PDA

View Full Version : Speeding up my G4




Hughm
Jun 1, 2010, 04:59 PM
I'm told that the speed bottleneck in my G4 is the hard drive, specifically the read/write speed.

I've got 1.5 GB of ram (out of a possible 2) and still find the machine slow, particularly when doing things like synching my iPhone and when copying files.

So . . . would replacing the HD with something newer be a better investment than just topping up the RAM?

Thanks.



Intell
Jun 1, 2010, 05:03 PM
You could find a SATA card for it and put a SATA drive in it and use it as your main drive.

zen.state
Jun 1, 2010, 05:07 PM
Maxing out the RAM and adding a Western Digital Caviar Black HD will help a lot. I use a WD Black with 64MB buffer and it really helps performance.

What CPU speed do you have? There are still a few upgrades on the market for G4 towers.

Hughm
Jun 1, 2010, 05:24 PM
It's 1.25

It's a great machine, great for most things. But as I said, I'd like to squeeze a bit more oomph out of the old girl.

CubeHacker
Jun 1, 2010, 05:42 PM
I'm not sure what speed USB came with a 1.25ghz G4 Powermac, but if its 1.1 spec USB, then that would account for the slowness. You might want to go into system profiler to check. You can get a USB 2.0 PCI card for about $20 today which would speed up transfers significantly.

Also, it depends on what your mac is doing WHEN you transfer. Do you have iTunes do any kind of transcode to AAC when transferring? That would take a significant amount of time.

SuperJudge
Jun 1, 2010, 06:05 PM
I'm not sure what speed USB came with a 1.25ghz G4 Powermac, but if its 1.1 spec USB, then that would account for the slowness. You might want to go into system profiler to check. You can get a USB 2.0 PCI card for about $20 today which would speed up transfers significantly.

All G4 towers were saddled with only USB 1.1 from the factory. Good news is that PCI USB 2.0 cards are cheap and readily available. Getting one for my Quicksilver was a no-brainer.

Adding a fast SATA hard drive and a PCI SATA card are also really good ideas for speeding things up.

Additionally maxing out the RAM and upgrading the video card are never bad ideas, but it's up to you how much you want to spend on an older machine.

motulist
Jun 1, 2010, 06:08 PM
Dude, unless you have an absolute need for PCI slots, then it's completely not worth it to spend any money upgrading a G4. Even the oldest, slowest intel mac mini will destroy the speed of any G4 powermac.

http://www.primatelabs.ca/blog/mac-benchmarks/

fastest G4 PowerMac = 1212 -Power Mac G4 (Mirrored Drive Doors) PowerPC G4 (7445/7455) 1.42 GHz (2 cores)

slowest intel mac mini = 1390 -Mac mini (Early 2006)Intel T1200 1.5 GHz (1 core)

zen.state
Jun 1, 2010, 07:24 PM
Dude, unless you have an absolute need for PCI slots, then it's completely not worth it to spend any money upgrading a G4. Even the oldest, slowest intel mac mini will destroy the speed of any G4 powermac.

http://www.primatelabs.ca/blog/mac-benchmarks/

fastest G4 PowerMac = 1212 -Power Mac G4 (Mirrored Drive Doors) PowerPC G4 (7445/7455) 1.42 GHz (2 cores)

slowest intel mac mini = 1390 -Mac mini (Early 2006)Intel T1200 1.5 GHz (1 core)

Speak for yourself. Many people (myself included) feel it's very worth while to invest money in older towers.

Someone who thinks it's all about raw performance really has no grasp of what computers are really about. For me (and many others) it's about running hardware you're comfortable with. Do a few google searches and find out the horrifically high amount of intel macs that die after just 2-3 years.

I guarantee I can get more done on my upgraded G4 tower than a typical guy with a new intel mac who doesn't know how to truly harness the power.

MrCheeto
Jun 1, 2010, 07:29 PM
For the last time (though I know I'll have to say this to somebody else very soon):

RAM≠Speed

Keep the 1280mb you have, I was cruising on only 768mb.

Syncing is slow because your mac has USB 1!!! If you want faster transfers, get a USB 2.0 PCI card, assuming it's a PowerMac. Otherwise, not a chance of helping that.

Install Leopard, it's so much faster on G4's.

