PDA

View Full Version : Hardburning .srt on top of mkv?




Anastacio
Jun 18, 2010, 08:33 AM
I ordered the new Mac Mini the other day and it'll arrive here in just two weeks. So I got plenty of time to learn, how to get my movie collection onto it. But with some months of research, I have tried many things with different kind of software, like VirtualDubMod, VobSub and everything.

I has ripped one of my Blu-ray discs but it doesn't feature danish subtitles. So now I got a mkv file on the computer and I have found a .srt subtitle.

The question is, how do I hardcode/burn the subtitle (i do not want softburning) on top of the mkv movie? Is there any step-by-step? I have watched videohelpforums but can't seem to find a clear guide.



CWallace
Jun 18, 2010, 11:36 AM
In Handbrake you can load the SRT files and hard burn them in with MKVs.

Anastacio
Jun 18, 2010, 12:11 PM
In Handbrake you can load the SRT files and hard burn them in with MKVs.

Thanks, I'm trying to do that but at 'burn' it says 'no' beneath it at the 'subtitles' panel. Btw, would it be okay if I change the wide resolution to 1080 (thats full hd) ?

PS: I'm trying your suggestion at this moment, waiting for the result. =)

roidy
Jun 18, 2010, 12:38 PM
Handbrake wont allow you to burn-in srt subs, there passthru only.

http://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/Subtitles

Is there any reason you need them burnt in and not as softsubs?

justaregularjoe
Jun 18, 2010, 12:47 PM
Handbrake wont allow you to burn-in srt subs, there passthru only.

http://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/Subtitles

Is there any reason you need them burnt in and not as softsubs?

Just guessing, but he may want to encode them as DVD's for backup or something.

Could be TOTALLY wrong, though. :D

Anastacio
Jun 18, 2010, 12:47 PM
Handbrake wont allow you to burn-in srt subs, there passthru only.

http://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/Subtitles

Is there any reason you need them burnt in and not as softsubs?

Well.. it depends really - I would rather just have softsubs.

But will I be able to select subtitles (if i got various languages) within Plex on a Mac Mini when I start up a movie? (i don't have it before July 1st).

roidy
Jun 18, 2010, 12:54 PM
Yes Plex will allow you to choose which, if any, subtitle track to use.

Anastacio
Jun 18, 2010, 01:00 PM
Yes Plex will allow you to choose which, if any, subtitle track to use.

Oh okay, then I'll be satisfied with softsubs if it's part of the Plex interface.

Btw, I still need to convert the mkv to mp4, correct? (if so, which resolution for full hd?).

roidy
Jun 18, 2010, 01:05 PM
No Plex should play a full size mkv ripped from a Blu-ray, you can re-encode it to either mp4 or mkv at a lower bitrate to save hard drive space, it's upto you. I'm not sure but Plex may even be able to use the Blu-ray sup subtitles right from the mkv rip, but I'm not sure????

Anastacio
Jun 18, 2010, 01:21 PM
Will I just have to put the .srt in the same folder as the mkv movie on the Mac? Or do I softburn it in HB?

CWallace
Jun 18, 2010, 01:33 PM
Handbrake wont allow you to burn-in srt subs, there passthru only.

Fair enough. I have only used SRTs with about four AVI files so I was going from (faulty) memory.

roidy
Jun 18, 2010, 01:56 PM
Will I just have to put the .srt in the same folder as the mkv movie on the Mac? Or do I softburn it in HB?

I only have experience with XBMC which is what Plex is based off, so I don't know if Plex will read a srt file from the same directory as the video file.

If you do want to put your srt subs into your mkv file then don't use Handbrake as this will re-encode the entire file which is a waste of time (unless you want to re-encode and shrink the file). A better option, if you don't want to re-encode the file, is to use mkvtoolnix to mux the subs into the mkv container, leaving the original video intact.

Anastacio
Jun 18, 2010, 04:01 PM
I only have experience with XBMC which is what Plex is based off, so I don't know if Plex will read a srt file from the same directory as the video file.

If you do want to put your srt subs into your mkv file then don't use Handbrake as this will re-encode the entire file which is a waste of time (unless you want to re-encode and shrink the file). A better option, if you don't want to re-encode the file, is to use mkvtoolnix to mux the subs into the mkv container, leaving the original video intact.

Thanks, that helped alot it seems. I hope I can just choose between the subs within Plex, can't wait to try it out on the Mini - just two weeks left.

I guess it'll find all the info and covers itself? Or I got to find a cover for all my movies?

tommylotto
Jun 18, 2010, 04:21 PM
I guess it'll find all the info and covers itself? Or I got to find a cover for all my movies?

Plex will find movie info, movie poster art and fan art for your movies if you named them right. It makes mistakes, but you can go through your library, fix named and refresh info. Eventually, you will have a perfect database with great looking splash screens.

