PDA

View Full Version : Whats faster? convert from DVD or after DVD has been ripped? using Handbrake




MrMister111
Apr 5, 2010, 07:59 AM
Hi

starting to get my DVDs conveted so all can play at home from my Apple TV and my PS3. Apple TV preset plays on both devices fin using Handbrake but...

I have Handbrake 0.94, 64Bit on my Intel iMac Core 2 Duo 2Ghz 2Gb RAM. I tried a film direct from DVD to Apple TV preset and it was going at about 15fps, and would have took about 4.5hrs for a 2.5hr movie, is this normal?

Would it be quicker if I ripped the DVD to my HDD 1st and then converted using Handbrake from the HDD?

cheers



mstrze
Apr 5, 2010, 08:09 AM
I get about 20fps with the DVD 'hosted' on my HDD.

I think the time difference is negligible, but the main reason for encoding from a rip is to protect your optical drive from wear. Having your DVD drive spinning for 4.5 hours continuously for each DVD encode is really rough on the unit.

mkrishnan
Apr 5, 2010, 08:12 AM
I think the time difference is negligible, but the main reason for encoding from a rip is to protect your optical drive from wear. Having your DVD drive spinning for 4.5 hours continuously for each DVD encode is really rough on the unit.

It seems like, if you do straight rips from disc first, too (which are relatively fast), that you can then just queue them all up in Handbrake and leave your computer running overnight or for the weekend converting them all en masse....

mstrze
Apr 5, 2010, 08:42 AM
It seems like, if you do straight rips from disc first, too (which are relatively fast), that you can then just queue them all up in Handbrake and leave your computer running overnight or for the weekend converting them all en masse....

Indeed...that's an excellent point!

...and the automation process stickied at the top of this forum allows easy scheduling of this.

MrMister111
Apr 5, 2010, 09:36 AM
ah I thought it would be faster converting from the HDD direct mmmm.

What software do you use to rip to HDD then? Any free ones?

That automation method seems reall complicated to me. I just like to pop in a DVD, or video file and convert. I agree you could queue up in Handbrake though, but I don't really like running my iMac at 100% CPU all night though either

mkrishnan
Apr 5, 2010, 09:49 AM
ah I thought it would be faster converting from the HDD direct mmmm.

It depends on what you mean by faster... if you're ripping at 15 fps right now, that's... just a little bit better than 1/2x the DVD speed spec (DVDs are natively 24-30 fps). Your DVD player shouldn't really have a problem reading and providing data to Handbrake at that speed, so there is really no substantial time lost in pulling data from the disc.

Now, it might be a little faster if it's already on the HD, but you have to factor in the time you lost ripping it in the first place (which is, what... some 20+ minutes?).

MrMister111
Apr 5, 2010, 09:58 AM
Ok cheers

what I meant is a whole conversion process from start to finish. I just didn't realise that converting a movie would take so long really, so on average for me a 2hr movie on DVD will take about double that to convert?

Wow this means to convert for example an entire box set of a TV series will take absolutely days and days?

mkrishnan
Apr 5, 2010, 10:01 AM
Wow this means to convert for example an entire box set of a TV series will take absolutely days and days?

That's kind of why we were suggesting automation... it's a computer. It's made to run. There's no harm in letting it do its job overnight (and in fact, if you run it at the right time of day, electricity is off peak and more environmentally friendly ;) ).

It'll be faster if you select a less demanding destination format, but then it might not look as good on your Apple TV. Or, I guess, obviously, you could get a computer with 8 or 16 cores.... Otherwise, yeah.

dynaflash
Apr 5, 2010, 10:01 AM
A "which is faster" test would require the exact same source dvd ripped with the exact same hb settings. One from a prerip from your hdd and one right from the source disk. This will tell you if your dvd drive is a bottleneck.

As noted the time to prerip would have to be considered into the entire process as well, also as noted prerips allow you to queue up several encodes into hb for processing lets say overnight. Tough to do right from the dvd unless you have multiple drives.

Ca$hflow
Apr 5, 2010, 10:09 AM
ah I thought it would be faster converting from the HDD direct mmmm.

What software do you use to rip to HDD then? Any free ones?

That automation method seems reall complicated to me. I just like to pop in a DVD, or video file and convert. I agree you could queue up in Handbrake though, but I don't really like running my iMac at 100% CPU all night though either

I use a program called Mac The Ripper. You can download it

here -----> http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/22715

MrMister111
Apr 5, 2010, 10:43 AM
I use a program called Mac The Ripper. You can download it

here -----> http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/22715

I have Snow Leopard v10.6.3 and it asked to install Rosetta? I think this is to allow older programs to run is this correct? I thought I was best to not let any olderProsts run on Snow Leopard with it being 64bit? And why it isn't installed by default?