Dave H
Jun 1, 2010, 07:57 PM
http://www.jcsenterprises.com/Japamacs_Page/Blog/B8B574BC-BB45-4B3E-9D9B-F97EBB3230BC.html

666sheep
Jun 2, 2010, 01:10 AM
OP, like written above, get PCI USB 2.0 card, an if you love your MDD, then give her SSD (regardless of the $$$). You can connect it via SATA->IDE adapter or SATA PCI card and you'll get completely new machine.
If you got soldering skills, you can OC it to 1.5 (easy, only remove few resistors) or 1.67 GHz (little harder, reguires resistors bridging). All about it is here (http://aquamac.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=talk&action=display&thread=767).

MrCheeto
Jun 2, 2010, 02:00 AM
No matter what you do to it, don't expect it to ever be capable of playing Youtube videos smoothly or encoding videos and music with any efficiency.

Upgrade.

zen.state
Jun 2, 2010, 07:27 AM
No matter what you do to it, don't expect it to ever be capable of playing Youtube videos smoothly or encoding videos and music with any efficiency.

Upgrade.

My G4 plays youtube videos just fine. No lag or choppiness at all.

MacHamster68
Jun 2, 2010, 07:44 AM
here the solution to the little lag
http://www.sonnettech.com/product/encore_st_duet.html
http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Newer%20Technology/MAXG48S1800/
just bought a quicksilver and could get my hands on a sonnet encore dual g4 upgrade card and that thing flies

666sheep
Jun 2, 2010, 07:50 AM
Too small cache for me, and frequency also not too impressive in this Sonnet.
While playing YT only one CPU will be utilized and performance will be slower than 1.67 PB.
Sonnet cards are mostly non overclockable, so i'm not a big fan of these. But ofc they are better than any stock QS CPU :)

Best trick i know about "little lag" is Click to Flash and it's Play in Quicktime option.

zen.state
Jun 2, 2010, 08:13 AM
here the solution to the little lag
http://www.sonnettech.com/product/encore_st_duet.html
http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Newer%20Technology/MAXG48S1800/
just bought a quicksilver and could get my hands on a sonnet encore dual g4 upgrade card and that thing flies

That Sonnet dual cpu upgrade is no longer made (says so on the site) and it uses the 7447 G4 chip. I have seen a few benchmarks where a single 7448 will perform as well or better as a dual 7447. The 7448 also has double the L2.

Newertech/OWC is the only company that still makes G4 upgrades and I have their single 1.8GHz 7448. Any xbench results I have seen of my mac vs a dual 7447 is always won by mine.

zen.state
Jun 2, 2010, 11:55 AM
For the last time (though I know I'll have to say this to somebody else very soon):

RAM≠Speed

Keep the 1280mb you have, I was cruising on only 768mb.

Syncing is slow because your mac has USB 1!!! If you want faster transfers, get a USB 2.0 PCI card, assuming it's a PowerMac. Otherwise, not a chance of helping that.

Install Leopard, it's so much faster on G4's.

You must not multitask much if at all if you're getting by fine with 768 MB on Leo. I had 1 GB in my tower when I first started using Leo and soon after I upgraded to 2GB and for sure saw an improvement in smoothness.

The real truth about RAM is if you need the extra it will help performance if you never open more than 1-2 apps at a time though then upping it will not improve anything.

The best way to tell if you need more RAM is do a reboot first then do what you would normally do on our mac for 15 minutes. After that 15 min is up check your memory stats and if you have over 1000 pageouts then you need more RAM. My system has 0 pageouts when I do this test.

MrCheeto
Jun 2, 2010, 11:57 AM
My G4 plays youtube videos just fine. No lag or choppiness at all.

How'd you manage that? I've got a 1.25ghz SP MDD G4 that can only do so with 360p Youtube vids...

You must not multitask much if at all if you're getting by fine with 768 MB on Leo.

I don't multitask on old computers :P Though it's perfectly well at running iTunes, Safari and iWork apps at the same time.

zen.state
Jun 2, 2010, 12:04 PM
How'd you manage that? I've got a 1.25ghz SP MDD G4 that can only do so with 360p Youtube vids...

I have a 7448 G4 1.8GHz. The 7448 is by far the most powerful G4 chip ever by leaps and bounds. It is actually newer than all the G5 chips. Freescale didn't really have it on the market till 2006 and introduced it in late 05. Since it did not come out till after Apple stopped using the G4 it is mostly an unknown CPU to all but PowerPC enthusiasts like myself.

