PDA

View Full Version : Multiple ad hoc's on the iPad?




jr4284
Apr 12, 2010, 10:53 AM
I have a specific need/want to have 2 ad hoc wifi networks connect simultaneously. Off the top of my head, the answer is "no way, doesn't work like that," but I remember windows (:eek:) experimenting with something like this back in the day.

I'll be tethering my phone to the iPad to use it's 3G network and stream Pandora, MLB radio, etc etc.

I also like to pull engine diagnostics using Rev or DashCommand (likely Rev), which utilizes a WiFi OBDII dongle (http://www.plxkiwi.com/kiwiwifi/hardware.html) to create its own ad hoc network.

Ideal world: I get to do both.

Likely world: I have to run local music if I'm getting diagnostics.

Can I have my cake and eat it too?



r0k
Apr 12, 2010, 11:03 AM
I have a specific need/want to have 2 ad hoc wifi networks connect simultaneously. Off the top of my head, the answer is "no way, doesn't work like that," but I remember windows (:eek:) experimenting with something like this back in the day.

I'll be tethering my phone to the iPad to use it's 3G network and stream Pandora, MLB radio, etc etc.

I also like to pull engine diagnostics using Rev or DashCommand (likely Rev), which utilizes a WiFi OBDII dongle (http://www.plxkiwi.com/kiwiwifi/hardware.html) to create its own ad hoc network.

Ideal world: I get to do both.

Likely world: I have to run local music if I'm getting diagnostics.

Can I have my cake and eat it too?

Can you set your iphone's wifi to 192.168.0.1 and your iPad to 192.168.0.2? Then your obd would be on 192.168.0.10 and you should be able to use all 3 at the same time. But if you simply allow the iphone to set its dhcp range to something like 192.168.1.1, then you can't see both. The key is to configure the tethering app on the iphone to get it onto the 192.168.0.1...255 subnet because that's the default used by the obd dongle.

jr4284
Apr 12, 2010, 11:51 AM
Can you set your iphone's wifi to 192.168.0.1 and your iPad to 192.168.0.2? Then your obd would be on 192.168.0.10 and you should be able to use all 3 at the same time. But if you simply allow the iphone to set its dhcp range to something like 192.168.1.1, then you can't see both. The key is to configure the tethering app on the iphone to get it onto the 192.168.0.1...255 subnet because that's the default used by the obd dongle.

So the iPad would be able to see both simultaneously, allowing me to run Rev and Pandora? Something's just not clicking in my head, but I'll play around with it tonight.

Thanks.

r0k
Apr 12, 2010, 11:56 AM
So the iPad would be able to see both simultaneously, allowing me to run Rev and Pandora? Something's just not clicking in my head, but I'll play around with it tonight.

Thanks.

You do realize there is no multitasking on iPad, right? You cannot run Pandora and anything else. So trying to maintain two simultaneous connections via wifi doesn't do you much good unless you happened to have two browser pages open, one on the obd dongle and the other via your iPhone to someplace on the web.

The only thing this saves you is mucking around with wifi settings between applications.

jr4284
Apr 12, 2010, 01:39 PM
You do realize there is no multitasking on iPad, right? You cannot run Pandora and anything else. So trying to maintain two simultaneous connections via wifi doesn't do you much good unless you happened to have two browser pages open, one on the obd dongle and the other via your iPhone to someplace on the web.

The only thing this saves you is mucking around with wifi settings between applications.

I believe they detailed in the keynote about allowing Pandora to run in the background. Then have Rev run in the foreground. Rev runs off of ad hoc network generated by OBDII dongle. Pandora runs off of ad hoc network generated by phone tether.

miles01110
Apr 12, 2010, 01:40 PM
I believe they detailed in the keynote about allowing Pandora to run in the background.


Yeah, but you won't be able to do that until OS 4 actually comes to the iPad in the fall.

jr4284
Apr 12, 2010, 01:45 PM
Yeah, but you won't be able to do that until OS 4 actually comes to the iPad in the fall.

I'm OK with that... I'll have to find another way to test it until then. Not like I have my 3G anyway :mad:

iLikeScotch
Sep 19, 2010, 10:10 PM
JR - Any progress?

I am trying to do the same thing. I wish we could just plug a USB cable in.

Regarding Pandora, how come you didn't want to use Backgrounder...?

jr4284
Oct 3, 2010, 10:03 PM
JR - Any progress?

I am trying to do the same thing. I wish we could just plug a USB cable in.

Regarding Pandora, how come you didn't want to use Backgrounder...?

Actually, YES!

Another forum member on a different site did a lot of digging on this. We both are using the Kiwi Wifi to pull OBD information, and both tether using MyWi.

So, here's how it's done:

1) Set your computer's wireless card's IP to 192.168.0.11 (to emulate the iPad) and the subnet mask to 255.255.255.0
-Plug in the Kiwi Wifi to your car for power, and search and connect to the PLXDevices network via your computer

2) Open HyperTerminal (or your preferred terminal app) and create a connection to the Kiwi Wifi 192.168.0.10 port: 35000

3) Once connected type "$$$"

4) You should see the terminal return something like "CMD" then press Enter and you should see "<2.10.2C>" or something similar. **NOTE: The connection will time out if the connection is idle after 10 seconds, so make sure you read through these instructions thoroughly and know what to type exactly.

5) Once you see <2.10.2C>, type "set ip a 192.168.20.X" where X is the number you chose.

6) Now depending on what you want to do for the server-client or peer-peer you can set the mode of the chip inside. Type "set w j 1". In this mode, the Kiwi Wifi will try to join a predefined network which is explained in the next step.

7) Type "set w s MyWi" or replace MyWi with whatever you call your hotspot network.

8) If MyWi has a password type "set w a X" and replace X with 1 for WEP, 2 for WPA1, 3 for mixed WPA1 and WPA2-PSK, or 4 for WPA2-PSK. Store your networks password by typing "set w k <password>"

9) Type "save" and you're done. Power cycle the Kiwi Wifi and those settings should be saved. It should try to join MyWi on the next boot up with the stored password if any, and have an IP of 192.168.20.X

If you experience any problems, or if you think you made an error with the settings, follow steps 1-4 and type "load user". That should load all the default settings and revert everything back to system defaults as defined by PLX Devices.


After going through this process, both your Kiwi Wifi and iPad will be on the same wifi network (provided by your iPhone, of course). You can now use both at once!