PDA

View Full Version : Handbrake and MKV




aj350z
Apr 6, 2010, 07:03 PM
I just ripped 2 Blu-Ray discs (Spider-man 3 and Pineapple Express) using MakeMKV. However handbrake is telling me they are "No Valid Source Found". I do not understand this. Both of these MKVs play fine in VLC and i also ripped the first two Spidermans and converted them fine.

Im using Handbrake version 0.9.4 i386
and Make MKV 1.5.3

and suggestions or other converter to playback on the AppleTV



tbayrgs
Apr 7, 2010, 01:01 AM
I just ripped 2 Blu-Ray discs (Spider-man 3 and Pineapple Express) using MakeMKV. However handbrake is telling me they are "No Valid Source Found". I do not understand this. Both of these MKVs play fine in VLC and i also ripped the first two Spidermans and converted them fine.

Im using Handbrake version 0.9.4 i386
and Make MKV 1.5.3

and suggestions or other converter to playback on the AppleTV

Just a shot in the dark as I don't have either of these movies on blu-ray but I thought I recall reading somewhere that MakeMKV won't work with a certain blu-ray format (BD+ I believe). Does this apply to either of these disks?

aj350z
Apr 7, 2010, 07:49 AM
I figured the problem out. IN MakeMKV i had to de-click all of the subtitles. This is the first time i have ever had to but it made it so Handbrake could read the file.

After it was encoded i check the finish work and noticed the audio was crap. Very low in gain and when you turned the volume up it sounded even more gainy (is that a word?). To correct this problem i am re-encoding them. Under the Audio tab in Handbrake both movies were set to "English (TrueHD)". However all my other Blu-Ray rips were automatically set to "English (AC3) (5.1 ch)". I am hoping this will solve the problem.

Will let you know the results.

PS. Neither Blu-Rays were BD+ luckily. The developer of MakeMKV has done a great job decrypting those discs.