As I said above my single 7448 trumps most dual G4's.

I can even play 720P HD video just fine in VLC etc.

MrCheeto
Jun 2, 2010, 12:05 PM
0.o

Gimme gimme!

I had wanted the dual 1.8ghz. How do they compare to the single?

MacHamster68
Jun 2, 2010, 12:09 PM
That Sonnet dual cpu upgrade is no longer made (says so on the site) and it uses the 7447 G4 chip. I have seen a few benchmarks where a single 7448 will perform as well or better as a dual 7447. The 7448 also has double the L2.

Newertech/OWC is the only company that still makes G4 upgrades and I have their single 1.8GHz 7448. Any xbench results I have seen of my mac vs a dual 7447 is always won by mine.


i know that sonnet does not make them any more , i needed a month to source a card , found one in austria , and i did need one as originally it was a dual processor mac and i did not want to change that as the newertech are single processor cards faster yes but also more expensive i payed just £50 inclusive shipping for the sonnet card ;)
the newertech 7448 is better no doubt,
but i use it to play the old OS9 games and i guess the sonnet dual 1.6 is fast enough for that and makes my mac mini g4 1.42 look like a kids play computer :D the only thing is the mac mini is more quiet so i try to change some fans inside to get the noise down , the powermac just sounds like a hoover under my desk :D

zen.state
Jun 2, 2010, 12:15 PM
0.o

Gimme gimme!

I had wanted the dual 1.8ghz. How do they compare to the single?

There are no 7448 upgrades for the MDD. The best thing for you to do is buy a dual 1.42MDD daughtercard off ebay. They sell for around 100-130.

The dual 1.42 with 2MB DDR2 L3 on each chip would increase your system CPU capability at least 60% if not 65-70 over your single 1.25. The L3 helps most when dealing with large files like video etc. The dual 1.42 7455 is pretty much the only dual G4 that will beat a single 7448. So you would actually have a system a bit faster than mine.

MrCheeto
Jun 2, 2010, 12:21 PM
Eh, well I sold my G4, and I'll stick with Intel.

Maybe when I'm all rich and stuff from stacking boxes I'll cram a Core i7 into an MDD and it will once again be the supercomputer it was always meant to be.

MacHamster68
Jun 2, 2010, 01:57 PM
Eh, well I sold my G4, and I'll stick with Intel.

Maybe when I'm all rich and stuff from stacking boxes I'll cram a Core i7 into an MDD and it will once again be the supercomputer it was always meant to be.


better cram in a board with a ibm power7 processor and it will make a i7 powered intel machine look like a cheap pocket calculator ;)

zen.state
Jun 2, 2010, 02:17 PM
better cram in a board with a ibm power7 processor and it will make a i7 powered intel machine look like a cheap pocket calculator ;)

You will find this mod very interesting: http://www.flickr.com/photos/47388109@N07/sets/72157623298191439/

There are 3 pages of photos. He painted his very similar to the way mine is but used spray paint rather than car paint like I did. He uses some pretty sick intel hardware in it and has dual video cards.

MrCheeto
Jun 2, 2010, 02:18 PM
better cram in a board with a ibm power7 processor and it will make a i7 powered intel machine look like a cheap pocket calculator ;)

Wow! That'd be so impressive...

if Snow Leopard and its software was compatible with IBM's architectures.

XD XD XD

Hughm
Jun 2, 2010, 03:52 PM
I did some asking around here in Vancouver (at an Apple store, among other places), and I think that zen.state has the most balanced and effective solution to the issue. A faster HD and a bit more RAM.

zen.state
Jun 2, 2010, 04:17 PM
I did some asking around here in Vancouver (at an Apple store, among other places), and I think that zen.state has the most balanced and effective solution to the issue. A faster HD and a bit more RAM.

I am certainly a fan of reducing minimal gains and prefer to use a balanced approach to hardware.

It seems like you have an MDD tower? Has a mirror on the front and is the only G4 tower that could take 2x DVD drives in the front. If so you should consider buying a dual 1.25 or 1.42 CPU card for MDD on ebay. About $100-130. It would just be a simple plug and play upgrade and would increase CPU performance overall by at least 60%.

