PDA

View Full Version : I'm interested in developing apps for iPhone..

amazingdm
Jul 9, 2010, 12:43 AM
with ad based revenue viable for free apps, I am down to try as hard as I can.

Where do I start?

MorphingDragon
Jul 9, 2010, 03:36 AM

Where do I start?

The first step would be learning the Objective-C Language. This book teaches the Objective-C language and a little bit of iPhone development. Its also arguably the best Obj-C book.

http://www.amazon.com/Programming-Objective-C-2-0-Stephen-Kochan/dp/0321566157/ref=pd_bxgy_b_img_b

(If you're too cheap to buy a book http://cocoadevcentral.com/)

But the real question to ask is where do I want to go? Do I want to make games? Do I want to make utility apps?

EG: I want to make games for a living. I also need funds during University, so I thought I might try making iPhone games. So I directed my non-University learning towards that and got this book to start me off http://www.amazon.com/Beginning-iPhone-Games-Development-Cabrera/dp/1430225998/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1278664536&sr=1-1

amazingdm
Jul 10, 2010, 01:08 AM
The first step would be learning the Objective-C Language. This book teaches the Objective-C language and a little bit of iPhone development. Its also arguably the best Obj-C book.

http://www.amazon.com/Programming-Objective-C-2-0-Stephen-Kochan/dp/0321566157/ref=pd_bxgy_b_img_b

(If you're too cheap to buy a book http://cocoadevcentral.com/)

But the real question to ask is where do I want to go? Do I want to make games? Do I want to make utility apps?

EG: I want to make games for a living. I also need funds during University, so I thought I might try making iPhone games. So I directed my non-University learning towards that and got this book to start me off http://www.amazon.com/Beginning-iPhone-Games-Development-Cabrera/dp/1430225998/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1278664536&sr=1-1

I want to make EVERYthing. I want to make tons and tons of apps.