PDA

View Full Version : Need Help upgrading RAM in my G3 Bronze

Ini
Sep 13, 2004, 08:31 AM
Hi, I have a Lombard G3 333 Mhz. Im not planning to do any major upgrades but just a bit more RAM, as so far its still running on the 64MB it came with. Just a few questions i have

1.Can my G3 run PC133 or PC100 or PC66(as the manual states)
2.If i can run a PC133 or PC100, would that mean only a PC133 or PC100 must be running on both top slot and bottom slot? so i cant mix?
3.Does it matter about Low profile and high profile? can i run a low on the bottom slot and a high on the top? viseversa. or do they both have to be both high or low?
4.What is the difference between high and low profile?
5.Im still using the 4 gig HDD the PB came with, would OS X Panther fit? would it be laggy on the PB after the upgrade? All im planning is using it for simple web surfing, emailing, and word documents.

6.Also im thinking of sharing my Cable Internet with my PB.
Cable modem
|
|
Router---PC(XP)(Wired)
|
|
Powerbook G3 Bronze Lombard(wireless)

Can the powerbook use 802.11g? Would a Linksys WRT54G and a WPC54G for the Powerbook be compatible?

Thanks

PS Sorry for the long post. Im a total n00b

willmg
Sep 13, 2004, 09:42 AM
I have a Lombard as well, you can use PC100/133 memory in it but only up to 256mb in size(512 chips aren't recognized). They will run at the max rating of your FSB, in this case 66, and no they dont need to be matched. I am running stock apple 64 in the bottom and a PC100 128 in the top slot. If you plan to use OSX at all, I would suggest maxing the ram, ie 256 in the top and bottom slot, if you arent comfotable getting to the bottom slot(not for newbs) at least get a 256 for the top slot. For OS9, my current 192 runs fine, though more is always better.

about HD, mine died 2 weeks ago, yours is prolly on its last legs and a 20GB 4200-5400 rpm drive can be had for $40-60 so its worth the upgrade.