PDA

View Full Version : mac playback to tv




37iroks
Apr 4, 2010, 06:54 PM
i have a macbook and a friend gave me the adapter that plugs into the firewire and turns it to the blue type plug that you use on a pc monitor.. that then goes to the same type plug on the back on the tv.. audio has a separate cable but that's not the problem..

i plug everything in, turn the tv to the right channel, click discover displays and nothing happens.. am i missing something?



spinnerlys
Apr 4, 2010, 07:00 PM
Have you taken a look at this guide?

How to: Connect a MacBook, MacBook Air, or MacBook Pro to a TV
(http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=792106)


Also Firewire is for transferring data and video from and to a H/DV camera, not really for a TV.

What you seem to have is the miniDisplayPort/miniDVI to VGA adapter and a VGA cable.


Have you taken a look at System Preferences > Displays and seen if the external TV shows up there somehow?

Btw, what Mac and Mac OS X version do you have?

To find out use :apple: > About This Mac and the System Profiler > Hardware Overview.

37iroks
Apr 4, 2010, 10:50 PM
i have a regular macbook..

Model Identifier: MacBook4,1


and yes this is it
http://img.skitch.com/20090924-xmtpu3c8k98dbtkiyc1baedjui.png

and yes i have tried, no signal

37iroks
Apr 5, 2010, 11:59 AM
bumpppp anyone???

would a driver or something resolve it? and the reason i said firewire, is because the adapter itself plugs into the firewire port, not the one next to it that has the same symbol as the adaptor does.

spinnerlys
Apr 5, 2010, 12:14 PM
bumpppp anyone???

would a driver or something resolve it? and the reason i said firewire, is because the adapter itself plugs into the firewire port, not the one next to it that has the same symbol as the adaptor does.

Are you sure you mean Firewire?

Because the miniDVI port is right next to it, and if it is the Firewire port you use, then we should know a little bit more about the adapter you use, as that one seems highly unlikely.

Here are the ports of that MB (I have the same) with labels, so which port is it?
http://www.themacstore.com/img/content_images/white_macbook_connections.gif

And do you use this adapter? The one below is the so-called Mini DVI to VGA adapter (http://store.apple.com/us/product/M9320G/A?fnode=MTY1NDA5OQ&mco=MTA4MzU1MzA).
http://a248.e.akamai.net/7/248/2041/1680/as-images.apple.com/is/image/AppleInc/M9320_AV3?wid=1200&hei=1200&fmt=jpeg&qlt=95&op_sharpen=0&resMode=bicub&op_usm=0.5,0.5,0,0&iccEmbed=0&layer=comp

37iroks
Apr 5, 2010, 12:24 PM
i am 100% it is the firewire 400 port..

my camera memory is full, i tried taking a picture..

spinnerlys
Apr 5, 2010, 12:28 PM
i am 100% it is the firewire 400 port..

my camera memory is full, i tried taking a picture..

Then we need to know which adapter you use, as the Firewire port is not meant for video transfer except with DV and HDV signals.

When the adapter is connected take a look at System Profiler > Hardware > Firewire and see what the name is if you don't get it from somewhere else.

And are you sure, that the adapter (or a similar one) in the second picture is not the one you use?

37iroks
Apr 5, 2010, 08:19 PM
FireWire Bus:

Maximum Speed: Up to 400 Mb/sec


that is with just the adapter plugged in, not connected to the tv. idk if that makes a difference.

spinnerlys
Apr 6, 2010, 01:14 AM
FireWire Bus:

Maximum Speed: Up to 400 Mb/sec


that is with just the adapter plugged in, not connected to the tv. idk if that makes a difference.

No, it does not make a difference, as it tells us nothing.
You have to tell us more, for example, what adapter you use.
Is there some kind of inscription on the adapter?

If you have a MacBook, you can use the built-in iSight in combination with Photo Booth to make a photo (the more the better though) of it if you are unable to empty the camera's storage.

Otherwise we are just tiptoeing around here.