PDA

View Full Version : iMac G5- uh oh


rdowns
Oct 1, 2004, 05:44 PM
Had my iMac G5 since Monday and all was fine. Popped in a 512MB Crucial via Newegg stick. System recognized the RAM and then a kernal panic about a half hour later. Could be the RAM but Entourage X has been unexpectedly quitting a lot. Decided to run extended h/w test from Apple CD. Been running for 40 minutes now and fans have been blowing full bore the whole time. Very noisy. Fans have not kicked in all week before this. Kind of frustrated now.

Edit:

test took 49 minutes and it reports all is well. Rebooted and Entourage quits on launch. Went to renew .Mac and kernal panic. Sigh, must be the RAM. Will let it cool down and remove it.

How is newegg with returns?

musicpyrite
Oct 1, 2004, 06:08 PM
I believe NewEgg charges a 10% restocking fee if you want you money back.

Try and trade in the RAM for a new stick, I don't think there is a charge for that. (maybe shipping though)

Laslo Panaflex
Oct 1, 2004, 06:26 PM
Try this ram tester called rember:

http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/24508

It is a GUI version of a UNIX command line code that checks your memory.

If you talk to newegg and tell then that the ram is bad, you should be able to trade it for the exact same ram, free of charge. Hopefully the new stick will work. I am interested though if the ram is indeed bad.

rdowns
Oct 1, 2004, 06:38 PM
Try this ram tester called rember:

http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/24508

It is a GUI version of a UNIX command line code that checks your memory.

If you talk to newegg and tell then that the ram is bad, you should be able to trade it for the exact same ram, free of charge. Hopefully the new stick will work. I am interested though if the ram is indeed bad.

I pulled the RAM and all is fine. The 512 stick Apple put in my machine is from Hynix? Who the hell are they? Never heard of it. Now what?

Elan0204
Oct 1, 2004, 06:51 PM
Now what?

Try contacting Crucial directly to see what they say when you tell them you have defective RAM. Since you just want to exchange it, you may be able to go through them instead of NewEgg. Also contact NewEgg to see how you can get a replacement chip. I've never had to return or replace anything with them, so I don't know how the process goes.


By the way, when you boot off the Apple Hardware Test CD, the fans always run at full speed. The CD does not contain the drivers necessary to regulate the fans, so a a precaution they run at full speed. Loud, isn't it? :eek:

Also, the extended test takes a very long time, and gets longer with added memory. I think mine took nearly an hour for 1GB of RAM, and reports on the Apple Discussion Board say that it takes about 1 hour and 50 minutes if you have a full 2GB.

rdowns
Oct 1, 2004, 06:58 PM
Try contacting Crucial directly to see what they say when you tell them you have defective RAM. Since you just want to exchange it, you may be able to go through them instead of NewEgg. Also contact NewEgg to see how you can get a replacement chip. I've never had to return or replace anything with them, so I don't know how the process goes.


By the way, when you boot off the Apple Hardware Test CD, the fans always run at full speed. The CD does not contain the drivers necessary to regulate the fans, so a a precaution they run at full speed. Loud, isn't it? :eek:

Also, the extended test takes a very long time, and gets longer with added memory. I think mine took nearly an hour for 1GB of RAM, and reports on the Apple Discussion Board say that it takes about 1 hour and 50 minutes if you have a full 2GB.

Good idea, I requested ands received an RMA online from Newegg but will also contact Crucial.

Man, those fans were loud. Freaked me out but still let test run its course.

BTW, Apple put a Hynix (who the hell are these guys) stick in as standard RAM. Has me scratching my head.

Dont Hurt Me
Oct 1, 2004, 07:02 PM
Hey Rdowns sorry to hear about your memory problems you will have to do a review of your machine one of these days. anyways thanks again for the literature. good thing its only memory.

rdowns
Oct 1, 2004, 07:15 PM
Hey Rdowns sorry to hear about your memory problems you will have to do a review of your machine one of these days. anyways thanks again for the literature. good thing its only memory.

No need for a review, couldn't really add anything to the dozens of others posted. It's gorgeous, fast, screen is amazing and a big step up from my other 2 Macs (a G3/600 iMac was main computer and also have a G3/900 iBook).

Sorry to see you went Alienware but I understand you're a gamer and even if you waited, the video card in the iMac is lacking there.

Elan0204
Oct 1, 2004, 07:17 PM
BTW, Apple put a Hynix (who the hell are these guys) stick in as standard RAM. Has me scratching my head.

