Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

CawdFour

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 18, 2010
Hello gents' This is my first time on the forum but I've been told by friends that they have found a great deal of help on here!

I have a G5 tower - dual 1.8GHz configuration. A few days back, it went from turning on, to turning on with a blinking LED. As luck would have it, my monitor also died (it was on it's way out) so I can't diagnose the problem. Here are some clues.

- With air-flow cover in place, fan's start up slow, then gradually increase to high speed.
- With air flow cover not in place, they start up at a medium speed. The fan in front of the PCI bays seems to be spinning up and slowing down over and over.
- When the cover is off, a red LED inside on the motherboard (about the same level where the power button is) lights up. When the cover is on, it goes dark.
- No start up chimes regardless.

If this is a lost cause, would it be possible to turn this beautiful case into a custom rig? I'm eyeing the back of the case, and it seems like it would be a difficult task, but I would like to see the old girl live on!

Cheers!

Rich

noodlemanc

macrumors regular
Mar 25, 2010
Australasia
Looks like its pretty dead. Try it with a working monitor though to make sure. If it still doesn't work, its dead. Using the case for another machine seems like a good idea, good luck with that!:D

CawdFour

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 18, 2010
Looks like its pretty dead. Try it with a working monitor though to make sure. If it still doesn't work, its dead. Using the case for another machine seems like a good idea, good luck with that!:D