PDA

View Full Version : 320m MBP Bootcamp Starcraft 2 flickering issues




ys9101
May 24, 2010, 02:04 AM
I've already googled this problem and there are only few results that actually had the same problem as I. None of the people seemed to have this problem with their 320m MBP though. All of them seemed to have this problem with their PCs. Basically what the issue is during loading the screen flickers every time the bar moves and it's still a issue when it's done loading. This flicker also interferes with the fps and renders the game unplayable. BUT! Every now and then (like if you mess with the in-game screen resolution) the problem is gone. Everything works perfectly fine if the setting is on Fullscreen (windowed). I am wondering if I am the ONLY one with 320m MBP that has this issue. The whole thing is very inconsistent and I cannot find this issue among MBP users anywhere. Anyone else?



EnigMoiD
May 24, 2010, 05:48 AM
I can't speak for the flickering on the 320m because I don't have one, but you know, the Mac client has been out for a while. You should try it. Assuming you actually have a beta key, you can log onto your Battle.net account and click on the Starcraft II game in your game chest thing, then click on mac client.

brandnew2
May 24, 2010, 07:15 AM
I've already googled this problem and there are only few results that actually had the same problem as I. None of the people seemed to have this problem with their 320m MBP though. All of them seemed to have this problem with their PCs. Basically what the issue is during loading the screen flickers every time the bar moves and it's still a issue when it's done loading. This flicker also interferes with the fps and renders the game unplayable. BUT! Every now and then (like if you mess with the in-game screen resolution) the problem is gone. Everything works perfectly fine if the setting is on Fullscreen (windowed). I am wondering if I am the ONLY one with 320m MBP that has this issue. The whole thing is very inconsistent and I cannot find this issue among MBP users anywhere. Anyone else?

320m MBP user here. I have the same problem on bootcamp - IIRC it's actually quite common. The only solution seems to be to put it on fullscreen windowed mode.

ys9101
May 24, 2010, 11:55 AM
Whew... I'm glad it is a common problem with 320m MBPs. But where are the discussions regarding this issue? I can't seem to find it anywhere among other 320m MBP users? This is the first time I'm hearing about this from another user. BTW, I think you get better performance in windows though seeing how Portal runs better at windows also.

brandnew2
May 24, 2010, 01:44 PM
Whew... I'm glad it is a common problem with 320m MBPs. But where are the discussions regarding this issue? I can't seem to find it anywhere among other 320m MBP users? This is the first time I'm hearing about this from another user. BTW, I think you get better performance in windows though seeing how Portal runs better at windows also.

I dont think it's a 320m problem, but rather something with nVidia drivers in general. At least that's what I remember from googling around back before I found a fix. I definitely found quite a few discussions on it but I can't remember if any of them were 320m-specific. Anyway, I wouldn't really worry about it as a 320m problem but rather something with nvidia/windows.

And yea, the beta definitely runs a lot smoother on bootcamp. In OSX, I get about 30 fps to start and it drops down to 10-20 in battles later on (which is almost unplayable if you're playing at least somewhat competitively). In windows, I start a game at about 50 fps and it drops a bit as it goes along, but it remains smooth.