Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mikezang

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
May 22, 2010
Tokyo, Japan
I am new and I tried to make app for iPad.

I thought it is better to use IB for development, but it is said that better way is to use programming not IB, is it right?

McBgnr

macrumors regular
Apr 13, 2009
Even I am interested in understanding the pros and cons of the two methods... Folks pls suggest.

TalShani

macrumors member
Jun 29, 2010
More detail, pls!
What are better to use IB, what are not?

About that man.. I dont think you can learn one of them
without learning the other..
Interface Builder is the tool that helps you design your app,
Programming is the tool that make your app works..
So just learn them both,
Goodluck :)

mikezang

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
May 22, 2010
Tokyo, Japan
Thanks for your advise, I am studying both:)

For example, I use Tab bar template to build a tab bar app, but a expert told me, use application-base template then create view in programming, he said that is better way, so I got confuse...

TalShani

macrumors member
Jun 29, 2010
Thanks for your advise, I am studying both:)

For example, I use Tab bar template to build a tab bar app, but a expert told me, use application-base template then create view in programming, he said that is better way, so I got confuse...

You mean like View-Base Application?
well, its up to you to decide.
I'm not an expert, but I'm sure knows how to save time.
If you know exactly how your program will look like,
I don't see why not use a template,
Think about it, template is just for you to save time,
You can build your own app just from view-based,
all the other templates is just for YOU to save time.
I don't think you should work just on View-Based,
You need to know other things, but its a good example,
View-Based is the easiest template (yes, its a template to.),