PDA

View Full Version : Black Bars on side of HDTV when connected to mbp




yehgermeister
Mar 31, 2010, 04:55 PM
i recently purchased a samsung hdtv. i tried connecting it to my early 08 penryn mbp with a dvi to hdmi cable. i'm mirroring by the way. overscan is turned on.

it works fine when i use 1080p, but there are black bars on the side. tried messing with the tv settings, but nothing helped. i'm sure the problem lies on the mbp side. how do i get rid of them? i don't have this issue when i boot into windows 7 on my boot camp partition.

any help would be greatly appreciated.

here's a picture. sorry it's a bit dark.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v283/d-shizznit/DSC_0211.jpg



FSUSem1noles
Mar 31, 2010, 07:43 PM
i recently purchased a samsung hdtv. i tried connecting it to my early 08 penryn mbp with a dvi to hdmi cable. i'm mirroring by the way. overscan is turned on.

it works fine when i use 1080p, but there are black bars on the side. tried messing with the tv settings, but nothing helped. i'm sure the problem lies on the mbp side. how do i get rid of them? i don't have this issue when i boot into windows 7 on my boot camp partition.

any help would be greatly appreciated.

here's a picture. sorry it's a bit dark.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v283/d-shizznit/DSC_0211.jpg

You may have to change your TV config from 16:9 picture size to "just scan".

Most of the influence on how the picture looks comes from the TV side, not the MBP side..

Sun Baked
Mar 31, 2010, 07:49 PM
Look for stuff on SwitchresX and the Samsung TV

Probably find stuff like

http://web.me.com/anthonysigalas/Site/Samsung.html

roidy
Apr 1, 2010, 01:13 PM
I could be wrong but if you use mirroring then I think you can only use the lowest resolution of the two screens ie your samsung is 1920x1080 but your MBP is 1440x900. So it will only use 1440x900. If you look below the large resolution selection box it says "Usable Resolution 1440x900". Try turning off mirroring and just use the Samsung as the primary display and see it you can get the correct resolution.

iAlexG
Apr 3, 2010, 08:59 PM
Yh listen to the people above. Switch your samsung to scan and go into display preferences on your macbook and set your tv as the main monitor (by dragging the menu bar from the small screen to the big one).

Aqwerfass
Aug 15, 2011, 08:09 AM
My Sony Tube set is just about done and I lose the picture at times every day. So I have been looking at purchasing an HDTV Set for my Bell Express Vu service. I currently subscribe to Satellite 91 and have been told its about $10 - 12 more per month to get the HDTV Channels on Satellite 82. I have the 9200 PVR Receiver with capability of 25 Hours of HD Recording. There are 2 cables coming down from the roof into my Bell 9200 Receiver.:(

AdrianK
Aug 15, 2011, 12:49 PM
Your MacBook's display is 16:10 and your TV's display is 16:9, so OS X uses the lowest common denominator (16:10 for both).

There isn't a solution to this, since the displays are different ratios. You can either stretch (yuck) or pillar box (a lot less yuck).