Hynix is a company that makes RAM. Here's a link (http://www.hynix.com/eng/products/dram/index.jsp) for you.

What is it doing in your RAM slot? You ordered a 512MB stick of RAM from Apple, and that is what they gave you. You have nothing to worry about. Other people have reported getting Hynix RAM, too. And, you should be happy about it too, as people have reported success in getting a 128 bit bus when pairing a Crucial chip with their Hynix chip. Unlike what I got when pairing a Crucial/Micron chip with the Micron chip I got from Apple. Go figure... :(

Let us know if you call Crucial. I'd be interested to hear how their exchange process works, especially when you buy Crucial memory from someone other than them. I'd be especially interested in whether or not they cross-ship the RAM, and if you are expected to cover shipping costs to return the faulty memory.

Dont Hurt Me
Oct 1, 2004, 07:27 PM
No need for a review, couldn't really add anything to the dozens of others posted. It's gorgeous, fast, screen is amazing and a big step up from my other 2 Macs (a G3/600 iMac was main computer and also have a G3/900 iBook).

Sorry to see you went Alienware but I understand you're a gamer and even if you waited, the video card in the iMac is lacking there.Glad you got a nice machine. Macs do make the experience better but on the gaming side the door is open for PCs. I walked into a local store and bought Doom3 and they had everything you could want. not at all like the Macworld in the SouthEastern US. Mail order,Mail order etc. Nothing like a new machine hey? OH by the way this Aurora has dual channel memory @ 400 mhz. cool eh?

rdowns
Oct 1, 2004, 07:58 PM
Hynix is a company that makes RAM. Here's a link (http://www.hynix.com/eng/products/dram/index.jsp) for you.

What is it doing in your RAM slot? You ordered a 512MB stick of RAM from Apple, and that is what they gave you. You have nothing to worry about. Other people have reported getting Hynix RAM, too. And, you should be happy about it too, as people have reported success in getting a 128 bit bus when pairing a Crucial chip with their Hynix chip. Unlike what I got when pairing a Crucial/Micron chip with the Micron chip I got from Apple. Go figure... :(

Let us know if you call Crucial. I'd be interested to hear how their exchange process works, especially when you buy Crucial memory from someone other than them. I'd be especially interested in whether or not they cross-ship the RAM, and if you are expected to cover shipping costs to return the faulty memory.

How can you tell if you have a 128 bit bus? I didn't see anything in system profiler.

QCassidy352
Oct 1, 2004, 08:03 PM
I don't understand this whole 64 vs. 128 bit bus thing that has come up with the new imac. does it really matter? Is it an issue with the G5 powermacs as well? :confused:

Elan0204
Oct 1, 2004, 08:05 PM
How can you tell if you have a 128 bit bus? I didn't see anything in system profiler.

Two ways that I know of:

1) There is something you can type in the terminal which reports back with a string of zereos followed by a 1 or a 2, which tells you if it is 64 or 128 bit. You don't really need to concern yourself with that though, as you can just run the Applescript I have attached to test it for you. I didn't write the script, it came from MacBidouille.

2) The Apple Hardware Test CD has an information section. If you look at the detailed information about your memory you can figure out if you have a 128 bit memory bus. If in the information is says something like "Paired with DIMM..." then you have a 128 bit bus. Each DIMM will report that it is paired with the other, and that is how you know if it 128. If you see no mention of pairing, then it is 64 bit.

Elan0204
Oct 1, 2004, 08:13 PM
I don't understand this whole 64 vs. 128 bit bus thing that has come up with the new imac. does it really matter? Is it an issue with the G5 powermacs as well? :confused:

Based on the currently available xbench scores, there is a significant performace boost if the iMac is running with a 128 bit memory bus versus a 64 bit bus. The scores show that an iMac with 1GB of matched memory (128 bit bus) easily beats an iMac with 1.25GB of unmatched memory (64 bit bus). Here is a link (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=1056723#post1056723) to the test results I posted in another thread.

This is not an issue with the PowerMac G5 because the memory bus can only run at 128 bits. All RAM MUST be installed in pairs or it won't run.

mmmdreg
Oct 1, 2004, 08:31 PM
Slightly off topic but what's the difference between PC100-222S and PC133-333... Because I got 2 sticks of RAM in this old iMac and yeah..

mojohanna
Oct 1, 2004, 10:24 PM
rdowns,
I had similar problems with my power mac G5. kernal panic, locking up, forcing me to restart, fans blowing at full speed. It finally came down to the computer just not booting up. It turned out to be a bad logic board. Apple replaced it, but sounds very similar to what your problems are. I would venture to guess that the logic boards for the imac and PM are made by the same supplier. They could be producing duds every once in a while.

