PDA

View Full Version : Handbrake Subtitles Help!!!




Paratel
Apr 24, 2010, 08:48 PM
Okay I have ripped the movie 2012 and now I am having difficultly trying to get the subtitles setting right so when in certain parts of the movie like when they are speaking French, I'll know what the heck they are saying!! It shows them when playing the DVD but not when I handbrake it. Any help would be appreciated!!



REK
Apr 24, 2010, 09:11 PM
since you've already encoded it, your best bet would be to download the non-english only subtitle from a site like subscene.com
Then merge it into your encoded file with something like subler

Paratel
Apr 24, 2010, 09:18 PM
I am sure there has to be a setting that I'm not getting right.
I don't have a problem with re-encoding.

alehel
Apr 25, 2010, 01:27 AM
When encoding, go into the subtitles section, select english from the list and then tick all three boxes next to it "Forced Only", "Burned Inn" and "Default". This will burn subtitles for foreign audio into your movie.

If there is more than one subtitles track for english, you will have to watch the DVD in a player like VLC and find out which of them is the one you want, although, they will probably all work.

I do this for every movie I encode. If there isn't any foreign audio in the movie, nothing happens, if there is, I get subtitles. I often encode films that I havn't seen yet, so this extra security is nice to have.

Paratel
Apr 25, 2010, 08:23 AM
When encoding, go into the subtitles section, select english from the list and then tick all three boxes next to it "Forced Only", "Burned Inn" and "Default". This will burn subtitles for foreign audio into your movie.

If there is more than one subtitles track for english, you will have to watch the DVD in a player like VLC and find out which of them is the one you want, although, they will probably all work.

I do this for every movie I encode. If there isn't any foreign audio in the movie, nothing happens, if there is, I get subtitles. I often encode films that I havn't seen yet, so this extra security is nice to have.

Thanks alehel, That worked perfectly!!!

grantwolsey
Oct 17, 2010, 01:50 AM
When encoding, go into the subtitles section, select english from the list and then tick all three boxes next to it "Forced Only", "Burned Inn" and "Default". This will burn subtitles for foreign audio into your movie.

If there is more than one subtitles track for english, you will have to watch the DVD in a player like VLC and find out which of them is the one you want, although, they will probably all work.

I do this for every movie I encode. If there isn't any foreign audio in the movie, nothing happens, if there is, I get subtitles. I often encode films that I havn't seen yet, so this extra security is nice to have.

I've run into a similar problem. I have ripped my "Iron Man" blu-ray onto my mac via MakeMKV and I assume all the .srt files I need are somewhere within the .mkv file. I'm hoping to get the subtitles for when the terrorists are speaking their language (similar to the "French" problem the OP had) burned into the encode.
The only problem is there is no "list" of subtitles to select when I have the source .mkv file loaded into Handbrake, it just has "none" with a choice of "Foreign Audio Search - bitmap" when I click on the "none" to try and find options, so I guess there are none. Is this indicative of my not loading the .mkv file right for encode? Or is there something wrong with the .mkv itself that's causing it to show there are no subtitles and I'm wrong, the subtitles aren't in there? Thank you

petvas
Oct 17, 2010, 02:23 AM
I've run into a similar problem. I have ripped my "Iron Man" blu-ray onto my mac via MakeMKV and I assume all the .srt files I need are somewhere within the .mkv file. I'm hoping to get the subtitles for when the terrorists are speaking their language (similar to the "French" problem the OP had) burned into the encode.
The only problem is there is no "list" of subtitles to select when I have the source .mkv file loaded into Handbrake, it just has "none" with a choice of "Foreign Audio Search - bitmap" when I click on the "none" to try and find options, so I guess there are none. Is this indicative of my not loading the .mkv file right for encode? Or is there something wrong with the .mkv itself that's causing it to show there are no subtitles and I'm wrong, the subtitles aren't in there? Thank you

Handbrake doesn't support subtitles in mkv files.

BlackMangoTree
Oct 17, 2010, 02:45 AM
Handbrake doesn't support subtitles in mkv files.


The nightly build have supported subs in MKV files for ages.

There really is no reason to use the latest stable build it's inferior in every way.

You can find the lastest nightlies in the Handbrake forums.

grantwolsey
Oct 17, 2010, 02:48 AM
The nightly build have supported subs in MKV files for ages.

There really is no reason to use the latest stable build it's inferior in every way.

You can find the lastest nightlies in the Handbrake forums.

