PDA

View Full Version : MiniServer setup and Harmony Remote questions...




arbitrage
Jul 6, 2010, 08:58 AM
I have just purchase the new mini server and I am now trying to get my head around how I want to set it up. I want to use it connected directly to my TV and store content locally on the 2 HDs. I want to use Plex to run it as a HTPC and I also want to either run bootcamp or parallels to run Win7 for a couple PC games. This is how I understand things so far, please tell me if I'm thinking correctly or if I'm not understanding things right.

First off I need to decide on how to run the 2 HDs. I guess there are 3 choices:
1. Run them without RAID and just have them act like two separate drives, basically fill one up to start and then start using the other or I guess maybe its better to run the OSX on one and start filling the second with media?

2. Run as RAID 0, as far as I see this gives you faster speeds?? but doubles the chances of loosing all your data as only one drive failure would lose everything. (of course I will be backing up with TM and/or SD so not a huge issue). Is speed actually improved considerably/noticeably with RAID 0?

3. Run as RAID 1 and have a nice little backup internally but eventually I think I will be needing the second 500GB as my media stored currently on my iMac is creeping up slowly but surely week by week.

Now my next decision is whether to run SL or SLS or both. I don't intend to use many or any of the server features at this point in time and I have obtained an iso of SL discs for the regular 2010 mini. My only issue with just running SLS and turning off all the server features is that as I understand it one cannot run bootcamp under SLS. Is this correct? Could one run bootcamp through parallels under SLS as someone on another thread suggested that running bootcamp through a VM is the best way to go?

Also if I do run in bootcamp is it better to have SL/S on one HD and then Win7 under bootcamp on the other HD or does it even matter??

Lastly, I tried to setup my Harmony 880 last night to add the mini as another device but the Harmony software says the mini is not controllable. I typed in just Mac Mini for the device. It set it up to properly to change my receiver to the correct input but says it can't do anything with the Mini itself. Am I supposed to use a different device on the Harmony like Apple TV or do I need to type in a more specific name for the newer Mini???

I seem to be rambling a bit but this is the first time I've set something up like this and I've never used RAID before. Also this is the first time that I have let a new computer just sit around for a couple days before starting it up as I feel I need to get my head around everything and want to just do it right from the start.

Please add any suggestions or confirmations to my ramblings above.

Thanks a lot in advance.



Donar
Jul 6, 2010, 03:55 PM
I want to use Plex to run it as a HTPC
...
Am I supposed to use a different device on the Harmony like Apple TV or do I need to type in a more specific name for the newer Mini???

According to the Plex wiki you should try "Plex Player (http://wiki.plexapp.com/index.php/Harmony_Support)" :)

arbitrage
Jul 7, 2010, 09:22 AM
According to the Plex wiki you should try "Plex Player (http://wiki.plexapp.com/index.php/Harmony_Support)" :)

Well that makes sense!! Thanks.
Now anyone have any other comments or suggestions about the HD setup and OS to run.

Would it be best to keep the HDs seperate and run OSX on one and OSXserver on the other? Then run Win 7 on the one running OSX?