MrCheeto
Jun 2, 2010, 04:22 PM
^Not always!

You have to check the bus speeds.

zen.state
Jun 2, 2010, 04:27 PM
^Not always!

You have to check the bus speeds.

He has a single 1.25GHz. All the 1.25 (single or dual) are the 167MHz bus. As are the dual 1.0GHz and dual 1.42GHz. I gave the advice knowing that.

The only MDD's that ever had the 133MHz bus were the dual 867 and single 1GHz. All the rest have 167MHz. I used to own both a dual 867 and dual 1.42 so I know what i'm talking about.

MrCheeto
Jun 2, 2010, 04:49 PM
And besides forgetting which model he has, I clearly don't -.-'

CubeHacker
Jun 2, 2010, 06:04 PM
I did some asking around here in Vancouver (at an Apple store, among other places), and I think that zen.state has the most balanced and effective solution to the issue. A faster HD and a bit more RAM.

You can upgrade the hard drive and RAM all you want, but they aren't going to help your slow USB transfers in the slightest. If thats your main priority, a $20 USB 2.0 card will do you better than anything else you can do to that system.

More RAM *might* make your system more responsive, but only if you are running low on RAM to begin with for whatever apps you are working with.

A faster hard drive might make your apps load anywhere from 10-50% faster, but they won't help transfer speeds to your iPod/iPhone, nor will it help photoshop renders or video encodes go quicker.

zen.state
Jun 2, 2010, 06:06 PM
Yes, USB 2.0 PCI card for sure. It must have an NEC chipset to work though.

max••
Jun 2, 2010, 06:11 PM
for ipod/iphone transfers a usb2 card should be your priority, if you have ever transferred a large amount of data using usb 1 you will know what a painful experience it is

zen.state
Jun 2, 2010, 06:15 PM
for ipod/iphone transfers a usb2 card should be your priority, if you have ever transferred a large amount of data using usb 1 you will know what a painful experience it is

My internet connection at home is actually about twice the speed of USB 1.1. All I use the USB ports on my tower for is my keyboard and mouse as that is all they're suitable for.

MacHamster68
Jun 2, 2010, 06:27 PM
Wow! That'd be so impressive...

if Snow Leopard and its software was compatible with IBM's architectures.

XD XD XD

no snow leopard . but who needs that anyway , it does not run on ppc macs anyway , but debian is running on power7 and in my opinion is a better alternative to snow leo , as it runs on everything with a processor inside even on my mac mini debian runs flawless i have debian on a second partition , and when i boot it looks like osx leopard(steve jobs would have to look twice to find the difference ) , but runs much better on a ppc Mac ;)

MrCheeto
Jun 2, 2010, 06:31 PM
Oh boy! If only I could play my favorite video games on it :(

This 4th sounded like such fun, until somebody forgot the matches.

I just remembered the whole EFI thing. I'd rather let Apple take care of the compatibility. Too bad, though. The plastic PowerMacs always looked more stunning.

666sheep
Jun 2, 2010, 07:07 PM
^Not always!

You have to check the bus speeds.

There is no problem to change bus speed from 133 to 167 MHz in MDD. Only one resistor. I've done it a lot.

(...) you should consider buying a dual 1.25 or 1.42 CPU card for MDD on ebay.

To run 1.42 DP you will need better cooling than single 1.25 has. Best will be copper heatsink from 1.42 DP or at least additional fan (with stock 1.25 heasink).

MrCheeto
Jun 2, 2010, 07:08 PM
What I was saying was:

It's not always a plug and play operation.

I didn't see what model he had. In this case, it's true. In other cases, it involves changing bus speeds.

666sheep
Jun 2, 2010, 07:16 PM
Yeah, i understood :) but changing bus speed is easy as ...you know what ;) :D

zen.state
Jun 2, 2010, 07:27 PM
To run 1.42 DP you will need better cooling than single 1.25 has. Best will be copper heatsink from 1.42 DP or at least additional fan (with stock 1.25 heasink).

Many of the MDD daughter cards on ebay come with the original heatsink.

MacHamster68
Jun 2, 2010, 08:23 PM
best to go straight to the dual 1.42 doughtercard , i mean the price difference on ebay is marginal if you can get a daughtercard on ebay
but be wary of people selling their cards after failed attempts of overclocking or playing around with quiet fans until they roasted the processors ,
if you are not sure better get them from some online shop who might sell them a bit more pricey ,but most times they offer a warranty
because a not working one is not worth a penny ;)

Hughm
Jun 3, 2010, 12:47 PM
Boy! This is a great community! Thanks for all the advice, guys/gals.

