Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

towlston

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 30, 2010
I'm relatively new to iphone programming and am stuck on a very basic issue with variables. I want to access a string variable (delegateString for this example) declared and set in my apps delegate (AppDelegate) from a view controller. So I've tried both lines of code below in my view controller to access delegateString.
Code:
AppDelegate *mainDelegate = (AppDelegate *)[[UIApplication sharedApplication] delegate];
NSString *localString = mainDelegate.delegateString;

NSString *localString = [AppDelegate *)[UIApplication sharedApplication].delegate delegateString];

Both techniques work, and I can get the delegateString variable just fine in the view controller, but it's always empty. I'm sure I just don't understand how to do this. Any help is greatly appreciated, I've been stuck for two days.

Thanks in advance.

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
What leads you to believe that it won't be empty? Have you set it to a non-empty string in the delegate. Post all of the relevant code (in this case the delegate class).

dejo

Moderator emeritus
Sep 2, 2004
The Centennial State
Also, it could be a matter of timing. Make sure your string is being set in your app delegate before you are retrieving its value in your view controller.

towlston

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 30, 2010