PDA

View Full Version : Sorry if this has been asked before




aggiesrwe03
Jul 10, 2010, 12:29 AM
Ok I have google searched and searched the forums here and cant find a good answer I'm new to networking but not to Mac so here is my question I recently bought an airport extreme I got the network printing and usb harddrive to work locally but I can't figure out how to access my harddrive and printer from internet when I'm not on my network it tells me to do this via bonjour what is bonjour and how do I set it up? I have mobileme and I linked the airport extreme to my account but not sure what that did can someone please enlighten me!!! thanks in advance!!



Matthew Yohe
Jul 10, 2010, 12:35 AM
Open Airport Utility. Click Manual Setup. Click Advanced. Click MobileMe. Put in your information.

Now, when you go to another Mac outside of your home, log in to mobile me, and you can see the drive in your sidebar as if you were at home. (if your disk is already shared that is)

aggiesrwe03
Jul 10, 2010, 12:41 AM
Open Airport Utility. Click Manual Setup. Click Advanced. Click MobileMe. Put in your information.

Now, when you go to another Mac outside of your home, log in to mobile me, and you can see the drive in your sidebar as if you were at home. (if your disk is already shared that is)

ok so how do I share the disk it is shared on my network but I would also like to share it over the internet but it asks for bonjour info and I am stuck!! what is bonjour and how do I set it up I would like to access the disk and print to my home printer when at work on a windows machine is that possible?

ingenious
Jul 23, 2010, 12:36 AM
ok so how do I share the disk it is shared on my network but I would also like to share it over the internet but it asks for bonjour info and I am stuck!! what is bonjour and how do I set it up I would like to access the disk and print to my home printer when at work on a windows machine is that possible?

This feature is made to set-up and go when used on a machine running OS X. I'm sure it's possible to get it going on a Windows PC, but it would require a lot of tinkering, especially if you're behind a corporate firewall at work.