PDA

View Full Version : Orange Box on Macbook?




maxthemonkey
May 22, 2010, 01:11 PM
Does anyone have any experience with running the Orange Box on a macbook with the same specs as in my sig? I have windows 7 running on it, and bought the Orange Box through steam for my Imac (also with 7), but dont want to bother downloading it all just for it not to work on my macbook.
Thanks,
Max



Dagless
May 22, 2010, 01:29 PM
What graphics card does your Macbook have? That's all it needs since all modern macs have good enough processors for The Orange Box.

You do know that you shouldn't have bought the game if you're unsure it works. Steam would not offer a refund for that.

maxthemonkey
May 23, 2010, 03:36 AM
On System profiler it gives me this:

Chipset Model: GMA 950
Type: GPU
Bus: Built-In
VRAM (Total): 64 MB of Shared System Memory
Vendor: Intel (0x8086)
Device ID: 0x27a2
Revision ID: 0x0003
Displays:
Color LCD:
Resolution: 1280 x 800
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Built-In: Yes
Display Connector:
Status: No Display Connected

Not sure which bit is the important one.

You do know that you shouldn't have bought the game if you're unsure it works. Steam would not offer a refund for that.

I know it runs fine on my iMac, i was just wondering if it would on my Macbook as well...

Dagless
May 23, 2010, 04:54 AM
Ah I see!
The GMA950 will be very problematic. I know it's possible TO play TF2 on it at least, there was a thread (sorry, don't have the link anymore) on the Steam forums with loads of packs and tips to get the game working on pretty much any computer. It involved a low-polygon model pack, very low quality textures, no-phong shading textures.

maxthemonkey
May 23, 2010, 05:07 AM
okay thanks, i'll have a look, you said it was on Steam forums yes?