. Currently there is almost no wifi reception in the loft.

My goal would be to have good reception throughout the house, to be able to play itunes on the main floor, and to have an AppleTV in the loft. We have fairly extensive collections of old TV shows, movies, sports, and kid shows on DVD right now that I would like to put much of that on the AppleTV. I think that the amount of material that I would eventually want to put on the AppleTV would be more than the 160GB capacity. I would also like to be able to rent/buy movies from iTunes.