I was just about to ask that; I heard in another forum the nightly builds supported .mkv files but when I went to the link they put to download it I couldn't find any discernible download links; it was a bunch of crazy links I couldn't make out. Are there any direct links to the latest nightly build that would support .mkv subs?

petvas
Oct 17, 2010, 02:48 AM
The nightly build have supported subs in MKV files for ages.

There really is no reason to use the latest stable build it's inferior in every way.

You can find the lastest nightlies in the Handbrake forums.

Really? I downloaded the nightly build but still don't see any subtitles. I will check it again.

petvas
Oct 17, 2010, 02:50 AM
Just checked. You were right! That is a much needed feature.

grantwolsey
Oct 17, 2010, 02:52 AM
Any news on where I can find a direct link to the nightly I need? Thank you

I go to where it says to download them, here (https://build.handbrake.fr/) and it has a ton of options it looks like; I don't know where to click to download the one I need

EDIT: Nevermind; I think I found the right link

BlackMangoTree
Oct 17, 2010, 03:06 AM
Yea, the latest nightly build does many new tricks.

Excellent subtitle support now especially for SSA subtitles now you can burn them in and keep the original fonts and positions. Awesome for converting anime.

DTS and AAC 5.1 to AC3 is another fantastic feature for the Apple TV.

grantwolsey
Oct 17, 2010, 03:12 AM
That sounds awesome, but I just downloaded the Mac nightly build, installed it, loaded my Iron Man .mkv, but it still has no subtitles in the drop-down. I played the .mkv in VLC Player just to make sure it HAD subs, and it does. What is going wrong? Thanks

Ritsuka
Oct 17, 2010, 03:14 AM
HandBrake still does not support BluRay PGS Subtitles.

grantwolsey
Oct 17, 2010, 03:20 AM
Not to make you mad, but I have trouble differentiating subtitle types. So far I've heard .srt, .sup, and now the PGS I take it. I guess trying to take these subtitle files that I just now learned are PGS files out of my blu-ray rip .mkv is a futile endeavor, what ways can I get an "external .srt" as it says in HB to burn in to my encode? I try search engines but all they come up with are ghetto ones that are what looks like loose english translations from foreign-speaking users watching the movie

BlackMangoTree
Oct 17, 2010, 03:50 AM
This could help, http://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=14551

grantwolsey
Oct 17, 2010, 04:06 AM
Thanks BlackMangoTree, there was an interesting part in that post:

1. Decrypt/RIP blu-ray with AnyDVD HD
2. Use MakeMKV to find .mpls containing the actual movie.
3. Use tsdemuxer to demux the PGS subtitle file from movie (this is where you need to know which .mpls file references the movie)
4. Use BDSub2Sup to convert demuxed PGS subtitle file to .srt file - a tedious process
5. Convert AnyDVD HD ripped movie (in BDMV folder) to mkv with MakeMKV
6. Use AudioConverter to convert DTS track to AC3 - if necessary
7. Use Handbrake to convert MakeMKV file to AppleTV format - import .srt file for subtitles.

This process works ok mostly. Main caveat - NO forced subtitles. Minor caveats - spelling errors, word spacing errors. Basically errors of OCR and BDSub2Sup uses during conversion.

I believe this may be the main reason this may not work; like I said the first thing I'm trying to do here is burn FORCED SUBTITLES into the encode, i.e. Iron Man when the foreign dialogue of the terrorists is on.
I can't be the only one who's tried to attempt this on a mac; I'm just wondering where the workflow is that would allow me to successfully complete this WITH forced subs like I need. Can you (or anyone, for that matter) point me towards a source online that can help with that precise goal in mind? (Not that I don't appreciate the link and the advice; I definitely do. I'm just going crazy trying to do this one thing that keeps eluding me)

roidy
Oct 17, 2010, 04:12 AM
Not to make you mad, but I have trouble differentiating subtitle types. So far I've heard .srt, .sup, and now the PGS I take it. I guess trying to take these subtitle files that I just now learned are PGS files out of my blu-ray rip .mkv is a futile endeavor, what ways can I get an "external .srt" as it says in HB to burn in to my encode? I try search engines but all they come up with are ghetto ones that are what looks like loose english translations from foreign-speaking users watching the movie

Ok the 3 main types of subtitles are as follows:-

srt - These are subtitles that are stored in a text file.
vob - These are bitmap image based subtitles that are used on DVD's.
sup - Also known as PGS. These are also bitmap image based subs that are used on Blu-Ray's.

