PDA

View Full Version : Would you be happy with these specs?




TSE
May 20, 2010, 09:27 PM
MacBook Air:

$1,299: Core i5 ULM 1.73ghz, 4 GB RAM, Intel HD, 160gb HD
-8 hour battery life

$1,499: Core i5 ULM 1.73ghz, 4 GB RAM, nVidia 320M w/ switchable graphics, 128gb SSD
-7-8 hour battery life

$1,799: Core i7 ULM 2.0ghz, 4 GB RAM, nVidia 320M w/ switchable graphics, 256gb SSD
-7-8 hour battery life

Just wondering... the battery life is a total guess but I was just wondering if these specs seem reasonable/realistic?



masterpace
May 20, 2010, 09:33 PM
MacBook Air:

$1,299: Core i5 ULM 1.73ghz, 4 GB RAM, Intel HD, 160gb HD
-8 hour battery life

$1,499: Core i5 ULM 1.73ghz, 4 GB RAM, nVidia 320M w/ switchable graphics, 128gb SSD
-7-8 hour battery life

$1,799: Core i7 ULM 2.0ghz, 4 GB RAM, nVidia 320M w/ switchable graphics, 256gb SSD
-7-8 hour battery life

Just wondering... the battery life is a total guess but I was just wondering if these specs seem reasonable/realistic?


In your dreams...

.summerfree
May 21, 2010, 12:24 AM
NVIDIA isn't allowed to make chipsets for any iX chips, so no they're not realistic at all. We're most likely to see a similar C2D+320M combo like in the new Macbook and 13" MBP. 4GB of ram should happen, all though I won't be surprised if it doesn't. I personally would like to see the MBA get 7 hours, but it would mean having to incorporate a bigger battery, and a bigger battery means more weight.

Mhkobe
May 21, 2010, 12:33 AM
MacBook Air:

$1,299: Core i5 ULM 1.73ghz, 4 GB RAM, Intel HD, 160gb HD
-8 hour battery life

$1,499: Core i5 ULM 1.73ghz, 4 GB RAM, nVidia 320M w/ switchable graphics, 128gb SSD
-7-8 hour battery life

$1,799: Core i7 ULM 2.0ghz, 4 GB RAM, nVidia 320M w/ switchable graphics, 256gb SSD
-7-8 hour battery life
I am unaware of a 1.73Ghz core i5, and an 8 hour battery is completely unrealistic for these TDPs without a massive weight and overall size gain.

I would be happy with these as I am sure all of us would be, however, at this current time they are impossible.

fr4c
May 21, 2010, 12:53 AM
Nvidia isn't licensed for chipsets on the new Intel chips. So the 320M would be impossible unless they stuck with the older C2D.

Mhkobe
May 21, 2010, 12:56 AM
Nvidia isn't licensed for chipsets on the new Intel chips. So the 320M would be impossible unless they stuck with the older C2D.

If the 320M is discrete (only turns on when the intel one can't handle the task, or the TDP is maxed out on the CPU), it is possible.

Huubster
May 21, 2010, 06:00 AM
Nvidia isn't licensed for chipsets on the new Intel chips. So the 320M would be impossible unless they stuck with the older C2D.

I read this over and over again. But I think there is something I don't understand. :confused:
Can someone explain why, for example the MBP 15", the MBP 17" the Vaio Z, etc etc, who do have an all new iX chip, do also have an Nvidia chipset on board?

cleric
May 21, 2010, 07:06 AM
I read this over and over again. But I think there is something I don't understand. :confused:
Can someone explain why, for example the MBP 15", the MBP 17" the Vaio Z, etc etc, who do have an all new iX chip, do also have an Nvidia chipset on board?

The GT330M isn't integrated.

hashholly
May 21, 2010, 09:12 AM
If the 320M is discrete (only turns on when the intel one can't handle the task, or the TDP is maxed out on the CPU), it is possible.

I would like to know where you plan to fit this discrete graphics card? lol. I was under the impression the 13" MBP/MB didnt jump to Core I because they could not fit the discrete graphics cards.

Huubster
May 21, 2010, 12:29 PM
I would like to know where you plan to fit this discrete graphics card? lol. I was under the impression the 13" MBP/MB didnt jump to Core I because they could not fit the discrete graphics cards.

That seems more valid reasoning to me than saying "Nvidia did not get a license"...

Integrated or not. The bigger MBP's have fine Nvidia chipset AND an iX

Scottsdale
May 21, 2010, 01:34 PM
It is truly amazing that after all of the news, some people just don't get the whole Nvidia GPU chipset situation. Why in the hell wouldn't Apple have used a Core i3/i5 CPU with Nvidia 320m if it could have? SJ himself even said that the C2D with Nvidia 320m offered something not capable of the Intel Core i-series with Intel GMA... this implied that a discrete card wasn't possible for whatever reasons - space limitations, cooling, costs.

Apple cannot use an Nvidia GPU chipset with a Core i-series CPU. IT CANNOT USE IT BEYOND C2D. The 15" and 17" MBPs use Intel chipsets, NOT NVIDIA chipsets. The Nvidia 330 GT is not an integrated GPU chipset, it's a discrete GPU used with an Intel chipset.

This is not difficult if people try to understand the differences. With Core i-series CPUs, Intel has moved the GMA from the chipset to the CPU with a second GMA DIE added to the CPU. When Intel moved the GMA, it said that invalidated the need for Nvidia's license to provide a GPU in the chipset. Therefore, Intel acted anti-competitively and that's why the Justice Department is investigating Intel's move. In the meantime, Nvidia has said it's no longer providing GPUs for any Intel CPU beyond C2D (ie. Core i-series CPUs cannot use Nvidia chipsets).

People all over these forums keep saying Core i7 with Nvidia 320m GPU. It CANNOT legally happen people. It cannot happen, so stop dreaming of it because it's not realistic and immediately invalidates your entire post.

This is why we're all going to lose by Intel's anti-competitive move... and we're saying it's one of three possibilities for the next MBA.

1. C2D CPU with Nvidia 320m GPU chipset.
2. Core i7 ULV or LV with Intel GMA HD and Intel chipset.
3. Core i7 ULV or LV with Intel chipset and ATI/Nvidia discrete GPU.

*NOTE - There is no 4th option of Core i7 with Nvidia 320m GPU chipset. Nvidia CANNOT provide a GPU chipset for the Core series CPUs, so Apple cannot provide this option as it's technically impossible until Intel gives Nvidia a license to do so.

Mhkobe
May 21, 2010, 04:53 PM
I would like to know where you plan to fit this discrete graphics card? lol. I was under the impression the 13" MBP/MB didnt jump to Core I because they could not fit the discrete graphics cards.

They could probably fit it, however, they would need to sacrifice some serious clock speed, which to the average consumer basically says that the performance sucks (we understand that performance is not directly related to clock speed, but many [the average consumer] others do not).