Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

t1buccaneer

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 7, 2010
The context: I am making a piece of multimedia theatre. For this, a performer and an audience member are able to have a text-based I.M conversation using two macbooks in the space.

The question: I need the two users to chat without internet. I know that two macbooks can chat via bonjour on ichat, but while this is perfect technically, the speech bubbles are not the right look. I am looking for an aesthetic more similar to a terminal/telnet window, no frills, just say your sentence and wait for the reply.

I thought maybe there was a way of creating your own chatroom using a local network, but I'm no computer expert and am hitting (virtual) brick walls everywhere. Perhaps there is also a way of doing this via bluetooth?

PS. To make matters worse, there's no budget left, so I'm limited to freeware generally.

Thankyou!

RedTomato

macrumors 601
Mar 4, 2005
.. London ..
Adium works through the internet. Not sure if it will work via local network with no internet access (if I understand the OP correctly)

You have to set up a local network either via wifi (Create Network) or just by connecting the two computers with an ethernet cable.

Then turn on screen sharing on the laptops (in System Preferences / Sharing). One will be the host, and share the screen with the other one.

When you get it working, you can then open up TextEdit or Terminal and type away and it will show on both screens.

An alternative is to use TeamViewer to share screens. It's free for non-commercial use. Download it to the two macs, and test it first with internet access to get a feel for it. It's really easy!

To use without internet access, make sure you turn on 'Accept connections from LAN' in TeamViewer preferences.

calderone

Cancelled
Aug 28, 2009