After ripping your Blu-Ray the resulting MKV file will contain sup subtitles, unfortunately Handbrake doesn't support sup subs from a MKV container. However the newer nigthly versions do support vob subs from an MKV container so what you need to do is extract the sup subs from the MKV, convert them to vob subs and then put the new subs back into the MKV file. After that Handbrake will read and encode the vob subs from the MVK.

This tutorial will show you how:-
http://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=16784

roidy
Oct 17, 2010, 04:17 AM
Thanks BlackMangoTree, there was an interesting part in that post:

1. Decrypt/RIP blu-ray with AnyDVD HD
2. Use MakeMKV to find .mpls containing the actual movie.
3. Use tsdemuxer to demux the PGS subtitle file from movie (this is where you need to know which .mpls file references the movie)
4. Use BDSub2Sup to convert demuxed PGS subtitle file to .srt file - a tedious process
5. Convert AnyDVD HD ripped movie (in BDMV folder) to mkv with MakeMKV
6. Use AudioConverter to convert DTS track to AC3 - if necessary
7. Use Handbrake to convert MakeMKV file to AppleTV format - import .srt file for subtitles.

This process works ok mostly. Main caveat - NO forced subtitles. Minor caveats - spelling errors, word spacing errors. Basically errors of OCR and BDSub2Sup uses during conversion.


As far as I know BDSup2Sub(AFAIK BDSub2Sup doesn't exist and it's a spelling error) does not convert any type of subtitles to srt format, it contains no OCR functions at all and I think that tutorial is just wrong.

grantwolsey
Oct 17, 2010, 04:21 AM
I hate to say it, but I've been to that post and read through the entire process multiple times, thinking it might be just the thing I'm looking for. I even said "Okay, this is Windows stuff, but hey, I have Fusion; Why don't I install all that stuff on my virtual machine and run the whole thing from there?"

So I DID that, installed Clown_BD and BDSubToSub and all that, and it didn't work; Clown couldn't show the options to "force subs" like it shows in the second image down on that post. It didn't give me any of those options whatsoever. So I was stuck; I figured: "There's got to be an OS X version of this Clown_BD that does exactly what the Windows Program does..." But I haven't found one yet. If I did that, I'm pretty sure I could burn the forced subs into my HandBrake encode in the ingenious way you suggested. Any Mac way on how to extract the forced .sup's out?

grantwolsey
Oct 17, 2010, 04:26 AM
As far as I know BDSup2Sub(AFAIK BDSub2Sup doesn't exist and it's a spelling error) does not convert any type of subtitles to srt format, it contains no OCR functions at all and I think that tutorial is just wrong.

You're probably right, but like I said above I never even got past the Clown_BD step of extracting the .sup's I needed to convert, much less getting to the stage of actually converting them with whatever SupToSub or such program was out there.
I refer to my previous question: Are there any programs a Mac user could utilize to get the .sup's out of a blu-ray ripped .mkv? Thank you

roidy
Oct 17, 2010, 04:27 AM
Do you have AnyDVD running? if not rip the Blu-Ray with MakeMKV and open the resulting MKV file with Clown_BD.

If you want to do it nativaly under OSX then try the following(I don't have a MAC so don't know if it will work):-

1. Use MakeMKV to rip Blu-Ray
2. Use MKVToolnix to extract the sup forced subtitle stream
3. Use BDSup2Sub to convert the sup subs from step 2 into vob subs
4. Use MKVToolnix (MKVMerge) to re-mux the vob subs back into the MKV file
5. Encode the file using Handbrake(Nightly version that supports vob subs from an MKV), under the subtitles tab in Handbrake select your new vob subs and check burned-in.

grantwolsey
Oct 17, 2010, 04:44 AM
It's actually kind of funny; once I read your steps of what to do I went and downloaded MKVToolnix and BDSuptoSub to immediately see if they'd work. I opened up MKVToolnix and loaded my ripped .mkv file, and it immediately populated the program with all the subtitle options in the .mkv.
Since it wasn't in a 1 thru 11 sequential order like it showed when I played the file in VLC Player I just selected all the subtitle files and set the destination output folder to my desktop and hit "start muxing!" Is that the right way so far? Once this "IronMan (1).mkv" on my desktop is finished will that be what I need to move on converting the subtitle files via BDSuptoSub?

