Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mduser63

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Nov 9, 2004
Salt Lake City, UT
I'm planning to buy a new laptop in the next couple weeks. I'm having a very hard time deciding between the iBook and the Powerbook. I'm leaning towards the 12" powerbook at this point, but I'd like more opinions. I'm a college student so I can get the educational discount, and while I can afford either machine, as any with any college student, price is important. I'll mostly be using the machine for the following (in addition to the usual email/web/word processing):

Webdesign with Macromedia Studio MX2004
Photoshop
Possibly some audio editing (using Bias Peak probably)
Matlab (for Electrical Engineering classes)
I'd also like to be able to do video editing with the Apple Production suite at some point, although it's not a certainty that I'll need it for that.

I don't play games, so that's not a concern.

So, which is it? iBook or Powerbook?

P.S. This will be my first Mac of my own, although I've been using my Dad's old Powermac for 2 or 3 months.

asphalt-proof

macrumors 6502a
Aug 15, 2003
Magrathea
There are several threads devoted to this very debate. My opinion is to go with the 12"PB. Powerful (therefore will"last" longer), hot design, and a few other bells and whistles. I'm not sure which is cheaper: going with the edu discount or finding a a refurb from apple.

ChrisFromCanada

macrumors 65816
May 3, 2004
Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)