PDA

View Full Version : Turbo264HD performance on Mac Pro




shinji
Mar 30, 2010, 09:11 PM
I have a quad core mac pro. Does the Turbo264HD make enough of a difference in encoding speed, or it's marginal at best? Searching around there are mixed reports...some people also don't like the software it comes with, and the macworld review said the video quality with the presets was an issue.

If you have this (the HD model), are you happy with it? Is there another hardware-based alternative that is better?



maestrokev
Mar 31, 2010, 12:40 AM
I have a quad core mac pro. Does the Turbo264HD make enough of a difference in encoding speed, or it's marginal at best? Searching around there are mixed reports...some people also don't like the software it comes with, and the macworld review said the video quality with the presets was an issue.

If you have this (the HD model), are you happy with it? Is there another hardware-based alternative that is better?

It worked better when I had an iMac but with my quad MP, no it doesn't make any difference. Any unfortunately the quality is not as good as Handbrake.

shinji
Mar 31, 2010, 01:12 AM
It worked better when I had an iMac but with my quad MP, no it doesn't make any difference. Any unfortunately the quality is not as good as Handbrake.

Thanks for the heads up. I think I will pass on it.

mcnallym
Mar 31, 2010, 12:44 PM
If you have a Quad Core MacPro already then it won't be worth it as the idea of the stick is that it offloads the cpu load. With a Quad Core Mac Pro then doubt would really be worth it as can just use the CPU instead.

It works great on my mac mini, (Dual Core 2GHz) however I only use it with recordings from my ElgatoTV so I am encoding from within ElgatoTV.

Encoded recordings from the Elgato have not shown any of the issues that arise from using the software that comes from the stick, ie no jerkiness or audio synch issues.

If looking to use with a low power machine for encoding then worthwhile as long as have an alternative peice of software to use with the stick.

Some of the other apps out there now like Popcorn 4 will use the stick if out there, again however with a Mac Pro then will have the grunt to encode anyway.