For the record, my G4 is the MDD running at 1.25 with 1.5 RAM.

Again, the things that bug me are 1) The very slow rate of copying files, both within the system and when I copy music to my iPhone, and 2) operations like file conversion: .api to MPG for burning video, for example.

Running scripts on GIMP can be slow, but I can deal with that.

Otherwise, the old girl opens apps as quickly as I need and I can listen to music with iTunes and do other stuff at the same time quite happily.

So . . . it seems the USB card ought to be the #1 thing, then maybe the drive and another 256 of RAM. Yes?

MrCheeto
Jun 3, 2010, 12:54 PM
Y una Leopard? Si, si.

XD

CubeHacker
Jun 3, 2010, 08:42 PM
Boy! This is a great community! Thanks for all the advice, guys/gals.

For the record, my G4 is the MDD running at 1.25 with 1.5 RAM.

Again, the things that bug me are 1) The very slow rate of copying files, both within the system and when I copy music to my iPhone, and 2) operations like file conversion: .api to MPG for burning video, for example.

Running scripts on GIMP can be slow, but I can deal with that.

Otherwise, the old girl opens apps as quickly as I need and I can listen to music with iTunes and do other stuff at the same time quite happily.

So . . . it seems the USB card ought to be the #1 thing, then maybe the drive and another 256 of RAM. Yes?


The $20 USB card will certainly help with your ipod file transfers.
As for your AVI to MPEG conversions, that is 100% CPU controlled. Adding more RAM or a faster hard drive will NOT make that go any faster. Only a faster CPU will help there, and I highly recommend against upgrading the CPU, unless you can find a dual card for next to nothing. An Intel Mini will easily be 10x faster than what you have now for file conversions.

zen.state
Jun 3, 2010, 08:53 PM
The $20 USB card will certainly help with your ipod file transfers.
As for your AVI to MPEG conversions, that is 100% CPU controlled. Adding more RAM or a faster hard drive will NOT make that go any faster. Only a faster CPU will help there, and I highly recommend against upgrading the CPU, unless you can find a dual card for next to nothing. An Intel Mini will easily be 10x faster than what you have now for file conversions.

There are no longer any upgrades made for the MDD anyway. A used MDD dual CPU daughter card is the best fix. My former dual 1.42 MDD fared pretty well at video rips.

A mac mini is not a good solution for someone who has/wants a tower with expandability. Plus it's a bit of a stretch to say an intel mini would be 10x faster at ripping. 4-5x faster tops. I have owned an intel mini before and sold it in favor of my heavily upgraded G4. It was the 1.83GHz C2D. I sold it to pay for my 7448 G4.

DeeGee48
Jun 6, 2010, 08:01 PM
Perhaps some of you have been down this road, so I hope you know the answer. As you can see by my signature I have a G4 tower that's pretty maxed out. But what I want to do now is add a SATA card and two 2TB drives for media. Apple's manual on my machine says it can house two optical drives and up to four HDD's (I have had 4 in it, but now only 3). My question is that since I only have the one optical drive, can I actually have five HDD's by using the second optical bay for the fifth one? Will the OS recognize them? Since it will hold 6 drives total, can I have 5 plus 1, or does it have to be 4 plus 2? Any help appreciated!

CubeHacker
Jun 6, 2010, 09:05 PM
Generally speaking, a single ATA connector can connect two drives - a master and a slave. Each SATA connector can only connect to one drive. Thus, if you get a SATA PCI card, you need to check to see how many drives it supports.

DeeGee48
Jun 6, 2010, 09:38 PM
Generally speaking, a single ATA connector can connect two drives - a master and a slave. Each SATA connector can only connect to one drive. Thus, if you get a SATA PCI card, you need to check to see how many drives it supports.

The card I'm looking at supports 2 internal and 2 external SATA's. So you're saying then that that's the only thing that determines how many HDD's I can have inside? My machine itself doesn't matter?

