PDA

View Full Version : Software Update Server - catalogue file uses inexistent DNS instead of IP address




Canubis
Apr 17, 2010, 01:01 PM
Hi, I recently configured my Mac OS X 10.6.3 Server and now wanted to turn on Software Update Server too.
When my clients, while being set to the correct IP address of the server, continued to say "No new update available." although they should see some, I opened the path to the 10.6 software catalogue in my browser:
http://192.168.3.112:8088/index-leopard.merged-1.sucatalog

There I found all URLs referncing files on the server to use a DNS name instead of the IP address 192.168.3.112 (at which the server actually is located).

I don't have a local DNS server running in our network, however I had configured the one on this Mac OS X 10.6.3 server some time ago but turned it off recently.

What can I do to make Software Update server use the IP address and not some DNS name that actually doesn't work. What could be misconfigured? Where is the place Software Update server looks for a DNS name to use instead of an IP address?

Thanks in advance for all your ideas!



satcomer
Apr 17, 2010, 06:52 PM
First take a look at this Apple document (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4030?viewlocale=en_US) ad also take a look at the OS X server blog AFP-Changing the world one server at a time (http://www.afp548.com/) because I think they might have a fix for your problem.

Canubis
Apr 17, 2010, 08:47 PM
Hi satcomer, thanks for your reply!

I carefully read through the two pages you linked in your reply but all information I found seems to be based on the assumption I am running a DNS server on my Mac OS X server.

However, actually, if somehow possible, I'd like to keep things easy and stay away from configuring a DNS server and giving my Mac OS X server a domain name. Still I'd like to use Software Update server and make it use my Mac OS X server's IP address instead of some DNS-name.

jcesl2
Sep 19, 2010, 05:16 AM
Canubis- did you ever figure this out? I'm having the same problem. It will provide updates to itself, but not the 2 other computers on the network. Says there are no updates even though they need updates. And I don't have DNS configured on the server. Thanks

assembled
Sep 20, 2010, 07:53 PM
The easy fix is to use DNS

The hard fix is to change the way that the software is meant to be used, without support from the vendor, unless you want to pay them $$$$

Take your pick

jcesl2
Sep 22, 2010, 01:22 AM
Well, that was easy. The second DNS was on and the workstation was pointed to it, updates were available.

Thanks for the push to just configure DNS.

chrfr
Sep 22, 2010, 08:34 AM
Most of Mac OS X Server doesn't work as it should without DNS properly configured.