Tainter
Jun 18, 2010, 07:02 PM
I use submerge works great for me ...

http://www.bitfield.se/submerge/

don-key
Jun 19, 2010, 02:43 PM
this is a good guide for ripping from the plex forum, includes a how to for subs which works well

http://forums.plexapp.com/index.php?/topic/14731-blu-ray-rip-and-encode-guide-for-plex/

owine
Jun 19, 2010, 04:18 PM
I use MKVTools to do this. Got a very nice 1080p version of Avatar with subtitles burned into the video track using MKVTools.

ATC
Nov 11, 2012, 07:49 PM
First, sorry to resurrect a very old thread but I want to ask the same question as the OP did, and I've hit a brick wall in my research. In my case "soft coding" subtitles isn't an option, it has to be burned in. My subtitles are English alien/foreign language ones that you want to see. Reason for this is I'm planning on playing my BRRips onto my Viera TV that has a built-in media player that plays .mkv files great, but there just isn't an option to turn on or off subtitles in the media player.

Is there any way to burn-in .srt subtitles into an mkv? I don't mind paying for software to do it. I know that handbrake isn't the solution as it can only soft code srt titles in.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Pyromonkey83
Nov 11, 2012, 11:44 PM
One option for handbrake is to use .sub files (VobSub) instead of srt. These CAN be hardcoded using handbrake for foreign language parts.

you can find a free program at http://www.divx-digest.com/software/srt2sub.html to convert .srt to vobsub format but it only works with windows.

There are some other programs as well that will allow you to add foreign only parts to mkv or m4v containers as well, but I dont know what they are off the top of my head. Subler is a possible choice but I'm not entirely sure if it can or not.

ATC
Nov 11, 2012, 11:57 PM
Thanks for the suggestions Pyromonkey83. I hadn't even thought of the possiblility of converting .srt to .sub. I may have to look for a mac version of such software as I'm window-less. ;)

If I do find such software, I take it what you're suggesting is this (?):

1. Convert .srt to .sub (I assume I'll need the accompanying .idx file too)
2. Run MKVToolnix to mux the .sub/.idx into the .mkv file
3. Encode the new .mkv using HB, this time burn-in the subtitles that I had just muxed in step 2

On an unrelated note, I wish movie studios burned in alien/foreign language subs. I mean, can anyone out there really understand what jabba the hutt says?

Pyromonkey83
Nov 12, 2012, 02:09 AM
I went ahead and checked on Subler to see what options they have for subtitles and it looks like it does allow for hardcoding subtitle tracks via srt.

Essentially your steps would be:

1) Encode movie with Handbrake to your specifications without the .srt file

2) Once file has finished running through handbrake, open the file using Subler

3) Go to File -> Import file then select the .srt file and open it

4) check the box under "subtitle track" and highlight the field, opening the expanded menu options shown below.

http://i49.tinypic.com/30mlci9.jpg

5) Force the track you are looking for.


It should be noted that I have never actually used this function of Subler, so I dont fully know how the forcing actually works. You can also add multiple subtitles and have one hardcoded and one soft coded (hardcode foreign parts and soft code a full subtitle for example). This may take some playing with and trial and error, but the good news is that Subler is just a muxing program, so it only takes about 30 seconds to finish. Therefore you dont have to spend 2+ hours on an encode just to find out it didnt work correctly or you did something wrong.

Also, if you are interested you can add the full metadata to the file using this program and add HD tags, ratings, descriptions, and other things.

Let me know if this works out for you!

ATC
Nov 12, 2012, 09:17 AM
Thanks. I just downloaded Subler and installed it. But I think it has issues with Mountain Lion, either that or I'll have to figure out how to use it. :o

I added the video, imported the .srt, chose force track and then I just clicked the save-as/export button on top right. Nothing happened and there's a red banner with the number '1' on it. I looked at the work queue and there's one video, I then clicked start but I'm not sure if anything's happening. CPU is at idle. It now says "Done" but there's just a 4KB (.m4v) file on my desktop that does nothing. :confused:

I'll have to give it another try later when I get home from work.

mic j
Nov 12, 2012, 09:21 AM
Thanks. I just downloaded Subler and installed it. But I think it has issues with Mountain Lion, either that or I'll have to figure out how to use it. :o

I added the video, imported the .srt, chose force track and then I just clicked the save-as/export button on top right. Nothing happened and there's a red banner with the number '1' on it. I looked at the work queue and there's one video, I then clicked start but I'm not sure if anything's happening. CPU is at idle. It now says "Done" but there's just a 4KB (.m4v) file on my desktop that does nothing. :confused:

I'll have to give it another try later when I get home from work.

Mountain Lion broke Perian and Subler needs Perian to function correctly. To solve the problem you need to download and add a file to your system. Search this forum for exact instructions on what you need to do.

ATC
Nov 12, 2012, 09:24 AM
Ahh...thanks. I thought I was doing something wrong.

I just found this (http://code.google.com/p/subler/issues/detail?id=404#c12), looks like I'll have to read it and fix later. Thanks again.

mic j
Nov 12, 2012, 10:39 AM
Ahh...thanks. I thought I was doing something wrong.