MrCheeto
Jun 6, 2010, 09:42 PM
Perhaps some of you have been down this road, so I hope you know the answer. As you can see by my signature I have a G4 tower that's pretty maxed out. But what I want to do now is add a SATA card and two 2TB drives for media. Apple's manual on my machine says it can house two optical drives and up to four HDD's (I have had 4 in it, but now only 3). My question is that since I only have the one optical drive, can I actually have five HDD's by using the second optical bay for the fifth one? Will the OS recognize them? Since it will hold 6 drives total, can I have 5 plus 1, or does it have to be 4 plus 2? Any help appreciated!

If all of the drives are SATA and your card supports the total number of SATA devices you plan to plug into it, then you can lay, velcro, and duct tape drives inside and out as much as you like.

DeeGee48
Jun 7, 2010, 09:15 AM
If all of the drives are SATA and your card supports the total number of SATA devices you plan to plug into it, then you can lay, velcro, and duct tape drives inside and out as much as you like.

Yes, I plan on two 2TB internal SATA's for inside, which is what the card supports for inside. But I also plan to LEAVE the three PATA's in place exactly as they are now. My question is: is there any problem with THAT? Currently, I have an external SATA Superdrive plugged in via USB 2.0 and it works flawlessly....So I presume this planned addition will also....Am I correct???? That's what I want to know.

zen.state
Jun 7, 2010, 10:44 AM
Yes, I plan on two 2TB internal SATA's for inside, which is what the card supports for inside. But I also plan to LEAVE the three PATA's in place exactly as they are now. My question is: is there any problem with THAT? Currently, I have an external SATA Superdrive plugged in via USB 2.0 and it works flawlessly....So I presume this planned addition will also....Am I correct???? That's what I want to know.

I have a heavily upgraded G4 tower also. I only keep 2 drives internal although I have 4 total. I do this to help reduce heat inside the case. I have 2x 1TB in the case and then a 1TB and 500GB external. I use the 2 internals for boot and data I need to have fast access to. I use the 1TB external for storing personal video collections etc. and the 500GB for time machine.

If you're going with a sata card then I suggest using only sata drives. That way you can boot from modern drives with much faster access speeds. The only IDE drives in my case are the DVD and ZIP drives.

The best place in my opinion for a 3rd internal is where the zip drive lives under the DVD.

As SATA cards go I would highly recommend a FirmTek. I have one and they work flawlessly on G4 towers.

EDIT: Just wanted to add that one of the best upgrades I ever did to my system was use a Western Digital Caviar Black HD as the boot drive. I made a 120GB boot partition with it at the start of the drive. Thats the fastest part of the drive. I have the newest revision of the drive which has a giant 64MB buffer. That would be a great upgrade to your machine. Or something even faster maybe.. like a Velociraptor.

DeeGee48
Jun 7, 2010, 11:08 AM
As SATA cards go I would highly recommend a FirmTek. I have one and they work flawlessly on G4 towers.

Thanks a lot for your input as I continue to work this through. I'm still flexible, and I like some of your ideas, so who knows how far I'll go. But I can say now that it IS a FirmTek card that I'm hot on! Made by former Apple hands; gotta be good! :apple: :)

cantthinkofone
Jun 9, 2010, 10:29 PM
Can you over-clock these processors? I haven't been able to find any information on a yes or no answer.

zen.state
Jun 9, 2010, 10:43 PM
Can you over-clock these processors? I haven't been able to find any information on a yes or no answer.

Yes you can but it requires soldering.

666sheep
Jun 10, 2010, 03:16 AM
Can you over-clock these processors? I haven't been able to find any information on a yes or no answer.

Dual (http://bitsandpieces.info/Multipliers.htm)
Single (http://aquamac.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=talk&action=display&thread=767)

cantthinkofone
Jun 10, 2010, 10:52 AM
Dual (http://bitsandpieces.info/Multipliers.htm)
Single (http://aquamac.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=talk&action=display&thread=767)

Geez...Not sure if I trust my soldering skills that much. Would there be any noticeable speed gains?

I rip at about 4.5-5FPS on handbrake 0.9.1. Oh how I miss my work laptop( C2D).

666sheep
Jun 10, 2010, 11:35 AM
With Dual 1.25@1.50 GHz, it will be something about 20% gain in processing power. Some more in multithreaded apps. But: more Hertz on CPU and cache = more heat generated. Especially with Dual CPU cards. Better cooling will be recommended then (with single CPUs not necessary).