Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

California

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Aug 21, 2004
Sorry if this is a redundant question but how do you boot off a MBA superdrive.. does the disc show up on the desktop and you just choose to install it? I don't get what is happening internally on an Air.

I've never tried booting off USB before, in all my years on Mac, including the time I tried, but failed to boot off USB on a 1998 iMac G3 with no firewire.

MBA's have some superior USB power, right?

spinnerlys

Sep 7, 2008
forlod bygningen
Intel Macs are able to boot from USB, so while the SuperDrive is connected, either choose the inserted bootable media as boot device in System Preferences > Startup Disk or press C during startup to boot from the SD or use OPTION to show all bootable devices connected to the Mac.

Scottsdale

Suspended
Sep 19, 2008
U.S.A.
Press and hold the [option] key while booting. I know it was mentioned above but a little vague.

Good luck.

PsyD4Me

macrumors 6502a
Mar 11, 2009
under your bed
I boot it to use disk warrior, for that I think I hold down D while booting. I actually use the SuperDrive quite often to burn DVDs as well

California

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Aug 21, 2004
So that means if you swap out an ATA hard drive in the Apple Superdrive case -- the Apple optical drives are PATA or ATA -- you can boot off an ATA hard drive externally?

Archon Gold

macrumors 6502
Jun 7, 2009
Canada, Ontario
So that means if you swap out an ATA hard drive in the Apple Superdrive case, you can boot off an ATA hard drive externally?

I have seen a mod where someone did that before, but I remember that it required either a new different board or some modifications to the original one, I'm not sure if it was even bootable.

Why not go to futureshop and get a $20 Hard drive enclosure?