Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BJB Productions

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Nov 10, 2008
Hi,
Let me start out by saying I know I am a noob when it comes to dashcode. I'm just starting to get into programming, and I thought it would be fun to try and make my first widget.

So, basically, I have it setup so that when you click a button, a timer starts counting from zero. Each time you click the button, the counter resets, and starts over. Sounds easy, right? Haha, NOT for a NOOB. :rolleyes:

So what I have right is I assigned the button to "onclick" "start"
It then sends me to some code (see attached picture) that I cannot edit.

So..I'm really looking for someone who could help me out with the coding part. I'm also still am unsure as to how I should go about building my timer.

I know that is a lot to ask, but any help is much appreciated. Thanks for your time :)

Attachments

• Screen shot 2010-04-22 at 5.00.35 PM.png
    Screen shot 2010-04-22 at 5.00.35 PM.png
    45.6 KB · Views: 169

flyingturtle

macrumors regular
Apr 7, 2010
That's odd that you can't edit your js file.

Hmm looking at your screenshot, it says you are editing AppleAnimator.js. You can click on arrow by the "AppleAnimator.js" (located right above your text editing pane" and select a different file to edit. Not sure if that'll help.

When I made some test widgets, I had to a edit "main.js" file. I just created a function for the "onclick" event for my button in the Inspector window, as described in Apple's Dashboard tutorial,. Clicking on the "arrow" icon next to my function name in the Inspector brought up main.js and then I just wrote some simple JavaScript.

As for coding a timer, just use setInterval for the timer.

A pretty good tutorial on making a timer widget in DashCode is here.
http://www.1995again.com/blog/2009/7/28/building-a-timer-in-dashcode-a-tutorial.html

BJB Productions

macrumors 65816