PDA

View Full Version : Second HD installation in B&W G3




JMStC
Jul 1, 2010, 10:58 PM
I have two B&W G3's and I want to remove the HD from my second Mac and put it into the good Mac. What is the best pin setting on the side of the HD for a second HD?

JMStC



Nermal
Jul 1, 2010, 11:26 PM
I'm pretty sure that it should be Cable Select. I can double-check on my B&W if that doesn't work, but it should be OK.

drewdle
Jul 1, 2010, 11:38 PM
All the jumpers in my B&W are set to Cable Select. OpenFirmware takes care of mapping the drives at boot up. The only caveat is if you can't boot from a drive if you install it on the secondary channel (the one with the optical drive). If your B&W has the stock ATA cables in it, you might need to get a double-drive cable, as the cable in my machine for the hard drive only has two connectors (HD, logic board) with no provision for adding another drive.

Hrududu
Jul 2, 2010, 03:06 PM
I have never seen any problems with setting them to master and slave on my Rev1 models. If you know the proper jumper settings for the drive, it shouldn't hurt anything.