PDA

View Full Version : New to iPhone Programming, Xcode 3.2 issues

HommePomme
Jul 16, 2010, 02:38 PM
To preface this I am brand new to iPhone programming, and unfortunately object-oriented languages as a whole. I'm doing ok getting my bearings and building a couple simple apps, but I am having a huge amount of trouble with tutorials that were written on older Xcode versions, and some stuff isn't translating. My biggest issue is that outlets that I create in the header file don't seem to show up in IB no matter what I do.

As a test, I am basically just trying to read a text file into an NSArray, and then populate a UITableView with said array, but like I said, am running into outlet issues. Can anyone more knowledgeable give me some tips?

PatrickCocoa
Jul 16, 2010, 04:08 PM
To preface this I am brand new to iPhone programming, and unfortunately object-oriented languages as a whole. I'm doing ok getting my bearings and building a couple simple apps, but I am having a huge amount of trouble with tutorials that were written on older Xcode versions, and some stuff isn't translating. My biggest issue is that outlets that I create in the header file don't seem to show up in IB no matter what I do.

As a test, I am basically just trying to read a text file into an NSArray, and then populate a UITableView with said array, but like I said, am running into outlet issues. Can anyone more knowledgeable give me some tips?

Bonjour AppleMan!

I'd suggest either:
1) using newer tutorials that work with the newer Xcode; or
2) installing the older version of Xcode that is used in the tutorials you're interested in.

dejo
Jul 16, 2010, 04:47 PM
Not much has changed with regards to IBOutlets for some time now. Do you have any code you can show us? Also, what tutorials are you trying? The more information you can give us, the better.

Also, since you're new, I'd suggest reading this blog post: Getting Answers (http://www.mikeash.com/getting_answers.html)

HommePomme