View Full Version : To good to be true
Tonytownsend
Jun 8, 2010, 01:28 AM
I found a used 2009 With dual 2.93, 2tb hard drives, Raid card, 32gb ram for $4500 is this to good to be true?
rajbonham
Jun 8, 2010, 01:30 AM
Depends on just how "used" it is...
Tonytownsend
Jun 8, 2010, 01:41 AM
Depends on just how "used" it is...
What is good to look for when buying a second hand pro?
Freyqq
Jun 10, 2010, 04:26 AM
all you can really do is look at the system profiler and make sure all the components they say are in there are actually there. Maybe, peak inside and see how it looks. Not much else you can do.
ValSalva
Jun 10, 2010, 04:53 AM
Depends on just how "used" it is...
True. But what exactly can wear out in a computer these days? HDDs are cheap and so one could put new one(s) in. Ditto for a super drive. Other than that what could go? I suppose a fan on a video card or a fan in the case. RAM, CPUs, and if motherboards are good (no bad caps) should last decades. What and how do these essentially solid state, no moving parts electronic things wear out? Just curious.
costabunny
Jun 10, 2010, 05:19 AM
I found a used 2009 With dual 2.93, 2tb hard drives, Raid card, 32gb ram for $4500 is this to good to be true?
In my experience; if it sounds too good to be true, then it usually isn't!
Thats a heck of a cheap price (my spidey senses would suggest many things scam, hot, or perhaps your lucky and its financed and seller has run out of luck).
engage caution my friend...
Murray M
Jun 10, 2010, 06:06 AM
How many people out there are looking for a MP with a raid card and 32 Ram?
My guess is that the seller needs the cash and has found the market is too small too support such a specialized computer. Your win.
Too good to be true would be MUCH cheaper (like $3000 for all that).
Umbongo
Jun 10, 2010, 06:28 AM
How many people out there are looking for a MP with a raid card and 32 Ram?
My guess is that the seller needs the cash and has found the market is too small too support such a specialized computer. Your win.
Too good to be true would be MUCH cheaper (like $3000 for all that).
Yup. It's a good deal, but not too good to be true unless you want all that stuff.
Tonytownsend
Jun 10, 2010, 04:36 PM
email him back never got a response it was to good to be true oh well gonna here in a hour or so and buy a pro with dual 2.26, gonna suck reinstaling everything though:mad:
Techhie
Jun 10, 2010, 06:00 PM
email him back never got a response it was to good to be true oh well gonna here in a hour or so and buy a pro with dual 2.26, gonna suck reinstaling everything though:mad:
I'm guessing the listing looked something like this: link (http://pittsburgh.craigslist.org/sys/1751601877.html)
He posted it in every major city, trying to get Western Union payments. I ended up on the phone with him, and apparently he is somewhere in NC. Stay far away.
Sorry :rolleyes:
ClassicII
Jun 10, 2010, 06:12 PM
4500, man i just cant see spending that for any computer.
Tonytownsend
Jun 10, 2010, 06:33 PM
yeah thats the one and im in NC
Techhie
Jun 10, 2010, 06:43 PM
yeah thats the one and im in NC
Pmed you the number he gave me. Be careful with this one, something smells fishy. Only take him up on it if he offers to meet in person.
Umbongo
Jun 10, 2010, 06:49 PM
Having seen the advert just forget it.
Techhie
Jun 10, 2010, 06:53 PM
Having seen the advert just forget it.
looks like a paste from Apple's BTO pages :rolleyes:
I was personally wondering how he got two 4870s in there without additional modification :p
kellen
Jun 10, 2010, 07:41 PM
Haha. I already emailed this guy weeks ago. Look at the listing, he says its a 2009 Mac Pro. Well the 2009 had dual firewire 800 in the back, not one firewire 800 and one firewire 400. It is a 2008 or 2006.
I emailed him, asking for sure if it was a 2009 and if this was the actual pics of it. He said it was. I called him a scammer. Guy actually got mad at me. Then I pointed out the discrepancy. He said his "apple guy" would look at it and get back to me. That was weeks ago and no email.
If it is this same one linked, stay away.
Techhie
Jun 10, 2010, 09:08 PM
That was weeks ago and no email.
If it is this same one linked, stay away.
He assured me he would list it on eBay, so that I could have full legal protection. That was weeks ago, and nada :rolleyes:
Tonytownsend
Jun 10, 2010, 09:58 PM
Probably never emailed me back cause I was local and would insist on seeing it:cool:
kellen
Jun 10, 2010, 10:29 PM
Who falls for these scams? Two minutes of background checking or half an ounce of common sense would tell you this is a scam.
Techhie
Jun 10, 2010, 10:32 PM
Who falls for these scams? Two minutes of background checking or half an ounce of common sense would tell you this is a scam.
The people who have a 2010 Mac Pro fund burning a hole in their pocket in desperation:rolleyes:
I gave him a call, and he sounded strangely legit, but I figured if he listed it on eBay, I would at least have some legal ground to stand on. That was three weeks ago, and his silence says it all. That, and him continually posting it on every major craigslist on the US :rolleyes:
vBulletin® v3.8.6, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.