Also is it ok to run my iMac overnight then at 100% for say 8 hrs? Just don't like running my "baby" to hard ;)

dynaflash
Apr 5, 2010, 11:10 AM
Also is it ok to run my iMac overnight then at 100% for say 8 hrs? Just don't like running my "baby" to hard ;)
Let er' rip as long is it doesn't overheat, which it won't. Its not like the processor will wear out.

millar876
Apr 5, 2010, 12:06 PM
i get around 80fps ripping straight from the dvd and around 170-230fps ripping from the HDD after a bit of MTR.

MrMister111
Apr 5, 2010, 12:43 PM
i get around 80fps ripping straight from the dvd and around 170-230fps ripping from the HDD after a bit of MTR.

Wow your joking on what hardware s that? in hour size for a 2hr movie how long is that to encode then please?

ok just tried a RIP to HDD, and then a convert using Handbrake Apple TV preset on Aliens movie, the file is 2.93Gb!! I thought it would be much much smaller than this? is this correct?

dynaflash
Apr 5, 2010, 01:13 PM
ok just tried a RIP to HDD, and then a convert using Handbrake Apple TV preset on Aliens movie, the file is 2.93Gb!! I thought it would be much much smaller than this? is this correct?
Possibly, if its the original Aliens that film is fairly grainy and has many complex scenes, which will kick up the bitrate using constant quality encoding. If its 2.93 GB then its 2.93 GB. I also recall the dvd mastering being fair to crappy on the original Aliens.

MrMister111
Apr 5, 2010, 01:59 PM
Possibly, if its the original Aliens that film is fairly grainy and has many complex scenes, which will kick up the bitrate using constant quality encoding. If its 2.93 GB then its 2.93 GB. I also recall the dvd mastering being fair to crappy on the original Aliens.
he he, your a mind reader!!

so is this typical result though for a 2.5hr movie? will they all be that size? is there anyway to make them smaller as I was expecting them to be?

so for this movie should I have selected file size rather than constant quality? if so whats a decent (I'm not too picky on viewing as long as looks good enough), file size I should pick for a 2hr movie for eg?


cheers

abrasif
Apr 5, 2010, 02:01 PM
I personally use DVDRemaster (www.metakine.com/products/dvdremaster) and Mac DVDRipper Pro (www.macdvdripperpro.com) with great success to do this.

MrMister111
Apr 5, 2010, 02:12 PM
I personally use DVDRemaster (www.metakine.com/products/dvdremaster) and Mac DVDRipper Pro (www.macdvdripperpro.com) with great success to do this.
thanks, so your in the camp that RIp to HDD and then convert using HB is best? or do you leave the Video TS folders to play direct?

dynaflash
Apr 5, 2010, 02:56 PM
he he, your a mind reader!!

so is this typical result though for a 2.5hr movie? will they all be that size? is there anyway to make them smaller as I was expecting them to be?

so for this movie should I have selected file size rather than constant quality? if so whats a decent (I'm not too picky on viewing as long as looks good enough), file size I should pick for a 2hr movie for eg?


cheers
well, if you restrict the bitrate the quality will suffer, if you raise the rf value for constant quality ( which lowers the visual quality ) ... the quality will suffer. That is what bitrate was required to achieve the visual quality the HandBrake ATV preset asks for on *that source*.

However as noted its on a source by source basis ... for example Lord of the Rings is longer and comes in at a lower file size since its a cleaner source.

MrMister111
Apr 5, 2010, 03:07 PM
well, if you restrict the bitrate the quality will suffer, if you raise the rf value for constant quality ( which lowers the visual quality ) ... the quality will suffer. That is what bitrate was required to achieve the visual quality the HandBrake ATV preset asks for on *that source*.

However as noted its on a source by source basis ... for example Lord of the Rings is longer and comes in at a lower file size since its a cleaner source.
Ok understand, just the Apple TV setting also allows play on iPhone but this file size is too big, will just have to put this film down to a bigger file size suppose.

Will the HB Apple Universal preset come out at a smaller file size? be better for me for the devices I want? PS3, Apple Tv and iPhone 3GS?

cheers

NightStorm
Apr 5, 2010, 03:17 PM
Ok understand, just the Apple TV setting also allows play on iPhone but this file size is too big, will just have to put this film down to a bigger file size suppose.

Will the HB Apple Universal preset come out at a smaller file size? be better for me for the devices I want? PS3, Apple Tv and iPhone 3GS?

cheers

Everything equal, file sizes should be smaller when using the AppleTV preset versus the Universal preset, but the quality will be virtually identical.