BlackMangoTree
Oct 17, 2010, 04:52 AM
How does MkvTools go at reading bluray subs ?

grantwolsey
Oct 17, 2010, 04:57 AM
If you're asking me I'm not sure but it seems to be doing at least SOMEthing with my blu-ray rip (which is a lot more than I can say for the many methods I've used up til now) 3 mins to go then there's another (?) .mkv file on my desktop that I'm assuming I'll be able to put into BDSuptoSub as per Roidy's instructions (Is that right, Roidy?)

roidy
Oct 17, 2010, 04:58 AM
Yep, once you've got all the sup files extracted you just need to figure out which is the forced one, it will probably be the one with the smallest file size, you can also open it with BDSup2Sub to make sure its the right one.

Another easy way is when you rip your Blu-Ray with MakeMKV, uncheck all the subtitles except the forced ones. This will then only include the forced ones in the MKV file.

How does MkvTools go at reading bluray subs ?

All MKVTools does is extract the streams from an MKV file, what you do with those streams is then upto you.

grantwolsey
Oct 17, 2010, 05:01 AM
It didn't give me any .sup files, it just created what seems like a duplicate of my .mkv file on my desktop, what did I miss?

grantwolsey
Oct 17, 2010, 05:06 AM
It finished "muxing", I guess, and it doesn't appear to have given me any .sup files on my desktop (which I set as the output folder) It just appears to have created a lesser-quality duplicate of my original .mkv file where I thought it was going to have the .sup files. What did I do wrong?

roidy
Oct 17, 2010, 05:06 AM
Not sure, give me half an hour or so and I'm going to rip my IronMan Blu-ray and follow along and see if we can't figure it out.

grantwolsey
Oct 17, 2010, 05:09 AM
My browser crashed and I thought the comment didn't go through but it did so disregard my last one I guess. That would be awesome; I figure if I can figure out how to do this with this one raw blu-ray rip of Iron Man I can do it with all the movies I have with forced subs. Let me know when you're ready to go ahead with that, thanks.

BlackMangoTree
Oct 17, 2010, 05:41 AM
All MKVTools does is extract the streams from an MKV file, what you do with those streams is then upto you.


It can't read them and burn them into the video ?

I'll have to try it out latter when i get a chance.

roidy
Oct 17, 2010, 05:45 AM
It can't read them and burn them into the video ?

I'll have to try it out latter when i get a chance.

No, it's just a muxer/demuxer for extracting and inserting tracks into a mkv file.

My browser crashed and I thought the comment didn't go through but it did so disregard my last one I guess. That would be awesome; I figure if I can figure out how to do this with this one raw blu-ray rip of Iron Man I can do it with all the movies I have with forced subs. Let me know when you're ready to go ahead with that, thanks.

Ok, I'm ready. First thing, do you know how to use the command line?

grantwolsey
Oct 17, 2010, 05:46 AM
The command line? is this in MKVToolnix we're talking about?

roidy
Oct 17, 2010, 05:58 AM
The command line? is this in MKVToolnix we're talking about?

No, sorry but just asking that means you don't know what the command line is or how to use it.

Ok lets go back to the Clown_BD method. Open Clown_BD and then open your IronMan.mkv file:-
256077
Notice I've checked the Force Subtitles option, now press next:-

256078
Make sure the video, english audio and all the english subtitle tracks are checked. Then press next and wait.

Let me know when you've got this far:D

grantwolsey
Oct 17, 2010, 06:05 AM
In my VMWare Fusion Windows where I installed Clown it can't find the IronMan.mkv at all. This might be because it was ripped onto my Mac Desktop, but I tried transferring to the windows desktop via a USB external hard drive but it was unsuccessful. So if I can't get Clown to load the .mkv, what do I do?

ugh. I got clown to find ironman.mkv by browsing for it, but it just opens Windows media player instead of doing anything

roidy
Oct 17, 2010, 06:10 AM
I don't understand, opening a mkv in Clown_BD shouldn't launch a media player:confused:

It should be as easy as runnning Clown_BD, press the browse button and locate your mkv file.

grantwolsey
Oct 17, 2010, 06:14 AM
I don't either, I'm not too versed in Windows but thought we were going to try a way to do it natively in OS X? With MKVToolnix to BDSuptoSub and all of that

roidy
Oct 17, 2010, 06:18 AM
I don't either, I'm not too versed in Windows but thought we were going to try a way to do it natively in OS X? With MKVToolnix to BDSuptoSub and all of that

Inorder to use the MKVToolnix method you need to know how to use OSX command line, can you use the command line?

grantwolsey
Oct 17, 2010, 06:22 AM
If you're referring to typing commands into Terminal, I've done that before yes

roidy
Oct 17, 2010, 06:31 AM
Ok, fire up a terminal and lets get started:D

I'll give you the Windows command line versions and it's upto you to convert them to the mac equivalent.