I just found this (http://code.google.com/p/subler/issues/detail?id=404#c12), looks like I'll have to read it and fix later. Thanks again.

Try there. If you run into any problem, search back here as I know there have been very good tutorials posted on what to do.

ATC
Nov 12, 2012, 08:03 PM
I just got Subler to work in 10.8, with the addition of a codec add-on file that apparently was missing.

Sadly, all I was able to do with Subler was to do a soft-code of my .srt. I can do the same with MKVToolnix anyhow. So even with the Forced option set to "All samples are forced" and selected the .srt track under Forced track, the output m4v didn't have the subs burned in, they were only soft-coded in. Back to square one. :cool:

dynaflash
Nov 12, 2012, 08:58 PM
srt's cannot be "hard burned" into an mp4 or mkv without ocr.
its gonna have to be a soft sub.
Hb or subler can embed them as a 3gpp text sub.

Edit: "hard burned" indicates a burned in sub to the video track, you can not turn it on or off. it gets burned into the video track as a bitmap. srt's are text files hence the need for ocr to even begin the process.

AhmedFaisal
Nov 12, 2012, 09:51 PM
<snip>

ATC
Nov 12, 2012, 10:21 PM
srt's cannot be "hard burned" into an mp4 or mkv without ocr.
its gonna have to be a soft sub.
Hb or subler can embed them as a 3gpp text sub.

Edit: "hard burned" indicates a burned in sub to the video track, you can not turn it on or off. it gets burned into the video track as a bitmap. srt's are text files hence the need for ocr to even begin the process.

I've been trying to read some more about subtitles and I think you're right. .SRT cannot be burned in, at least not easily. .Sub OTOH can, using HB. The problem is I need them burned in as my media player that's built into one of our TVs cannot handle soft-coded subs.

There's an app in the MAS called "Subtitles TheEditor" which mentions that it can convert .sub to .srt and vice versa (the "vice versa" part is especially interesting to me as I already have .srt that I'd like converted to .sub) but I wish there was a trial version as I want to make sure it works the way I want before paying for it.

Check emmgunn's mkvtools or mp4tools. They can softburn and hardburn almost anything. I actually use mp4tools since it allows me to make everything itunes and ipad compatible. Both tools can batch convert as well. For mp4toos i'd recommend to use his latest beta version. So far the most versatile and easy to use tool for this purpose i have found on the mac.

I already tried those, and I've only been able to soft code subs into mkvs and m4vs, so far have not been able to burn in .srt.

Pyromonkey83
Nov 13, 2012, 01:31 AM
Doh... Sorry I guess I was wrong on that front. I did in fact use some program to burn in the hardcoded subtitles for a movie a while back and I cannot for the life of me remember what that program actually was. I'll keep going through my internet history and figure out what the heck it was.. :D

EDIT: Literally 1 or 2 minutes after I posted I managed to find the program... It was RipBot! Unfortunately, this program is windows only, meaning I must have used it under Parallels (hence why I couldn't find the program under my applications folder). Obviously this is no help here... Time to keep searching!

Pyromonkey83
Nov 13, 2012, 01:45 AM
I did manage to find this nice guide that uses submerge to put in srt's and hardcode them to the movie.

http://www.m4.com/blog/video/adding-burned-in-subtitles-to-your-ripped-movies/

This looks like it should do what you are wanting. Obviously you can disregard all of the stuff before and after the actual hardcoding process.

AhmedFaisal
Nov 13, 2012, 05:48 AM
<snip>

DeafRaiders
Nov 13, 2012, 05:53 AM
I am deaf and I often hardburn subtitles to my film for my iPhone 5. I recommend freemake video converter , converts any file format into any output device, which is totally free and is quick.

ATC
Nov 13, 2012, 09:38 PM
Are you trying to burn in the subtitle while setting the video stream on passthru? Thats not going to work no matter what kind of tool you use. If you literally want to burn the sub into the video you need to re-encode the videostream again as well. The other option is to set the softsub to force, meaning that it will show up as default so long as your player supports subs, then it depends on what subtitles your player supports, if a player does, it is usually sub.

Of course I encoded the video. I ran both 1 and 2-pass encoding with all options to burn-in the sub track, no go. It was soft coded in fine though.

----------

I did manage to find this nice guide that uses submerge to put in srt's and hardcode them to the movie.

http://www.m4.com/blog/video/adding-burned-in-subtitles-to-your-ripped-movies/

This looks like it should do what you are wanting. Obviously you can disregard all of the stuff before and after the actual hardcoding process.

Thanks for the link. I may have to bite the bullet and try submerge.

----------

I am deaf and I often hardburn subtitles to my film for my iPhone 5. I recommend freemake video converter , converts any file format into any output device, which is totally free and is quick.

Thanks for the recommendation, although it looks like a windows-only program. I'm looking for ones to run under OSX.