PDA

View Full Version : Installing windows some newbie ?s




sbb155
Apr 4, 2010, 01:14 PM
I have a full copy of vista. I used it on my last mbp, but now I have a new one. Can I just reinstall vista or will Microsoft get upset since it is a new computer. Both were 15inch Mbps

If Microsoft wants me to use a new copy do I get 32 or 64 bit w7?

I would really like to use my old vista since I paid for it.



celticpride678
Apr 4, 2010, 01:15 PM
You should be able to use the same product key.

balamw
Apr 4, 2010, 05:28 PM
It depends somewhat on how you got the Vista license how many hoops Microsoft will make you jump through. If it really was a full (or upgrade) retail copy, Microsoft may just let it authorize fine online. If it was an OEM/System Builders Edition version, you might have to call them on the phone before it will work, but it will most likely work. (Even though OEM copies re not supposed to be transferable).

B