Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

oles0041

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 27, 2010
I installed Windows using bootcamp to partition my hard drive and windows ended up having problems so I want to delete the partition and start over. My problem is I'm not a computer expert and don't really know what to do anymore. I tried to delete the partition using bootcamp and bootcamp cannot be used because it says "this start up disk is not supported." So then I went to disk utility thinking I could get rid of it that way and erased it but the partition is still there. Because of all this I can no longer run the mac installer. When I insert the snow leopard disk it doesn't recognize either of the hard drives. It gives the message "This disk cannot be used to start up the computer." I've also tried defragging and repairing the hard drive and get numerous error messages. What do I need to do to get my computer to work right again? Any help is much appreciated!

balamw

Moderator emeritus
Aug 16, 2005
New England
I installed Windows using bootcamp to partition my hard drive and windows ended up having problems so I want to delete the partition and start over. My problem is I'm not a computer expert and don't really know what to do anymore. I tried to delete the partition using bootcamp and bootcamp cannot be used because it says "this start up disk is not supported." So then I went to disk utility thinking I could get rid of it that way and erased it but the partition is still there. Because of all this I can no longer run the mac installer. When I insert the snow leopard disk it doesn't recognize either of the hard drives. It gives the message "This disk cannot be used to start up the computer." I've also tried defragging and repairing the hard drive and get numerous error messages. What do I need to do to get my computer to work right again? Any help is much appreciated!