PDA

View Full Version : Runcore 64GB Firware Update 1819 to 1916 Help Requested




neilmay
Apr 19, 2010, 01:16 PM
I've attempted to update my Runcore 64GB SSD (RCP-IC-ZA1864-C) to FW 1916 yet continue to receive a "Firmware Download Fail - Bye" error:

PN-14086404 SN-640911030553

I've used the Crucial boot CD edited with UltraISO to slipstream the applicable executable supplied by Runcore (thanks to MacRumors Forum members for this boot methodology).

Runcore's tweaktown forums (their official support) has not helped me. Email to support@runcore.com has also not even responded even after an indication from support in the tweaktown forum that my Intel die SSD needs a special executable not supplied w/1916 version.

I've experienced degraded performance and need 1916 w/Trim and Garbage Collection.

Can anyone here help me?

Thanks very much in advance!!



jtamac
Apr 19, 2010, 03:55 PM
I also receive the same error when I try to install firmware on a 128GB SSD. I received the ISO from Runcore support, but the do not reply to any messages I send asking for assistance with this issue. Very disappointing.

Runcore
Apr 20, 2010, 11:05 AM
Just asked the support team to send me the full instructions and I will post them online. I also asked them why you guys have not heard back from them. Hope to have info tomorrow.

Matt Dawson
Runcore

neilmay
Apr 20, 2010, 03:15 PM
Thank you, Runcore!!

I bought this part from Runcore China for premium dollars yet the order was fulfilled from MDD, for your information.

I hope a reply is forthcoming.

Runcore
Apr 21, 2010, 03:33 PM
I did not get the info I needed they sent the FW but forgot the instructions for MBA owners.

Will try to talk directly to the support guy tonight.

BTW our resellers always handle the orders from RuncoreStore for a few reasons

#1 try charging a international credit card from China. It's not gona happen. I looked into it when I set that store up. We could not get an account unless it was in Hong Kong and that required us having a branch office in HK so that did not happen.

#2 The resellers deserve the sales as they are doing all of the leg work for us.

Matt

neilmay
Apr 21, 2010, 04:06 PM
Just to give you all the info possible, my username on tweaktown is milojonah.

I do not necessarily need instructions but a proper executable to update my Intel die, 64GB as denoted by my PN. As described by support in tweaktown, the executable supplied with 1916 as they described will not work.

Thanks again for your help (and support!_)

darrellishere
Apr 21, 2010, 04:45 PM
I have not received any email support from Runcore, regarding the iso image firmware updates, or about the replacement of faulty USB board.

Why don't Runcore reply to their support emails???

Runcore
Apr 22, 2010, 01:49 PM
Good news guys I got the updater files and instructions. They are very clear and easy to follow. I will upload them ASAP and post a link.

Matt

Runcore
Apr 22, 2010, 01:51 PM
I have not received any email support from Runcore, regarding the iso image firmware updates, or about the replacement of faulty USB board.

Why don't Runcore reply to their support emails???

If you have an issue with a peace of Runcore hardware please go to the vendor you got it from and they will help you.

Matt

Runcore
Apr 22, 2010, 02:55 PM
FW upgrade tools and instructions are located here at the bottom of the Runcore intro page.

http://www.mydigitaldiscount.com/CategoryProductList.jsp?cat=Browse+By+Brand:RunCore

Will upload them to the Runcore US support page soon.

Matt

PsyD4Me
Apr 22, 2010, 07:57 PM
maybe its only me, but those instructions are so confusing.
I'll have to skip the update

neilmay
Apr 26, 2010, 11:24 AM
I've been away (from my Air) for a few days...

Thank you User Runcore for your prompt reply and solution.

I'll have a look at the dl later today.

jtamac
Apr 26, 2010, 12:20 PM
I still get the Firmware Download Fail error every time I try to update the firmware. Anyone able to get past this error?

I have the 128GB SSD - Part Number 14092800. I am using the IE2808.EXE file.

neilmay
Apr 30, 2010, 06:40 AM
The d/l does not help at all.... (?Why is there a screen capture app included?)

I do not need a method of booting my Rev A Air. The Crucial boot disk with the Runcore executables slipstreamed in works fine for me booting.

As described in the tweaktown forums, Runcore support indicated that I needed a different executable to update my firmware.

Matt, can you effectuate a return of my 1819 SSD so that I can receive an 1916 updated SSD?

As I said, I ordered from Runcore China for premium dollars yet was fullfilled from MDD. Can MDD sen me another?

I've attempted to get an RMA from Runcore China and have received no reply.

Maybe I should simply take the matter up with mu credit card company.

What a joke.

Frankae
Apr 30, 2010, 01:23 PM
The update worked perfectly for me, I don't know why you guys are having so much trouble. But just in case, I was able to get a hold of one of runcore's support reps very easily, so I am going to share his email:

seanjoo@runcore.com

I was able to boot up on my MBA using a superdrive and a custom ISO file with the proper firmware for my memory controller and everything works perfectly!

neilmay
May 8, 2010, 07:45 AM
Thank you Frankae. I contacted the support rep via email and received a quick response.

Even though he sent me an image (similar to all the images I created previously) my SSD was unable to be updated to 1916 from 1819. An RMA is already in process to replace the drive.

Thanks.

PsyD4Me
May 8, 2010, 09:32 AM
The update worked perfectly for me, I don't know why you guys are having so much trouble. But just in case, I was able to get a hold of one of runcore's support reps very easily, so I am going to share his email:

seanjoo@runcore.com

I was able to boot up on my MBA using a superdrive and a custom ISO file with the proper firmware for my memory controller and everything works perfectly!

which boot file did you burn onto the cd?