Elan0204
Oct 1, 2004, 10:27 PM
rdowns,
I had similar problems with my power mac G5. kernal panic, locking up, forcing me to restart, fans blowing at full speed. It finally came down to the computer just not booting up. It turned out to be a bad logic board. Apple replaced it, but sounds very similar to what your problems are. I would venture to guess that the logic boards for the imac and PM are made by the same supplier. They could be producing duds every once in a while.

I'd say it is pretty clear that the problem was faulty RAM. The kernal panics went away as soon as the RAM was removed, and started after it had been put in. Additionally, the fan issue he mentons is when booting from the Apple Hardware Test CD. When booting from the CD, the iMac G5s' fans run at full speed because it oesn't have the drivers needed to control the fans. When booting from the internal HD, there are no fan problems.

rdowns
Oct 2, 2004, 09:01 AM
I'd say it is pretty clear that the problem was faulty RAM. The kernal panics went away as soon as the RAM was removed, and started after it had been put in. Additionally, the fan issue he mentons is when booting from the Apple Hardware Test CD. When booting from the CD, the iMac G5s' fans run at full speed because it doesn't have the drivers needed to control the fans. When booting from the internal HD, there are no fan problems.

The RAM was the problem. No issues since removing it.

wrldwzrd89
Oct 2, 2004, 09:21 AM
If the Apple Hardware Test CD said everything's fine, then I suspect one of two RAM-related problems as the root cause:

1. The RAM was intermittently faulty - a replacement chip WILL fix the problem if this is the case, and it is the most likely cause.
2. The RAM was somehow not compatible with the RAM already in the iMac - a replacement chip WILL NOT fix the problem in this situation, and my advice would be to check the RAM specs carefully and make sure they match when you get a new chip.

TheGimp
Oct 2, 2004, 09:57 AM
Try this ram tester called rember:

http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/24508

It is a GUI version of a UNIX command line code that checks your memory.

If you talk to newegg and tell then that the ram is bad, you should be able to trade it for the exact same ram, free of charge. Hopefully the new stick will work. I am interested though if the ram is indeed bad.


I just ran a 1 loop test of most of my REV A Dual 1.8's ram, and got the following message:

Solid Bits : setting 0FAILURE: 0xefffffff != 0xffffffff at offset 0x017463a5.

All other tests reported an "ok". Should I be worried? Are you knowledgeable enough to say so? Of my 2GB total ram, 1.5 GB is Apple, and 0.5GB is "PNY Technologies Optima Memory" which I scarfed at CompUSA once, when I had a late night craving for some RAM.

BTW- Your avatar looks kinda gay - NOT that there's anything wrong with that! :)

hcuar
Oct 2, 2004, 10:04 AM
\

All other tests reported an "ok". Should I be worried? Are you knowledgeable enough to say so? Of my 2GB total ram, 1.5 GB is Apple, and 0.5GB is "PNY Technologies Optima Memory" which I scarfed at CompUSA once, when I had a late night craving for some RAM.

:)

Ok... Yes... It's bad. RAM should never, ever fail!

Psychic Shopper
Oct 2, 2004, 10:11 AM
I pulled the RAM and all is fine. The 512 stick Apple put in my machine is from Hynix? Who the hell are they? Never heard of it. Now what?
I had the exact same problem with my 1.6 G5 tower, I removed the apple supplied hynix ram and filled out the slots with all the same kind of ram and it works fine. DDR ram is very sensitive.

Elan0204
Oct 5, 2004, 03:51 PM
rdowns,

How did the echange process go? Did you get a new chip from NewEgg or Crucial? Did you contact Crucial at all, and if so, what did they tell you?

rdowns
Oct 5, 2004, 07:05 PM
rdowns,

How did the echange process go? Did you get a new chip from NewEgg or Crucial? Did you contact Crucial at all, and if so, what did they tell you?

Never called Crucial. Requested an RMA online form Newegg and shipped it to them Saturday. Hmm...

Just checked the status, they haven't received it yet.

Elan0204
Oct 5, 2004, 08:14 PM
Never called Crucial. Requested an RMA online form Newegg and shipped it to them Saturday. Hmm...

