Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dr0wzy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 19, 2010
Ok so I am having some trouble on starting to learn java. I am going to make a attempt at learning it but now I really need some help on just starting. Please understand that I am a youngin' (younger than 16) and I need some help to just start. Any links to any developing application's would be great. BTW This is my first post and I am running a Macbook pro (the one that is black).

qtx43

macrumors 6502a
Aug 4, 2007
"Thinking in Java" by Bruce Eckel is a nice book, and the previous edition is a free download. If you have specific, to the point, questions then stackoverflow.com is a nice website.

notjustjay

macrumors 603
Sep 19, 2003
Canada, eh?
Welcome. And, hey, everyone has to start somewhere. This forum is a good place to start. You'll see posts from everyone from total newbies to experienced programmers. And "experienced" means something different to everyone. For example, I've been programming in C++ and some Java for 10-15 years, but I still don't know a thing about Objective-C or programming for the Mac. One of these days I'll sit down and learn.

I think there are two "parts" to learning about programming. One is the entire concept of programming in the first place, and has nothing to do with the specific language you're learning. Some people "get" it faster than others. And as computers and operating systems continue to advance, there's more to "get" now than there was before. Back in the day, they taught flowcharts, which seems outdated now, but the concepts are still sound. Understand the concept of a computer program performing things step by step. Understand the concepts of functions, variables, conditionals, loops. The second part is, of course, the specifics of the language you're learning.