PDA

View Full Version : Going to London




MajorTCS
Apr 23, 2010, 02:04 PM
What do I need to operate in London? Just an adapter? Or, a separate charger?



sandydlc
Apr 23, 2010, 02:07 PM
I was there last summer. I used a power strip and an adapter. Worked great.

MajorTCS
Apr 23, 2010, 02:34 PM
I am asking what I need for the iPad.

jaycie
Apr 23, 2010, 03:28 PM
hey major. i travel quite i bit so i bought an iphone 3gs European travel charger. obviously, it'll work with an ipad too.
here's the link http://www.thepocketsolution.com/PSI-57722/New+Apple+iPhone+3G+S+European+Travel+Charger.html

hope this helps and have fun in london!

decson
Apr 24, 2010, 01:54 AM
I imported my iPad and swapped the US plug for a UK one, works fine!

kultschar
Apr 24, 2010, 04:16 AM
Yup - just get an adapter or take off the 2 prong US plug (it slides off adapter) and slip on a 3 prong UK one (loads on ebay)

Love Apple for releasing products that have no power issues for diff countries!!

mullman
Apr 24, 2010, 09:10 AM
I've used this for years across many Apple laptops/iPods/iPhones.
Also compatible with the iPad brick.

http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB974ZM/A?fnode=MTY1NDA4NA&mco=MTA4NDYwMDk

omgitscro
Apr 24, 2010, 02:18 PM
hey major. i travel quite i bit so i bought an iphone 3gs European travel charger. obviously, it'll work with an ipad too.
here's the link http://www.thepocketsolution.com/PSI-57722/New+Apple+iPhone+3G+S+European+Travel+Charger.html

hope this helps and have fun in london!

Won't work with the iPad; at least, not entirely. iPad draws twice the amount of current. A better solution is a prong adaptor or Apple's travel kit.

barnetda
Apr 24, 2010, 04:02 PM
All you need is an adapter.

You can get them at the airport when you land at the duty free shops and wh smiths.

Wll cost roughly $5