Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

brenm666

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 30, 2010
I would like to know if it would be possible to schedule the opening and the quiting of an application at certain times. Let's say for example I would like to start Mail at 7 am and i would like it to quit at 8 pm.
I've googled a bit, found a program to start any application (or document or whatever) at any time, but its not able to quit it at a specified time. I also read something about iCal, but since im new to Applescript, I'd like a bit of help! :D

Thanks!

numero

macrumors regular
Jul 23, 2002
OR
While you could get this done with pure AppleScript, a better way will mix some launchd with AppleScript.

First the AppleScript part. Make two scripts.
Script 1:
tell application "Mail"
activate
end tell

Script 2:
tell application "Mail"
quit
end tell

Now you need something to control the calling of each script at the right time of day. I suggest using launchd for this. Read up about launchd on Apple's site. It can do a lot of stuff. In this case you will want two launchd jobs. One that has a trigger at your start time and the other that has a trigger at your end time.

Why use launchd? Because your alternative is to write AppleScript code that is constantly running and gets the current time and compares it to your target time? What happens if you have a big video encoding job going and your AppleScript doesn't get to run right at 7:00:00PM. What if your script doesn't get the processor until 7:00:01PM? You might say that you will just ignore the seconds and run if you are on the "00" minute. But what if your computer isn't busy and you run at 7:00:00 and 7:00:01? In this case the worst that happens is Mail is told to activate twice. No big deal to call "activate" if it is already running. But what if you wanted to get fancier in the future and do something that you only want to do once per day?