1. use mkvmerge to get the track info.

mkvmerge -i ironman.mkv

You'll need to supply the correct location of your mkv file

This will output the following:-
File 'f:\ironman.mkv': container: M
Track ID 1: video (V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC)
Track ID 2: audio (A_AC3)
Track ID 3: audio (A_AC3)
Track ID 4: audio (A_AC3)
Track ID 5: subtitles (S_HDMV/PGS)
Track ID 7: subtitles (S_HDMV/PGS)
Track ID 9: subtitles (S_HDMV/PGS)
Track ID 11: subtitles (S_HDMV/PGS)
Track ID 13: subtitles (S_HDMV/PGS)
Track ID 15: subtitles (S_HDMV/PGS)
Track ID 16: subtitles (S_HDMV/PGS)
Track ID 17: subtitles (S_HDMV/PGS)
Track ID 18: subtitles (S_HDMV/PGS)
Track ID 19: subtitles (S_HDMV/PGS)
Track ID 20: subtitles (S_HDMV/PGS)
Chapters: 15 entries

This wont tell you which track is the english forced one. Next time you rip your Blu-Ray only select the english forced track to make thing much easier.

grantwolsey
Oct 17, 2010, 06:36 AM
It looks like my IronMan.mkv file didn't survive the trip from the "Shared Items" folder, I can't find it anywhere on my Mac or in the Windows virtual machine. Is it alright if I PM you when I have it ripped again? I've been going at this for hours and really appreciate all the help and advice, thanks

roidy
Oct 17, 2010, 06:38 AM
It looks like my IronMan.mkv file didn't survive the trip from the "Shared Items" folder, I can't find it anywhere on my Mac or in the Windows virtual machine. Is it alright if I PM you when I have it ripped again? I've been going at this for hours and really appreciate all the help and advice, thanks

Sure, but to make things much easier next time when you rip it only rip the forced subtitle tracks.

grantwolsey
Oct 17, 2010, 06:39 AM
Definitely will, thanks. Look forward to talking to you once I have that rip I need again

BlackMangoTree
Oct 17, 2010, 11:47 AM
No, it's just a muxer/demuxer for extracting and inserting tracks into a mkv file.

Mkvtools, can encode video and burn subs or mux subs into the video. It burns srt wich Handbrake can't.

It produces great results and is a lot easier to use than handbrake.

I was just wondering if it could read the subs from BluRay rips make with MakeMkv

roidy
Oct 17, 2010, 12:08 PM
If your talking about MKVTools formally known as MoKgVm2DVD from this site:-

http://www.emmgunn.com./mokgvm2dvd/mokgvmhome.html

Then we're talking about two different tools, as we're discussing MKVToolnix which is a demuxer/remuxer and has absolutely no encoding capability what so ever.

BlackMangoTree
Oct 17, 2010, 12:31 PM
Yea, i was talking about Mkvtools.

I havent got any files i can test it with to see if it reads subs from makemkv bluray rips, thats why i asked here.

Maybe i should email the developer.

roidy
Oct 17, 2010, 12:34 PM
Yep, I've never used it as it's Mac only, but looking at the site it says nothing about Blu-Ray sup subtitles so I doubt it. I think the best you could expect it to do is extract the subtitles so you can manually convert them using BDSup2Sub.

misterasset
Dec 11, 2010, 09:21 PM
No, sorry but just asking that means you don't know what the command line is or how to use it.

Ok lets go back to the Clown_BD method. Open Clown_BD and then open your IronMan.mkv file:-
Notice I've checked the Force Subtitles option, now press next:-

Make sure the video, english audio and all the english subtitle tracks are checked. Then press next and wait.

Let me know when you've got this far:D

roidy,

I used my rip of Iron Man, followed your exact Clown_BD settings and I don't get the "forced subtitles" show up when I run it through. Any help?

Actually, I remuxed it back into a M2TS again. Could that be the problem? Is there a way to make Media Player or Media Center play the forced subtitles. I know this is a Mac forum but you seemed to have Windows experience earlier.

Thanks,
Chris