Just checked the status, they haven't received it yet.

Did they require you to cover the cost of the return postage? What about the cost of shipping the replacement to you?

rdowns
Oct 6, 2004, 03:54 AM
Did they require you to cover the cost of the return postage? What about the cost of shipping the replacement to you?

Didn't ask. I paid to ship it back ($6) and have no intention of paying shipping to me. If it is still a problem, I will get credit card company involved.

WCat
Oct 6, 2004, 04:02 AM
Never called Crucial. Requested an RMA online form Newegg and shipped it to them Saturday. Hmm...

Just checked the status, they haven't received it yet.

Just an FYI for those interested in RAM: Crucial does not make RAM. PNY does not make RAM. CompUSA's house-branded RAM sticks and DIMM's are also not made by them. They're probably made by a no-name Taiwanese, Malaysian, Thai, Korean or Chinese manufacturer. That's not to say there's anything wrong with DIMM's made in those countries--most electronics are made there these days.

Companies like Crucial get theirs from many of the same suppliers as the others, but add value (and cost) by attaching better warranties or service to the product. They may also hold the manufacturer to higher standards in terms of yield or require more thorough testing. That's a good thing. They might require burn-in testing at elevated temperatures where others might skip that step, and that will make a difference in the likelihood that you'll receive good memory. It costs you a few bucks more, but you get piece of mind and less hassle (well, usually).

Apple does not manufacture its own RAM sticks. It also sources from some of the same manufacturers, but definitely requires higher standards and testing before they receive it. You pay more for it, and my opinion is that it's usually worth it. I've fixed more than just a few computers by pulling bad no-name RAM sticks bought at the lowest prices. Mac's are just a likely to be rendered useless by crummy RAM as any other PC's are.

RAM chips are made by companies like Hynix (which is a very well-known company in the RAM semi business), Samsung, Micron, Infineon, etc. Since we consumers don't buy stuff directly from them, we might not be as familiar with the names. Micron is the only home-grown US manufacturer left (Boise, Idaho). Names people might expect--TI, Intel, Motorola--have all left the heavily commoditized DRAM business.


Cheers,

WCat

Finiksa
Oct 6, 2004, 04:36 AM
Just an FYI for those interested in RAM: Crucial does not make RAM.

* snip *

Companies like Crucial get theirs from many of the same suppliers as the others,

* snip *

RAM chips are made by companies like Hynix (which is a very well-known company in the RAM semi business), Samsung, Micron, Infineon, etc.
Crucial is a division of Micron, they're the same company. Crucial only uses Micron components.

MacinDoc
Oct 6, 2004, 05:33 AM
Try contacting Crucial directly to see what they say when you tell them you have defective RAM. Since you just want to exchange it, you may be able to go through them instead of NewEgg. Also contact NewEgg to see how you can get a replacement chip. I've never had to return or replace anything with them, so I don't know how the process goes.


By the way, when you boot off the Apple Hardware Test CD, the fans always run at full speed. The CD does not contain the drivers necessary to regulate the fans, so a a precaution they run at full speed. Loud, isn't it? :eek:

Also, the extended test takes a very long time, and gets longer with added memory. I think mine took nearly an hour for 1GB of RAM, and reports on the Apple Discussion Board say that it takes about 1 hour and 50 minutes if you have a full 2GB.
Yes, with a 250 MB HD and 2 GB of RAM, that test took just over 1 hr 50 min on my iMac. And I agree, the fans were surprisingly loud - made me appreciate how quietly they normally run. For a while, though, I was wondering if my iMac thought the presence of an AirPort card meant it was supposed to fly!

rdowns
Oct 16, 2004, 07:03 AM
Newegg sent replacement Crucial stick a few days ago. Popped it in about half hour ago and all is well. New stick had 8 chips on one side just like the stock stick. The earlier stick had chips on both sides, maybe that was the problem. System seems a bit peppier but who knows. The testbusG5us Applescript reports 64 bit but I really don't care. I will still try to swap sticks when my assistant gets his iMac to achieve 128 bit.

mrzippy
Nov 1, 2004, 09:39 AM
Crucial is a division of Micron, they're the same company. Crucial only uses Micron components.

I have purchased Crucial memory (direct via crucial.com/uk) PC2700, and it had Samsung chips, this was a couple of years ago.

I thought previously Crucial only used Micron memory as it's the same company.